Cataloging Container

GENERAL CATALOGING PROCEDURES

Catalogers should refer to the Alma Location Codes List for sublibrary/collection codes, call number format, and item status.  Some collections may also require special 5XXs, 690s, and 962s (see 690s, Etc. Used) added to their bibliographic records.

As of May 2021, we are adding a 975 note to all items going to Special Collections. This applies to anything going upstairs (location codes BINSP ____), but not to items going to a Special Collections part of the Annex (location codes BINST ____).

To add the note, open the record in the MDE and click Editing Actions > Expand from Template. Choose the template BIN - 975 $$a Primo VE ... and click OK. Be sure to save the record before releasing it.

 

Note: If you are ever moving an item out of Special Collections and to the regular stacks, Annex, etc., make sure to remove the 975 note. To do this, open the record in the MDE and click Editing Actions > Remove Field (or press CTRL+F6). Save and release the record.

 

Workflow:

• If a Special Collections item comes in through Acquisitions it should first be sent up to Special Collections for evaluation. It will then go to preservation if necessary and come down to be cataloged as a final step.

 

Do not:

• Place barcode or spine label directly on item

• Write call number (or anything) in or on the item

• Remove dust jackets/boxes

• Route through Book Prep

 

• If a book has a mylar strip on its cover:

• Place the call number label, barcode, and bookplate if needed on the mylar

• Print call numbers with a Dymo printer since those labels do not need heat to adhere to the mylar

• Remember: do not write on the book

 

• If a book is in a box or folder:

• Place the call number label, barcode, and bookplate if needed on the outside of the case

• The call number labels should not go on the spine, but on the front

• Microfilm reels should have the call number and barcode placed on the box

 

• If a book or item does not have mylar and is not in a box or folder:

• Place the call number label, barcode, and bookplate if needed on a slip of non-stick paper

• Remember: do not write on the book

---

​SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PERIODICALS

 

When cataloging a new serial to Special Collections Periodicals:

• Assign a descriptive LC call number based on the subject of the periodical
   
• Add complete 866 41 field(s) in the holding record to accurately reflect which volumes/issues we have
   
• Each item gets a barcode
   
• Each item gets a call number label including volume description
   
• Continuing runs (where other volumes of the title are probably already boxed) should be sent up to Special Collections with just a system id on a slip. No call number should be written on the item. 

---

"REFERENCE" COLLECTIONS

 

Books "about" closed collections, such as Waid or Haggerty, will be cataloged to that collection's reference location. If there is no location available on the Alma Location Codes list, please contact the Head of Cataloging to make a new location.

---

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS REFERENCE (GENERAL)

 

Update 11/2022: Books being cataloged to the general Special Collections REFERENCE LOCATION (BINSP RREF) should be treated like any other Special Collections books. We are no longer writing in them, placing barcodes/labels directly on them, or routing them through Book Prep.

---

FACULTY ARCHIVES

 

Books by Binghamton University faculty members are automatically ordered in print. We get two copies; one gets cataloged to the stacks and one gets cataloged to faculty archives. The workflow for these is as follows:

1. Two copies of the same book are received by Acquisitions. One is for the regular stacks, and one is for the Faculty Archives.

2. The cataloger catalogs the book going to the stacks per normal procedures and puts it on the book prep cart.

3. The cataloger catalogs the Faculty Archives copy following normal Faculty Archives/Special Collections cataloging procedures.

5. Once cataloged, the Faculty Archives copy is given a barcode and the call number label is printed; NEITHER OF THESE SHOULD BE ON THE ITEM. Put the barcode and call number label on a different surface and place in the item.

6. Put the Faculty Archives copy on the Special Collections shelf in LSG685.

7. The item will be picked up and taken to Preservation for housing.

8. Once housed, the item will be taken to Special Collections and placed in the Faculty Archives.

---

 

CONOLE ARCHIVE SOUND RECORDINGS

• Remove cellophane covering, if any

• Catalog as normal, following the holdings and items processes for Alma

• Write record number on back of container in upper left corner, using a permanent marker

• Create unique class number

• Example: 852:4_: $b BINSP $c RCO45 $j RCA 520

• Abbreviations for the manufacturers' name are available on the Manufacturers' List.
   
