Subject Guides
Guide Contents
Recommended Books
The Digital Humanities Coursebook by
The Digital Humanities Coursebook provides critical frameworks for the application of digital humanities tools and platforms, which have become an integral part of work across a wide range of disciplines. Written by an expert with twenty years of experience in this field, the book is focused on the principles and fundamental concepts for application, rather than on specific tools or platforms. Each chapter contains examples of projects, tools, or platforms that demonstrate these principles in action. The book covers a wide range of topics and clearly details how to integrate the acquisition of expertise in data, metadata, classification, interface, visualization, network analysis, topic modeling, data mining, mapping, and web presentation with issues in intellectual property, sustainability, privacy, and the ethical use of information.
ISBN: 9781003106531Publication Date: 2021
Digital_Humanities by
A visionary report on the revitalization of the liberal arts tradition in the electronically inflected, design-driven, multimedia language of the twenty-first century.
ISBN: 1283953137Publication Date: 2012
Other Guides
Digital History Projects
Mapping Inequality: Redlining in New Deal America
Mapping Inequality spatializes thousands of area descriptions and color-coded maps created by agents of the federal government's Home Owners' Loan Corporation between 1935 and 1940 to create this interactive map demonstrating redlining in the United States during this period.
Histography
Histography is interactive timeline that spans across 14 billion years of history, from the Big Bang to 2015. The site draws historical events from Wikipedia and self-updates daily with new recorded events. The interface allows for users to view between decades to millions of years.
Mapping Manuscript Migrations
Mapping Manuscript Migrations (MMM) is a semantic portal for finding and studying pre-modern manuscripts and their movements, based on linked collections of the Schoenberg Institute for Manuscript Studies, the Bodleian Libraries, and the Institut de recherche et d'histoire des textes.
HistoryForge
HistoryForge is an open-source platform and crowdsourced project that visually represents historic demographic data on historic maps layered over a Google Map. Sources consulted include manuscript census records, historic maps, city directories, photographs, newspapers, and archival collections.
SlaveVoyages
SlaveVoyages is a collaborative digital initiative that compiles and makes publicly accessible records of the largest slave trades in history. The project's data and maps show the broad origins and forced relocations of more than 12 million African people.
Footprints
Footprints is a project to develop a database that tracks individual books through time and space to uncover patterns of trade and learning throughout the Jewish communities of Europe, Asia and the Americas during the modern period.
Slave Revolt in Jamaica, 1760-1761: A Cartographic Narrative
Slave Revolt in Jamaica is an animated thematic map that narrates the spatial history of the greatest slave insurrection in the eighteenth century British Empire, occurring between 1760-1761.
The Quipu Project
The Quipu Project is an interactive documentary that connects a free telephone line in Peru to this website in order to give voice to the previously silenced 272,000 women and 21,000 men who were sterilized in the 1990’s in Peru.
Our Beloved Kin
Our Beloved Kin is a digital companion for users to interactively explore Dr. Lisa Brook's 2019 book of the same title. The project was built using Scalar, a digital publishing platform.
Resources for Learning
- Programming Historian
Includes tutorials for Python (and Pandas), R, Leaflet, OpenRefine, HTML, StoryMapJS, Twine, Jupyter Notebooks, QGIS, text analysis, data manipulation and more. - Sherman Centre for Digital Scholarship
Includes tutorials for Tableau, OpenRefine, Omeka-S, LaTeX, ArcGIS Online (including StoryMaps), text analysis (Gephi and Voyant), Git, R, Python, Excel, SAS, SPSS, research data management, and more. - Brock University Digital Scholarship Lab
Includes tutorials for text analysis, R, PowerBI, Tableau, OpenRefine, ArcGIS Online, GitHub, machine learning, and more. - Data Carpentry
Geospatial and Social Science Lessons include tutorials for Python, R, SQL, OpenRefine, and more. - Library Carpentry
Includes tutorials for Git, Python, R, SQL, Webscraping, OpenRefine, and more. - Tableau eLearning
Sign up for a free one-year student license to get full access to Tableau eLearning: https://www.tableau.com/academic/students - TimelineJS
Short tutorial that expands on the instructions listed on the Timeline JS site.
Get Involved at Binghamton University
- Libraries' Digital Scholarship Center and Recording StudioVisit the pilot Digital Scholarship Center in Bartle Library (LS-3504) for collaborative space, workshops, consultation services, and invited lectures, and the Recording Studios in Bartle Library (LS-1544 and LS-3504B) for equipment to create, edit, and share audio and video content for purposes such as course content, presentations, podcasts, oral history interviews, and more.
- Binghamton HistoryForgeGet involved in a digital project hosted by the Libraries! HistoryForge is a crowdsourced project where volunteers transcribe historical census records to create an interactive map of Binghamton's past. All from campus and the local community are welcome to participate. Check out the events calendar to see what's planned for this semester.
- Spatial Humanities Working GroupThe Spatial Humanities Working Group (SHWG) is a group of scholars at Binghamton University who seek to foster and support spatial humanities digital scholarship on campus by workshopping papers, teaching digital tools and methods, and engaging critically with existing scholarship in this emerging field. The group is informal and open to faculty and graduate students across a diversity of fields within (and beyond) the Humanities and Social Sciences.
- Data Science TAE Data SalonsSponsored by the Data Science TAE, invited speakers and guest lecturers give talks covering diverse topics, which occasionally include historical topics and methodologies.
