Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Subject Guides
- History
- Science, Technology & Medicine
History
Guide Contents
Reference/Tertiary Sources
- Brill's Encyclopaedia Islamica OnlineBased on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world. A unique feature is in the attention given to Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage. Vols. 1-5 (A-BUR) currently available.
Secondary Sources
- America: History & Life with Full TextLiterature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1700 journals, provides full text of 200 titles.
- Bloomsbury Medieval StudiesInterdisciplinary combination of primary material and secondary scholarship, providing access to ebooks, the Encyclopedia of the Global Middle Ages, digitized images of primary source materials, and more. Also includes the Medieval Clothing and Textiles Collection - featuring multiple examinations of specific clothing items and studies in the weaving, embroidering, and exporting of clothing and textiles around Medieval Europe.
Primary Sources
- AM Explorer
Access millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
- Wiley Digital Archive Environmental Science and HistoryPrimary sources enable the impacts of human activity on the natural world to be traced, researched, and analyzed through documents, images, data, maps, and photographs. WDA: ENV provides new insights into the natural world, the ways anthropogenic activity has impacted climates, biodiversity, and ecological systems, and describes early efforts to understand and mitigate or remediate the negative effects of human activities on the natural world.
- Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970Examines the history of public health and the policy debates that ensued in the delivery of services at the national, state, and local levels during pivotal times in history.
- American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals, 1691-1877Providing digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877.
- British Periodicals Collection IConsists of more than 160 journals that comprise the ProQuest microfilm collection Early British Periodicals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts, and the social sciences.
- Gateway to North America: People, Places, and Organizations of 19th-Century New YorkGateway to North America consists of unique content from the the NY Historical Society, including more than 800,000 pages from over 1,500 incredibly diverse sources.
- North American Immigrant Diaries, Letters and Oral HistoriesLetters, diaries and transcripts of oral histories that provide an unique view of immigration to the United States and Canada between 1800-1950.
- American Civil War: Letters and DiariesThis collection contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs, including 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland Planter William Claytor. Also includes biographies, an extensive bibliography of the sources in the database, and material licensed from The Civil War Day-by-Day by E.B. Long.
- Civil War Primary Source DocumentsArchive of unique manuscripts chronicling the American Civil War as it was experienced. Providing both Northern and Southern perspectives, it covers all aspects of the war, including reactions and impressions from the home front.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and CulturePrimary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century,you can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
- Bloomsbury Medieval StudiesInterdisciplinary combination of primary material and secondary scholarship, providing access to ebooks, the Encyclopedia of the Global Middle Ages, digitized images of primary source materials, and more. Also includes the Medieval Clothing and Textiles Collection - featuring multiple examinations of specific clothing items and studies in the weaving, embroidering, and exporting of clothing and textiles around Medieval Europe.
- Codices Vossiani Latini
Contains 363 codices, which count a large number of early medieval manuscripts, including 76 Carolingian manuscripts dating from before 900, and major sources of many classical texts. Highlights include sources of Lucretius’ De natura rerum, of Cicero’s philosophical works, and Plinius’ Historia naturalis.
