Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Subject Guides
- History
- Historical Newspapers & News Archives
History
Guide Contents
Subject Librarian
Free Newspaper Archives
- List of Online Newspaper ArchivesMany newspapers make their archives freely available directly through their websites. This page provides a list of those newspapers (see ones marked "Free") organized by country of publication.
Historical News Archives
United States focus
- America's Historical Newspapers
Fully searchable collection of founding newspapers, documenting America's past. The Libraries subscribes to Early American Newspapers Series 1: From Colonies to Nations and Early American Newspapers Series 10: Regional Pioneers.
- Boston Globe, 1872-1992 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Coverage of New England and national news, coming from a unique Catholic view in its early years. Includes the Boston Weekly Globe and the Boston Evening Globe. More recent coverage can be found using our Journal Title search.
- Chicago Defender, 1909-1975 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Searchable full-text and page images from leading African American news publication before World War I. The Defender covered many significant national events that received only cursory attention from other newspapers.
- Chicago Tribune, 1849-2014 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Searchable full-text and page images that rovides in-depth coverage during the Civil War period and includes many special editions such as the Lincoln Centenary Issue. More recent coverage can be found through the Journal Title search.
- Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s (DWSO)Brings together a comprehensive set of local, regional and national newspapers published by the Ku Klux Klan and sympathizers, and anti-Klan newspapers from Black American, Catholic and Jewish communities.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers.
- Los Angeles Times, 1881-2015 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Searchable full text back to the first issue. For recent coverage, use our Journal Title search.
- New York Amsterdam News, 1922-2010 (Proquest Historical Newspapers)New York City's oldest and most influential Black-owned and African-American geared newspapers, covering national and international news. For current coverage, use our Journal Title search.
- New York Collection (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Includes archival material from 21 newspapers covering New York State, including Binghamton, Elmira, Ithaca, New York, Rochester, and Rockland. Coverage begins in the late 1800s-early 1900s, depending on the publication. Recent coverage for the titles can be found using our Journal Title search.
- New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. For more recent coverage, use our Journal Title search.
- New York Tribune/Herald Tribune, 1841-1962 (Proquest Historical Newspapers)Daily newspaper, with a more local and regional scope and Republican viewpoint. Considered to be the "writer's paper," counting Tom Wolfe and John Steinbeck among its writers.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides a window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers. Major newspapers stand alongside those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women’s rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy.
- Philadelphia Inquirer, 1860-2001Covers news of the Pennsylvania and Delaware Valley region, including South Jersey, northern Delaware and northern Eastern Shore of Maryland. For current coverage, use our Journal Title search.
- Wall Street Journal, 1889-2011 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Full text of the newspaper of record for business and economic news. For more recent coverage, search our Journal Titles.
- Washington Post, 1877-2006 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Historical coverage of the paper covering US political, capitol and national news. For more recent coverage, use our Journal Titles search.
- NYS Historic NewspapersThe NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers published in New York. Binghamton University's student newspapers, Colonial News (1946-May 1970) and Pipe Dream (September 1970-1974) are available, as are various other area publications.
- New York Online Historical NewspapersThis website lists the names of newspapers and years covered, the county in which each newspaper is located and its online resources.
- Historical Newspapers OnlineUseful index of online archives of NYS newspapers and Afrcan-American Newspapers. Guide mainted by Cornell University Library.
Non-United States focus
- British Library Newspapers, 1800-1900
Includes all the text, advertisements and illustrations from a wide variety of local, regional and national newspapers, political and radical publication are included. Access is to Part 1 and 2.
- Burney Newspapers Collection, 1600-1799The largest archive of British newspapers and pamphlets and other printed material from London, greater England, Scotland and the Colonies (India, the U.S., and the Caribbean) covering the Seventeenth and Eighteenth centuries.
- Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2021Full-text of Financial Times (London) from its first issue. For more recent coverage, use our Journal Tile search.
- Izvestiia Digital Archive, 1917-2010The complete archive of Izvestiia, the Kremlin's newspaper of record. The Izvestiia Digital Archive is full-image with text, allows browsing and is full-text searchable. Also has a Cyrillic virtual keyboard and the ability to search in transliteration.
- (London) Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019
Full-image online archive of every page published by The Times (London) from 1785-2019. For more recent coverage, use our Journal Title search.
- Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2021
Full text and images of the paper from 1822-2021. Due to labor issues, the Sunday Times was not published between 26 November 1978 and 18 November 1979. For newer content, please use our Journal Title search.
- Times Literary Supplement (TLS) Historical Archive, 1902-2019
Full-image online archive of every page published in the TLS through 2019. For more recent coverage, use our Journal Title search.
- Naver News LibraryNaver News Library is a Korean newspaper archive database.
- Pravda Digital Archive, 1912-presentFull-text full-image access to the Russian newspaper, Pravda. Searching can be done with cyrillic-enabled keyboards, the databases' virtual cyrillic keyboard, or with transliteration.
- South China Morning Post, 1903-2001 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Full text of the paper; for more current contest, search using our Journal Titles search.
- Times of India, 1838-2010 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Searches the full text of the Times of India and its preceding titles, the Bombay Times and Journal of Commerce and the Bombay Times and Standard. For more current content of the Times, use our Journal Title search.
- World News Connection ArchiveTranslations of international news sources, including newspapers, radio and television broadcasts, etc that were compiled from the CIA's JPRS and and FBIS programs. Covers 1995-2013.
