Subject Guides
Guide Contents
Reference/Tertiary Sources
- Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyBiographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the 4th century BC to the 21st century.
Secondary Sources
- Bloomsbury Medieval StudiesInterdisciplinary combination of primary material and secondary scholarship, providing access to ebooks, the Encyclopedia of the Global Middle Ages, digitized images of primary source materials, and more. Also includes the Medieval Clothing and Textiles Collection - featuring multiple examinations of specific clothing items and studies in the weaving, embroidering, and exporting of clothing and textiles around Medieval Europe.
- International Medieval BibliographyLeading bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500), provides records to articles, scholarly notes, etc. on all aspects of medieval studies and covering publications in over 30 languages. Click on "Enter Databases."
- Historical Abstracts with Full TextCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- HRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windoweHraf is an unique cross-cultural database containing more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Includes the full text of ethnographic books, journal articles and other materials that are indexed by culture and subject.
- RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureOver 275,000 citations on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature.
Primary Sources
- AM Explorer
Access millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
- Internet Medieval Sourcebook (FordhamUniversity)The Internet Medieval Sourcebook includes literary and legal texts, saints' lives, and maps.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Codices Vossiani Latini
Contains 363 codices, which count a large number of early medieval manuscripts, including 76 Carolingian manuscripts dating from before 900, and major sources of many classical texts. Highlights include sources of Lucretius’ De natura rerum, of Cicero’s philosophical works, and Plinius’ Historia naturalis.
- ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1Provides religious and theological literature from the late 13th century to 1893. Vital for scholars seeking to understand religious thought and practice.
- Translated Texts for Historians E-LibraryContains major historic texts dating from from 300 to 800 A.D. translated into English. The collection is organized into topical volumes.
- Index of Medieval ArtCovers art from the Early Christian period to the 16th century, focusing on iconographic documentation in both text and image. Works of art span 17 media, ranging from manuscripts, painting and glassworks.
- Bloomsbury Medieval StudiesInterdisciplinary combination of primary material and secondary scholarship, providing access to ebooks, the Encyclopedia of the Global Middle Ages, digitized images of primary source materials, and more. Also includes the Medieval Clothing and Textiles Collection - featuring multiple examinations of specific clothing items and studies in the weaving, embroidering, and exporting of clothing and textiles around Medieval Europe.
- Brepols Publishers OnlineProvides access to the International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (IBHR), Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale (BCM), Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MCH), Library of Latin Texts (Series A and B), Database of Latin Dictionaries, Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources, and the International Directory of Medievalists. Can search these alone or across titles.
- Oxford Text Archive This link opens in a new windowIncludes several thousand electronic texts and linguistic corpora, in a variety of languages. Its holdings include electronic editions of works by individual authors, standard reference works such as the Bible and mono-/bilingual dictionaries, and a range of language corpora.
- British Periodicals Collection IConsists of more than 160 journals that comprise the ProQuest microfilm collection Early British Periodicals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts, and the social sciences.
- Gerritsen Collection - Women's History OnlineMonographs, journals, and pamphlets reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and women's rights up through the mid-twentieth century. Coverage: 1543-1945.
- RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureOver 275,000 citations on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature.
- Perseus Classics CollectionFeatures several hundred works of classical Greek and Roman authors, both in the original language and in translation (mostly older but standard editions such as the Loeb). It also includes the Latin Vulgate, the Greek New Testament, and an English Bible text. From Tufts University.
- Avalon ProjectFull text documents relating to politics, history, law, diplomacy and government. International in scope, ranging from 400BC to current times. Contains treaties, speeches, constitutions, letters, etc. Links to supporting documents included.
- Europeana CollectionsEuropean is a collection of millions of types of digital resources from Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections, including books, images, sound and video. See Find and Using Streaming Video for information.
