Subject Guides
Guide Contents
Secondary Sources
- America: History & Life with Full TextLiterature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1700 journals, provides full text of 200 titles.
- Women Studies InternationalCovers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Covers 1972 - present.
- Exploring Race in SocietyContains context and solution-orientation point of view materials such as essays, journals articles, and government reports on topics related to race, inclusiveness, ethnicity and diversity.
- RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureOver 275,000 citations on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature.
- PAIS IndexCovers issues in public affairs and policy issues through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources. Coverage: 1915 - present.
Primary Sources
- AM Explorer
Access millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
- ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1Provides religious and theological literature from the late 13th century to 1893. Vital for scholars seeking to understand religious thought and practice.
- ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2Consists of over five million pages of content from over 14,880 monographs dating from 1894 through 1922. This collection provides a broad view of the changing landscape of religion in America at the end of a century of dramatic cultural and political change.
- Sabin Americana: History of the Americas 1500-1926Covers more than 400 years and 65,000 volumes in North, Central, and South America and the West Indies. The collection includes sermons, political tracts, newspapers, books, pamphlets, maps, legislation, literature, highlighting the society, politics, religious beliefs, culture, contemporary opinions, and momentous events of occurring 1500-1926.
- American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1940Includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and others of historical interest.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
A digital collection of books, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, ephemera, and maps that cover politics and society, literature, spirituality, technology and more.
- Gateway to North America: People, Places, and Organizations of 19th-Century New YorkGateway to North America consists of unique content from the the NY Historical Society, including more than 800,000 pages from over 1,500 incredibly diverse sources.
- Making of America (Michigan)A digital library of full-text books and journal articles in American social history published in the 19th century. Includes subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
- North American Immigrant Diaries, Letters and Oral HistoriesLetters, diaries and transcripts of oral histories that provide an unique view of immigration to the United States and Canada between 1800-1950.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
- Proquest History Vault
Documents that cover the Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle. Southern Life, Slavery and the Civil War, Women's Studies and Rights, American Politics (1960-1975), and the Vietnam War. All with a U.S. focus.
- Archives UnboundIncludes dozens of rare primary source documents organized by topic/ focus which span European colonialism, 1960s social movements, womens' rights, African-American civil rights, the Holocaust, and the Tiananmen Square protest.
- Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867–1970These maps chart the growth and development of thousands of America towns and cities across a century. These are searchable by address and location. Tools allow for layering of maps across years and satellite images. Coverage: 1867-1970.
- Ancestry Library EditionGenealogy research tool that includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more. Note: This edition does not have all the features of the regular edition. See the article for information.
- U.S. ProQuest Historical NewspapersThe complete content of the Boston Globe,1872 start date; Chicago Defender, 1909-1975; Chicago Tribune, 1849 start date; New York Amsterdam News, 1922-2010; New York Collection (multiple titles); New York Herald/Tribune, 1924 start date; New York Times, 1851 start date; Los Angeles Times, 1881 start date; Philadelphia Inquirer/Public Ledger, 1860 start date; Wall Street Journal, 1889 start date; Washington Post, 1877-start date.
- America's Historical Newspapers
Fully searchable collection of founding newspapers, documenting America's past. The Libraries subscribes to Early American Newspapers Series 1: From Colonies to Nations and Early American Newspapers Series 10: Regional Pioneers.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides a window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers. Major newspapers stand alongside those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women’s rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy.
- Daily Worker OnlineProvides the full text of the The Worker (1922-1924) and The Daily Worker (1924-1958), the official mouthpiece of the Communist Party of the USA.
- Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s (DWSO)Brings together a comprehensive set of local, regional and national newspapers published by the Ku Klux Klan and sympathizers, and anti-Klan newspapers from Black American, Catholic and Jewish communities.
- Global NewsstreamIncludes national papers such as the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. Also local and regional papers including the Press and Sun from Binghamton, the Ithaca Journal, and other Gannett publications. Coverage: 1980 - current
- Newspaper Source PlusFull text coverage of selected international and regional newspapers, newswires and other news sources.
- Nexis Uni
NexisUni provides access to 15,000+ news, business and legal sources. If a sign-in button appears, click the button for access.
- Wiley Digital Archive Environmental Science and HistoryPrimary sources enable the impacts of human activity on the natural world to be traced, researched, and analyzed through documents, images, data, maps, and photographs. WDA: ENV provides new insights into the natural world, the ways anthropogenic activity has impacted climates, biodiversity, and ecological systems, and describes early efforts to understand and mitigate or remediate the negative effects of human activities on the natural world.
- Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970Examines the history of public health and the policy debates that ensued in the delivery of services at the national, state, and local levels during pivotal times in history.
- Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books from the New-York Historical SocietyOrderly Books were the controlling document of day-to-day military life. Features books from between 1748 and 1817 with thousands of pages of primary source material providing valuable information about soldiers' lives.
- Harpweek: The Civil War Era (1857-1865)Full-text database of Harper's Weekly, an illustrated American publication, provides scanned images of pages and includes indexes to subjects, illustrations, literature & publishing, and advertising.
