Subject Guides
Finding and Using Streaming Video: Finding Streaming Video
How to locate on-demand and online videos and movies and provide easy access to it for your students..
Guide Contents
Finding Streaming Video
Research Assistance
Using Kanopy
If you are an instructor or faculty, please read Requesting a Title in Kanopy before you assign a title for your class.
Requesting a Title
Subject Librarians will make considerations on a case-by-case basis.
Please fill out a request form.
Databases With Video Content
- Academic Video Online AVONAcademic Video Online offers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical ExaminationTeaching resource consisting of 18 anatomy and system specific videos. Each video shows a step-by-step examination. Each module shows step-by-step examinations with rationales for the clinician's actions and contains expanded discussions of health history taking, interviewing, and describing findings.
- Black Studies CenterThe View Contents: Video page provides a listing videos from Duke Ellington clips to Jesse Owens returning from the Olympics and Malcolm X speeches.
- Global Environmental Justice CollectionCurated collection of films that exlores the intersections of human rights, environmental degradation, colonization, industrial development, and climate change.
- HistoryMakers Digital ArchiveOral life histories of African-Americans from across the United States covering the widest range of life, culture and movements, with the earliest memories dating back to 1890.
- Human Rights Studies OnlineA research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. Includes approx. 150 hours of video
- KanopyIncludes films from suppliers including California Newsreel, Green Planet Films, PBS, New Day Films, HBO Documentaries, First Run, FilmRise, and others. Faculty and Instructors: read Requesting a title in Kanopy before assigning a film to your class.
- Theatre in Video (Volume I)Live video of the original productions of some of the most important theatre performances of the 20th century.
- Theatre in Video (Volume II)Brings together 400 hours of new, international, and contemporary performances; ground-breaking documentaries; and critical instructional series for theatre and drama programs across the globe.
- Journal of Visualized ExperimentsJoVE, JoVE for Biology and JoVE for NeuroSciences all present research and lab experiments in the fields with video demonstrations.
Using Find it!
By starting with a general term or keyword, it is possible to narrow down a search to video options using the Find it! search box on the Libraries' home page by applying the filters on the left side of the screen.
On the left side of the screen, look for the AVAILABILITY filter, and select "Full Text Online." Then under MATERIAL TYPE, select "Audio Visual." You may need to click on the "Show More" link in the MATERIAL TYPE filter to see the Audio Visual option.
A collection of all streaming video titles with perpetual access rights can be located in Find it!. These titles will not expire, so access is preserved.
Commerical Sites
Commercial pay for view services, such as Amazon Prime, Netflix and Hulu, often restrict the use of their services to personal use only. Under fair use, this would prohibit the streaming of this content in the classroom.
However, it does not prohibit the assignment of such material to watch through personal accounts outside of the classroom. As with all online material, accessibility issues and cost to the student(s) should be considered.
These sites allow you to quickly determine where content may be available:
Open Access & Freely Available Steaming Video
- UniveristyVideosMetasearch .edu, .gov and .org videos (including TED videos). Also allows searching of all the video transcripts.
- Civil Rights Digital LibraryRich list of visual and moving images relating to the U.S. Civil Rights movement that are freely available to use.
- Paramount VaultParamount Movies Youtube channel for full length, freely available featured films. Many are closed captioned.
- Open Video ProjectArchive of videos from .gov sites such as NASA and Library of Congress
- EVIA Digitial ArchiveEthnographic Video For Instruction and Analysis (EVIA) provides videos representing performance traditions from around the world. Users will need to create an account to view.
- American Memory Collection: Moving Images Research CenterSeveral hundred early motion pictures covering the earliest part of American history, including moving images from Edison's library.
Using Videos
Using Video for Instruction
Many of these databases have features which make it easy to assign these for students to watch for course assignments, and which make it very easy for students to embed or share the video as part of class projects such as presentations.
Binghamton University Libraries Course Reserves will work with course instructors to provide access to the video through Brightspace.
| Video Source | Permalink | Transcripts | Closed Captioning | PPR (see below for information) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AVON | Yes use the Embed/Share button under each video | Yes | Yes | Yes, for on campus viewership if no fees are charged |
| APA Video Introduction to Psychotherapy Systems | Yes - use the Permalink button |
Yes | No | No |
| Bates Streaming Video | Yes - copy the URL of the title of video (i.e Vol 1: Head to Toe Assessment: Adult) |
No | Yes | No |
| Opera in Video | Yes - the video URL is the permalink |
Yes | Yes - most content | No |
| Theatre In Video | Yes - the video URL is the permalink |
Yes | Yes - most content | No |
| Black Studies Center | Yes - Durable URL link provided for each video |
No | software will play captions if available | No |
| HistoryMakers Digital Archive | Yes - the page URL | Yes | Yes | No |
| Human Rights Studies Online | Yes - the video URL is the permalink | Yes | Yes - most content | No |
| JoVE | Yes - DOI is available for each article | summary articles provided | No | No |
| Kanopy | Yes - Use the share link | Yes | Yes | Generally yes, for on campus viewership if no fees are charged |
Public Performance Rights (PPR)
What are Public Performance Rights?
Public Performance Rights (PPR) are the right to show media to groups outside of regular classroom use. The producer or distributor assigns the rights for public performance.
When is PPR needed?
A PPR is needed if media will be shown outside of home viewing or classroom use. This includes film series, student or faculty sponsored lectures, and club events.
What happens if a PPR is not obtained?
The sponsoring group of the event can be put at legal risk; as well as the owner/renter of the media that was shown without the PPR license. For example, if it was a film owned or watched through the Libraries databases, the Libraries' access to the database could be revoked, among other risks.
Does any media purchased by Binghamton University Libraries have the PPR?
Videos found in Kanopy and Avon which have PPR licenses by default. If you have a question concerning an individual title and its PPR license, please contact Sarah Maximiek, Head of Acquisitions.
Does my club or group have to purchase the DVD or streaming video if we want to use it for a public viewing?
Often, your group or club may be able to rent access along with the license. If the Libraries' already own the title, you may be able to rent the PPR license for a lower cost. However, it is up to the producer/distrubter.
Will the Libraries help pay for the PPR license?
The Libraries does not pay extra or individually for PPR licenses.
Obtaining the PPR license for media
The group or person who shows a title publicly is responsible for obtaining the PPR license, even if it is a title already owned by the Libraries.
These are some groups that can assist in securing a PPR license. Information about the media that they own the rights for can be found on each site:
Making Media Accessible
The Services for Students with Disability (SSD) Office at Binghamton University will work with faculty and instructors who have SSD-registered students in their classes to make sure that assigned media viewing is fully accessible. Binghamton University Libraries maintains a close relationship with SSD to assist in making these materials available, and as possible will work to provide suitable viewing areas as needed and possible. Please see the Libraries' Accessibility Services page for more information.
If faculty are interested in making their own videos or similar course content accessible, then the SSD Accessible Course Materials Page provides information on making the material fully accessible.
