Subject Guides
Guide Contents
Digital Collections
- Home Economics Archive (Cornell University)HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance.
- American Presidency ProjectThe American Presidency Project is the only online resource that has consolidated, coded, and organized into a single searchable database:
• The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington - Taft (1789-1913)
• The Public Papers of the Presidents: Hoover to G.W. Bush (1929-2007) & Obama (2010-Book I)
• The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: Carter - G.W. Bush (1977-2009)
• The Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents: Obama (2009-2012)
• Our archives also contain thousands of other documents such as party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates. - Discovering American Women's History OnlineThis database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
- History Unbound (primary source collections)Although geared towards K-12 educators, there are collections of primary sources in print and non-print formats in a number of collection areas. Materials are from both New York State resources and Library of Congress national subject topics.
- State Digital History ResourcesA compilation of state and regional digital history projects and collaborations linked from the Library of Congress.
- Library of Congress Primary Sources by StateA collection of digital primary sources by state in the Library of Congress. Although geared to pre-college classroom use, it contains extensive collections of historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsBrowse the vast digitized collections of the Library of Congress, covering many time periods, locations, and themes.
- United Nations Dag Hammarskjöld LibraryContents: The online catalogue of UN documents and publications, including access to UN-produced materials in digital format and bibliographic records for print UN documents starting in 1979. Full text search of documents issued since 1993; resolutions of all principal organs & Security Council plenary documents since 1946. Older documents are added regularly. Includes the Daily Journals of New York and Geneva.
- European National LibrariesWeb portal to bibliographic and digital collections of European national libraries.
- EGO – Europäische Geschichte Online / European History OnlineEuropäische Geschichte Online (EGO) is an online European transcultural history composed of multimedia knowledge items encompassing the period from 1450 to 1950. EGO is methodologically pragmatic, international and interdisciplinary. It combines a variety of approaches and perspectives from debates in multiple languages and thus interlinks international scholars working in the various disciplines of European history.
- Digitised Historical Parliamentary MaterialIncludes material from : Parliamentary Debates; Parliamentary Papers; Proceedings and Journals; House of Lords Judgements; Devolved Parliaments and Assemblies; Parliamentary Archives
- ARTFL Public Access DatabasesDatabases freely accessible include the ENCYCLOPÉDIE and the ENCYCLOPÉDIE MÉTHODIQUE, the AMI DU PEUPLE, a digital edition of Rousseau's Collection complète des Œuvres, and the Bibliothèque Bleue de Troyes, among others.
- French Revolution Digital Archive (Stanford U)The French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA) is a multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution and make them available to the international scholarly community. The archive is based around two main resources, the Archives parlementaires and a vast corpus of images first brought together in 1989 and known as the Images de la Revolution française.
U.S. Government Documents
- ProQuest CongressionalIndexing, abstracts and full-text (for selected publications and dates) for congressional publications including bills, laws, hearings, prints, reports, documents, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations and member and committee information. In addition to the Basic Subscription, BU has access to the full text of the Congressional Record and its predecessor publications from 1789-1997, the Congressional Serial Set from 1789-2003 and Serial Set maps from 1789-present.
- U.S. Declassified Documents OnlineThis collection is made up of U.S. government documents obtained from presidential libraries. These libraries receive declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others.
- Digital National Security Archive
Declassified U.S. government documents, providing vital primary source material to advance research in twentieth and twenty-first century history, politics, and international relations, covering events from the Berlin Crisis to post-9/11 U.S. intelligence.
- Central Intelligence Agency - LibraryPublicly available CIA digitized documents .
- U.S. National Archives and Records AdministrationWeb portal to the National Archives, including digital resources.
- U.S. National Archives - Online Public AccessNew interface to search online resources at the U.S. National Archives.
- U.S. National Archives - Access to Archival DatabasesDigital collections from the National Archives.
- Library of Congress Digital Reference SectionWebguides to Library of Congress Digital Reference Collections
- American Memory ProjectPrimary source materials from The Library of Congress, includes digital items such as George Washington's letters, Civil War photographs, women suffrage materials, early maps, etc. Coverage:16th century to present; varies by collection.
- Smithsonian Institution ArchivesThe Smithsonian Institution Archives website provides a Collections section that includes digitally available content.