- American Civil War: Letters and DiariesThis collection contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs, including 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland Planter William Claytor. Also includes biographies, an extensive bibliography of the sources in the database, and material licensed from The Civil War Day-by-Day by E.B. Long.
- Civil War Primary Source DocumentsArchive of unique manuscripts chronicling the American Civil War as it was experienced. Providing both Northern and Southern perspectives, it covers all aspects of the war, including reactions and impressions from the home front.
- Proquest History Vault
Documents that cover the Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle. Southern Life, Slavery and the Civil War, Women's Studies and Rights, American Politics (1960-1975), and the Vietnam War. All with a U.S. focus.
- Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
- SlaveVoyagesRecords of 27,233 slave ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866. Allows information tracking by time period and geographic region. Interactive maps allow viewers to chart trans-Atlantic connections. Includes materials about people on board, owners and captains, ships' characteristics, and the geographic trajectory of each voyage.
- African American Historical Serials CollectionThis collection documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922.
- Black Studies CenterHistorical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Materials includes newspapers, dissertations, abolitionist papers, and oral interviews. See the Binghamton University Libraries Center for the 1960s.
- HistoryMakers Digital ArchiveOral life histories of African-Americans from across the United States covering the widest range of life, culture and movements, with the earliest memories dating back to 1890.
- Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s (DWSO)Brings together a comprehensive set of local, regional and national newspapers published by the Ku Klux Klan and sympathizers, and anti-Klan newspapers from Black American, Catholic and Jewish communities.
- Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers Digital Archive (Parts 1 & 2)Documents the ACLU’s legal battle to enforce the Civil Rights Act of 1964 in thirteen Southern states. Consists of case files, correspondence, newspaper clippings, manuscripts, etc. and offers a primary source perspective on civil rights issues from voting rights to the dismantling of the Jim Crow system.
- Proquest History Vault
Documents that cover the Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle. Southern Life, Slavery and the Civil War, Women's Studies and Rights, American Politics (1960-1975), and the Vietnam War. All with a U.S. focus.
- Black Life in AmericaThe experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1976 to today.
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth CenturyPrimary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; and audio and video.
- Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new windowAn archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Available in two series, Series 1 focuses on the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
- Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2An archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Available in two series, Series 2 focuses on Hispanic American civil rights, religion and women’s rights from the 18th through the 20th century. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers.
- Hispanic Life in AmericaHispanic American experience from 1904 to the present day, as portrayed by the media. It cultivates more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals and is updated daily.
- Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers Digital Archive (Parts 1 & 2)Documents the ACLU’s legal battle to enforce the Civil Rights Act of 1964 in thirteen Southern states. Consists of case files, correspondence, newspaper clippings, manuscripts, etc. and offers a primary source perspective on civil rights issues from voting rights to the dismantling of the Jim Crow system.
- Digital National Security Archive
Declassified U.S. government documents, providing vital primary source material to advance research in twentieth and twenty-first century history, politics, and international relations, covering events from the Berlin Crisis to post-9/11 U.S. intelligence.
- U.S. Declassified Documents OnlineThis collection is made up of U.S. government documents obtained from presidential libraries. These libraries receive declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others.
- Nexis Uni
NexisUni provides access to 15,000+ news, business and legal sources. If a sign-in button appears, click the button for access.
- Proquest History Vault
Documents that cover the Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle. Southern Life, Slavery and the Civil War, Women's Studies and Rights, American Politics (1960-1975), and the Vietnam War. All with a U.S. focus.
- HeinOnline John F. Kennedy Assassination CollectionThis database contains the National Archives and Records Administration's complete collection of records on President John F. Kennedy's assassination. Also included are books, hearings, other related works, and scholarly articles on this topic. See Binghamton University Libraries Center for the Study of the 1960s.
- Gerritsen Collection - Women's History OnlineMonographs, journals, and pamphlets reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and women's rights up through the mid-twentieth century. Coverage: 1543-1945.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
The collection currently includes 145 document projects and document archives with 6700 documents and more than 200,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 3000 primary authors. The database also contains numerous collections of primary sources, including the Writings of Black Women Suffragists and Publications of State and Local Commissions on the Status of Women.
- Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 182075,000 pages of documents pertaining to women in the global history of empires and post-colonial societies since 1820.
- Proquest History Vault
Documents that cover the Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle. Southern Life, Slavery and the Civil War, Women's Studies and Rights, American Politics (1960-1975), and the Vietnam War. All with a U.S. focus.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and CulturePrimary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century,you can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
- LGBT Magazine Archive (1954 - 2015)Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. Some publications may contain explicit content.
- Social ExplorerProvides access to US decennial census data from 1790 to 2010, American Community Survey data and selected business, economic, crime, health, environmental and religious data. It does not include data for all census geographies, particularly for earlier decennial censuses. Users can customize, save, print, export and email reports and maps
- World Development IndicatorsContains statistical data for over 800 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for over 220 countries and country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. See the Data Manual for information on what is covered.
- Historical Statistics of the United StatesIncludes over 12,500 time series and all descriptive text. Contains the complete Historical Statistics of the United States, 1975. Standard source for quantitative data of American history starting in Colonial times
