Subject Guides
Guide Contents
Reference/Tertiary Sources
- Brill's Encyclopaedia Islamica OnlineBased on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world. A unique feature is in the attention given to Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage. Vols. 1-5 (A-BUR) currently available.
- Brill's Encyclopaedia of Islam (Third Edition)Comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world. An essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.
- Brill's New Pauly OnlineUnrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world, covering more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.
- LexiQamus
Website that aims to help researchers in deciphering illegible words in Ottoman manuscripts. Based on the legible letters and the symbols for illegible letters entered into the boxes, the special algorithm provides a list of possible words matching the given restrictions.
Secondary Sources
- HRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windoweHraf is an unique cross-cultural database containing more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Includes the full text of ethnographic books, journal articles and other materials that are indexed by culture and subject.
- Philosopher's Index with Full TextContains research published since 1940 and includes more than 500,000 records. With more than 1,500 journal titles from over 450 different publishers, the database covers all fields of philosophy.
- PAIS IndexCovers issues in public affairs and policy issues through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources. Coverage: 1915 - present.
- Bloomsbury Medieval StudiesInterdisciplinary combination of primary material and secondary scholarship, providing access to ebooks, the Encyclopedia of the Global Middle Ages, digitized images of primary source materials, and more. Also includes the Medieval Clothing and Textiles Collection - featuring multiple examinations of specific clothing items and studies in the weaving, embroidering, and exporting of clothing and textiles around Medieval Europe.
- Women Studies InternationalCovers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Covers 1972 - present.
- Historical Abstracts with Full TextCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Primary Sources
- AM Explorer
Access millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
- Middle Eastern and North African NewspapersNewspapers from across the Middle East and North Africa provide unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late 19th century through the present.
- Russian-Ottoman Relations Online, Part 1: The Origins 1600-1800Rare primary sources regarding the history of Turkey, Russia, the Middle East and Western Europe. Provides detailed insights about the military ebb and flow of Russian-Ottoman relations and their effects on European public opinion.
- USC Shoah Visual History Archive
Contains video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide, crimes against humanity, and related persecution.
- Church Missionary Society ArchiveA rich repository of source materials on the work of this globally influential organisation, founded in 1799 as an Anglican evangelical movement and still active today. Records from the Angelican evangelical missions, spanning the globe, dating back to 1799. Includes the first mission to Japan and womens' education missions.
- Refugees and Relief: Forced Migration and World War II Digital ArchiveChronicles the plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950, bringing together over 590,000 pages of pamphlets, ephemera, government documents, relief organization publications, and refugee reports that recount the causes, effects and responses to refugee crises before, during and shortly after World War II.
- Wiley Digital Archive Environmental Science and HistoryPrimary sources enable the impacts of human activity on the natural world to be traced, researched, and analyzed through documents, images, data, maps, and photographs. WDA: ENV provides new insights into the natural world, the ways anthropogenic activity has impacted climates, biodiversity, and ecological systems, and describes early efforts to understand and mitigate or remediate the negative effects of human activities on the natural world.
- Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 182075,000 pages of documents pertaining to women in the global history of empires and post-colonial societies since 1820.
- Women and Social Movements, International, 1840 to PresentOnline archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and CulturePrimary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century,you can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
- Bloomsbury Medieval StudiesInterdisciplinary combination of primary material and secondary scholarship, providing access to ebooks, the Encyclopedia of the Global Middle Ages, digitized images of primary source materials, and more. Also includes the Medieval Clothing and Textiles Collection - featuring multiple examinations of specific clothing items and studies in the weaving, embroidering, and exporting of clothing and textiles around Medieval Europe.
- Archives UnboundIncludes dozens of rare primary source documents organized by topic/ focus which span European colonialism, 1960s social movements, womens' rights, African-American civil rights, the Holocaust, and the Tiananmen Square protest.
- Avalon ProjectFull text documents relating to politics, history, law, diplomacy and government. International in scope, ranging from 400BC to current times. Contains treaties, speeches, constitutions, letters, etc. Links to supporting documents included.
