Subject Guides
Guide Contents
Broad Reference Sources
- Britannica Online
Encyclopedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Year in Review, World Atlas and an Internet Guide.
- Columbia Gazetteer OnlineSearch by geographic names, places and features. Each entry provides a short description including demographics, boundaries, trade, official place names, etc.
Trial Databases
Using this Guide
Below are some databases that cover a broad range of content. For databases that cover more specific content, use the sidebar on the left to browse resources that have content specific to your field of study.
Broad Secondary Sources
- ACLS Humanities E-BookCollection of over 1400 full-text, cross searchable books covering topics of interest to historians and humanities scholars.
- JSTORPrimarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
Broad Primary Sources
- AM Explorer
Access millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers
The complete content of selected newspaper titles: Boston Globe,1872 start date; Chicago Defender, 1909-1975; Chicago Tribune, 1849 start date; New York Amsterdam News, 1922-2010; New York Herald/Tribune, 1924 start date; New York Times, 1851 start date; Los Angeles Times, 1881 start date; Philadelphia Inquirer/Public Ledger, 1860 start date; South China Morning Post, 1903 start date; Times of India, 1838-2010; Wall Street Journal, 1889 start date; Washington Post, 1877-start date.
- List of Online Newspaper ArchivesMany newspapers make their archives freely available directly through their websites. This page provides a list of those newspapers (see ones marked "Free") organized by country of publication.
- Internet History SourcebooksThe Internet History Sourcebooks are collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts. Topics include Ancient, Medieval and Modern histories. Also presents material grouped by subject: Africa, East Asia, Global, Indian, Islamic, Jewish, Lesbian/Gay, Science and Women's history.
- HathiTrustDigitized materials from member institutions and libraries are freely available to the public for items not under copyright restrictions (generally pre-1923 and most government documents). Downloading and other functions may be limited.
- SAGE Data
A dynamic repository of officially sourced statistical data that is multi-disciplinary and global in scope.
- World Development IndicatorsContains statistical data for over 800 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for over 220 countries and country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. See the Data Manual for information on what is covered.