• The Manufacturer's number as found on spine of container, without spacing or punctuation. If the number is not found on spine, then look for the number on front of the container, then on the back of the container. If the number is not found on the container use the number on the first disc of set. If the number is found only on the disc, it is helpful to book prep to write the number on the container. NOTE: maximum of 10 characters after |c, if number is greater than 10, break up using additional |c's.

If item includes multiple containers use a copy statement for each container, entering the appropriate class number for each.

Add label to the top left hand corner and barcode directly next to it on the right.

 

Example of label formatting:

Order finished recordings in preparation for shelving. (See Conole Filing Scheme table for filing sequence example)

 

---

FLOPPY DISKS AND CD-ROMS

 

• There is no specific location for Special Collections floppy disks and CD-ROMs. Location is based on information contained on disk/CD-ROM or on source of disk/CD-ROM.

• Call number format is based on location.

• See Duplication of Computer Disks/Discs procedures. 

---

GILLAN COLLECTION

Catalog as you would normal serials, adding collection note from local system template.

---

EPHEMERA

If a gift book is going to Special Collections or Medium Rare, any ephemera should be left in the book and a local 590 note should be added to the bib record. Also denote the ephemera in the holding record, so you would have an 866 with something like 1 v. + 1 postcard. A note should be kept with the item so that Special Collections knows there is ephemera inside the book.

---

HAGGERTY COLLECTION MONOGRAPHS

 

1. Catalog the monograph using normal procedures, searching first in the local system for an appropriate record and then in OCLC if needed. If you find the title in the IZ, make sure we don't already have a Haggerty copy by checking with Special Collections. If we do, decide with Special Collections which copy we want to keep; we will not keep two (we don't want duplicates).

a. Pay special attention to the record you choose to use and/or modify—make sure it is a monograph record and not a microfilm/microfiche record.**

2. In the local system record, add the Haggerty template by going to:

a. Editing Actions (at the top of the screen)→a Expand from Template→scroll to the Haggerty option.

b. This will insert 590, 690, and 962 fields into the record.

i. In the 590 and 962 fields, add the unique 4-digit pamphlet number found on either the cover or title page of the monograph. It will be on a small, attached white square of paper. 

ii. Check to make sure the 690 is present.

3. Create the holding record so that it has the appropriate location code.

4. Create an item record.

5. Attach a barcode to the upper left corner of the book house, as per usual protocols.

6. Go to Scan in Items --> under done, select yes. This will put the book into transit

7. Print a spine label and put it on the spine of the book house if possible. If it won't fit, put the label on the lower left of the front cover.

**When searching for the appropriate monograph record in the local system, if you find a corresponding monograph record for your item, but it has a microfilm/microfiche holding record attached to it and no item record, follow these steps:

8. Search in OCLC for the microfilm or microfiche record (whichever one matches the holding in the local system) whose title corresponds to the monograph you have

a. Searching by title is probably the most effective way to find the corresponding microfilm/fiche record.

b. Make sure the information in this record is correct and make any necessary changes.

c. Look especially at the 300 fields if the record is RDA to make sure these are appropriate for microfilm/fiche.

9. Put Binghamton’s holdings on the record.

10. Overlay the OCLC record onto the monograph record in the local system that has the microfilm/fiche holding record attached; do this by:

a. Copying the OCLC number from the record in OCLC.

b. Paste it into the 035 field in the local system bib record.

c. Save and close the local system record.

d. Export the record from OCLC.

11. Search the local system again to ensure that the record overlaid correctly; there should now be a microfilm/fiche record in the local system with the microfilm/fiche holding record you found in the original search. Make sure this record is shared with the NZ.

12. There should now be no records in the local system for the monograph you are trying to catalog.

13. Proceed as normal to catalog the item, doing a normal local system search to ensure that there is no monograph record present.

14. Insert the Haggerty template into the record, taking out the 590 and 962, as this is a microfiche record and not paper, but leave in the 690.

15. Follow normal procedures for cataloging in OCLC.

rev. EM 11/21/2022