|
1. Disks/discs that accompany print material; see Books with Accompanying Computer Disks/Discs (Exception: Departmental copies; see Cataloging Departmental Copies), including disks/discs accompanying print material in Reference and Government Document locations
2. Any stand-alone disks/discs that will circulate (items cataloged to Main stacks, Science stacks, Science CD-ROM cabinet, Fine Arts stacks, and Permanent Reserves)
- Stand-alone disks/discs cataloged to Main, Science, and Fine Arts stacks:
- Create/update item record, but do not barcode
- Put post-it note with call number on packaging containing disk/disc
- Hand carry to Technical Services Microcomputer Specialist
- Technical Services Microcomputer Specialist will:
- Archive original disk/disc in Technical Services CD-ROM cabinet (write call # on disk/disc, put discs only in plastic sleeves, and file by call #)
- Insert copy into a pam binder
- Place barcode on pam binder and update barcode information on item record
- Put pam binder with copied disks/discs on cataloging truck
- Stand-alone disks/discs housed in Science CD-ROM cabinet or in Permanent Reserves:
- Put CD-ROMs/CDs in a jewel case if one is not provided; put floppy disks in a floppy disk case (jewel cases and disk cases can be obtained from the Technical Services Microcomputer Specialist, Electronic Resources Cataloger, and Government Documents)
- Put a barcode on case along with a post-it note containing the call number
- Create/update item record with barcode number
- For items housed in Science CD-ROM cabinet, include the following note in the 852 $z subfield, "[CD-ROM, CD, Floppy disk] housed in CD-ROM cabinet at the Science Circulation desk."
- Hand carry disk/disc to Technical Services Microcomputer Specialist (include packaging and information received with disk/disc)Technical Services Microcomputer Specialist will:
- Archive original disk/disc in Technical Services CD-ROM cabinet (write call # on disk/disc, put discs only in plastic sleeves, and file by call #)
- Put copied disk/disc along with any pertinent information received with disk/disc (system requirements, descriptive information, etc.) in case
- Put copied disk/disc in case on cataloging truck (include post-it note with call number)
3. Stand-alone disks/discs cataloged to Special Collections
- Create/update item record, but do not barcode
- Put post-it note with call number on packaging containing disc
- Hand carry to Technical Services Microcomputer Specialist
- Technical Services Microcomputer Specialist will:
- Archive original disk/disc in Technical Services CD-ROM cabinet (do not write call # on original disk/disc, leave post-it note with call # on disk, put discs in plastic sleeve and write call # on sleeve, file by call #)
- Insert copy into a pam binder
- Place barcode on pam binder and update barcode information on item record
- Put pam binder with copied disk/discs on cataloging truck
4. Disks/discs that come in place of a print issue of a periodical; however:
- Periodicals on disks/discs that come in addition to print issues will be added to collection only with appropriate bibliographer's approval
- Periodicals that switch from print to disks/discs format will need a decision on treatment
- Periodicals that come only as disks/discs and are not part of the Reference collection will need a decision on treatment
5. When a bibliographer specifically requests that a disk/disc be copied
|
