Subject Guides
Guide Contents
Reference/Tertiary Sources
- Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyBiographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the 4th century BC to the 21st century.
- Britannica Online
Encyclopedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Year in Review, World Atlas and an Internet Guide.
- Columbia Gazetteer OnlineSearch by geographic names, places and features. Each entry provides a short description including demographics, boundaries, trade, official place names, etc.
Secondary Sources
- Bloomsbury Medieval StudiesInterdisciplinary combination of primary material and secondary scholarship, providing access to ebooks, the Encyclopedia of the Global Middle Ages, digitized images of primary source materials, and more. Also includes the Medieval Clothing and Textiles Collection - featuring multiple examinations of specific clothing items and studies in the weaving, embroidering, and exporting of clothing and textiles around Medieval Europe.
- International Medieval BibliographyLeading bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500), provides records to articles, scholarly notes, etc. on all aspects of medieval studies and covering publications in over 30 languages. Click on "Enter Databases."
- Historical Abstracts with Full TextCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- HRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windoweHraf is an unique cross-cultural database containing more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Includes the full text of ethnographic books, journal articles and other materials that are indexed by culture and subject.
- RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureOver 275,000 citations on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature.
Primary Sources
- AM Explorer
Access millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Universal Short Title CatalogueThe USTC allows searching of all known books published in the first age of print in England, France, Italy, and any other part of the world where printing with moveable type is known. It contains information on the location of more than 4 million copies of books printed between 1450 and 1650, along with links to more than 200,000 full digital scans.
- ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1Provides religious and theological literature from the late 13th century to 1893. Vital for scholars seeking to understand religious thought and practice.
- Burney Newspapers Collection, 1600-1799The largest archive of British newspapers and pamphlets and other printed material from London, greater England, Scotland and the Colonies (India, the U.S., and the Caribbean) covering the Seventeenth and Eighteenth centuries.
- British Periodicals Collection IConsists of more than 160 journals that comprise the ProQuest microfilm collection Early British Periodicals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts, and the social sciences.
- Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineOver 180,000 full-text books based on the English Short Title Catalogue.
- Bloomsbury Medieval StudiesInterdisciplinary combination of primary material and secondary scholarship, providing access to ebooks, the Encyclopedia of the Global Middle Ages, digitized images of primary source materials, and more. Also includes the Medieval Clothing and Textiles Collection - featuring multiple examinations of specific clothing items and studies in the weaving, embroidering, and exporting of clothing and textiles around Medieval Europe.
- Gerritsen Collection - Women's History OnlineMonographs, journals, and pamphlets reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and women's rights up through the mid-twentieth century. Coverage: 1543-1945.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and CulturePrimary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century,you can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
- Royal Geographical Society (with IBG)Primary source maps and charts dating back to the 1400s. Contains more than 150,000 maps, charts and atlases complemented by manuscripts, field notes, expedition reports, scrapbooks, correspondence, diaries, illustrations, and sketches.
- Russian-Ottoman Relations Online, Part 1: The Origins 1600-1800Rare primary sources regarding the history of Turkey, Russia, the Middle East and Western Europe. Provides detailed insights about the military ebb and flow of Russian-Ottoman relations and their effects on European public opinion.
- Oxford Text Archive This link opens in a new windowIncludes several thousand electronic texts and linguistic corpora, in a variety of languages. Its holdings include electronic editions of works by individual authors, standard reference works such as the Bible and mono-/bilingual dictionaries, and a range of language corpora.
- Avalon ProjectFull text documents relating to politics, history, law, diplomacy and government. International in scope, ranging from 400BC to current times. Contains treaties, speeches, constitutions, letters, etc. Links to supporting documents included.
- Perseus Classics CollectionFeatures several hundred works of classical Greek and Roman authors, both in the original language and in translation (mostly older but standard editions such as the Loeb). It also includes the Latin Vulgate, the Greek New Testament, and an English Bible text. From Tufts University.
- Europeana CollectionsEuropean is a collection of millions of types of digital resources from Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections, including books, images, sound and video. See Find and Using Streaming Video for information.
