History

Includes such topics as world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955; and 350 of them in full text.

The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.

The full-text materials are subject-indexed at the paragraph-level for precise retrieval of information on all aspects of cultural and social life. These materials are relevant to the various social science disciplines as well as the humanities and health sciences.

Covers journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.

Includes over 33 million full-text searchable images of books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Although primarily in English, the database also includes many items published in other European languages.

Includes The Christian Science Monitor, The Los Angeles Times, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, and The Australian; as well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. All together there is selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.

Includes: Series 1 (1691-1820), Series 2 (1821-1837), Series 3 (1838-1852), Series 4 (1853-1865), and Series 5 (1866-1877).

Please see the UK Parliamentary Papers (Proquest) libguide for more information.

For researchers of international affairs, economics, law, and business, diplomacy, security and terrorism, environment, development, war and peace studies.

Includes Missionary, Sinology & Literary Periodicals, 1817-1949, Imperial China and the West Part 1: 1815-1881 Digital Archive, and Diplomacy and Political Secrets, 1860-1950

*America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations, The Vietnam Veterans Against the War
*American Indian Movement (AIM) and Native American Radicalism
*Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League
*Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle
*Black Nationalism and the Revolutionary Action Movement: The Papers of Muhammad Ahmad (Max Stanford)
*British Mandate in Palestine, Arab-Jewish Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Jerusalem, 1920-1944
*Bush Presidency And Development And Debate Over Civil Rights Policy And Legislation
*Changing Men Collection Digital Archive
*Civil Rights & Social Activism in AL: Papers of John LeFlore, 1926-76 and the Records of the Non-Partisan Voters League, 1956-87
*Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
*County and Regional Histories & Atlases: New York, 1804-1966
*European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century (French Colonialism in Africa: 1910-1930, German Colonies, 1930-1939; Italian Colonies, 1930-1939; Political and Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies in Africa, 1910-1929)
*Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman
*FBI Files: Assassination of Martin Luther King, JR.; American POWs/MIAs in Southeast Asia; Hollywood and J. Edgar Hoover: * *Communists in the Motion Picture Industry; War on Poverty: Office of Civil Rights, 1965-1968; Watergate; We We Prepared for the Possibility of Death, Freedom Riders in the South, 1961-1962
*FBI Surveillance of James Forman and SNCC
*FDR/New Deal & Race Relations 1933-1945
*Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s
*Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
*Federal Surveillance of the Partido Independentista Puertorriqueño (P.R. Independence Party)
*Fight For Racial Justice And The Civil Rights Congress
*Final Accountability Rosters Of Evacuees: Japanese-American Relocation Centers/1944-1946
*German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941
*Grassroots Civil Rights and Social Action: Council for Social Action, 1934-1956
*Holocaust And Records Of Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution Of Nazi War Crimes
*Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968
*Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West’s Response to Jewish Emigration
*Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military, 1963
*International Women’s Movement: The Pan Pacific Southeast Asia Women’s Association of the USA, 1950-1985
*Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives On Day-To-Day Life
*James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
*Jewish Question: Records from the Berlin Document Center
*Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection
*JFK’s Foreign Affairs and International Crises, 1961-1963
*Johnson Administration and Foreign Affairs
*Legal Battle for Civil Rights in AL: Vernon Z. Crawford Records, 1958-78 Civil Rights Cases
*Liberation Movement in Africa and African America
*Liberia and the US: Nation-Building in Africa, 1864-1935
*Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers’ Project
*Minutemen, 1963-1969: Evolution of the Militia Movement in America, Part I
*National Farm Worker Ministry: Mobilizing Support for Migrant Workers, 1939-1985
*Nazi Bank and Financial Institutions: U.S. Military Government Investigation Reports 1945-1949
*Nazism In Poland: The Diary Of Governor-General Hans Frank
*Nixon Administration and Foreign Affairs
*Nuremburg Laws And Nazi Annulment Of Jewish German Nationality
*Observer: News for the American Soldier in Vietnam, 1962-1973
*Palestine and Israel: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1959
*Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement
*Papers of the Nixon Administration: The President’s Confidential and Subject Special Files, 1969-1974
*Politics, Social Activism and Community Support: Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newsletters
*Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950
*Psychological Warfare and Propaganda in World War II: Air Dropped and Shelled Leaflets and Periodicals
*Quest For Labor Equality In Household Work: National Domestic Workers Union/1965-1979
*Rastafari Ephemeral Publications from the Written Rastafari Archives Project
*Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement
*Safehaven Reports On Nazi Looting Of Occupied Countries And Assets In Neutral Countries
*Sunday School Movement and Its Curriculum
*Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2006
*Testaments to the Holocaust Digital Archive
*Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993
*Transcripts of the Malcolm X Assassination Trial
*U.S. Military Activities & Civil Rights: Integration of University of MS Use of Military Force, 1961-63
*U.S. Military Activities and Civil Rights: The Little Rock Integration Crisis, 1957-1958
*U.S. Military Activities and Civil Rights: Military Response to March on Washington, 1963
*Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1945
*Women's Issues and Their Advocacy Within The White House, 1974-1977
*Women, War and Society, 1914-1918
*Women Organizing Transnationally: The Committee of Correspondence, 1952-1969

Comprised of several cross-searchable, component databases: Schomburg studies on the Black experience, International index of Black periodicals (IIBP), the Chicago defender, ProQuest dissertations for Black studies, Black literature index, ProQuest Black newspapers, Black abolitionist papers, and the HistoryMakers® archive of filmed oral history interviews of 20th century African Americans

It draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, the largest national project ever to locate, preserve, and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960.

Hundreds of rare books by Latino-Hispanic Americans
• Over 3,000 issues of rare historical newspapers and periodicals, including over 75,000 pages of content
• Over 250,000 pages of personal and organizational manuscript content
• Content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%)

Included are women in the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman and post-Ottoman Empires in the Eastern Mediterranean, the Ottoman and post-Ottoman Empires in the Balkans, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian and Japanese Empires, as well as settler societies in Australia, New Zealand and North America. The project pays particular attention to the United States Empire—in Hawaii, India, China, Cuba, the Philippines, the Panama Canal Zone, Guatemala and Vietnam. A large segment documents the history of Native women in North America. The project is an online collaboration of editors.

Provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms. Materials span four centuries and 15 languages. Page images reproduce original printed works covering women, history, social conditions and feminism.

Covers journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.

Must set up an account using BU email address to download data on ICSPR site. Code books for data available on ICSPR site. ICSPR also offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use.

Tables are downloadable as PDFs or Excel spreadsheets