Subject Guides
Guide Contents
Reference/Tertiary Sources
- Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyBiographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the 4th century BC to the 21st century.
Secondary Sources
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI Online)Indexes journals about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the U.S. and includes a wide range of topics.
- Digitalia HispanicaThe most complete database of electronic books and journals in the Spanish language. Covers over 40,000 e-book and journal titles from countries such as Spain, Colombia, Chile, Argentina, Mexico, Peru, Dominican Republic
- HRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windoweHraf is an unique cross-cultural database containing more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Includes the full text of ethnographic books, journal articles and other materials that are indexed by culture and subject.
- PAIS IndexCovers issues in public affairs and policy issues through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources. Coverage: 1915 - present.
- Women Studies InternationalCovers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Covers 1972 - present.
- Historical Abstracts with Full TextCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Primary Sources
- AM Explorer
Access millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
- Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new windowAn archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Available in two series, Series 1 focuses on the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
- Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2An archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Available in two series, Series 2 focuses on Hispanic American civil rights, religion and women’s rights from the 18th through the 20th century. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English
- Sabin Americana: History of the Americas 1500-1926Covers more than 400 years and 65,000 volumes in North, Central, and South America and the West Indies. The collection includes sermons, political tracts, newspapers, books, pamphlets, maps, legislation, literature, highlighting the society, politics, religious beliefs, culture, contemporary opinions, and momentous events of occurring 1500-1926.
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth CenturyPrimary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; and audio and video.
- Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals
Contains 971 Latin American anarchist and labor periodicals published between 1880-1940, this collection holds many rare and unique titles. In particular, it richly documents the anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode (1890-1920) in the history of Latin American Labor Movements.
- Revolución y CulturaA bilingual publication, this serves as a fundamental and often unique resource for the study of Cuban culture. Works featured are from some of the most prominent illustrators, photographers, designers and writers in Cuba.
- Hispanic Life in AmericaHispanic American experience from 1904 to the present day, as portrayed by the media. It cultivates more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals and is updated daily.
- Church Missionary Society ArchiveA rich repository of source materials on the work of this globally influential organisation, founded in 1799 as an Anglican evangelical movement and still active today. Records from the Angelican evangelical missions, spanning the globe, dating back to 1799. Includes the first mission to Japan and womens' education missions.
- Wiley Digital Archive Environmental Science and HistoryPrimary sources enable the impacts of human activity on the natural world to be traced, researched, and analyzed through documents, images, data, maps, and photographs. WDA: ENV provides new insights into the natural world, the ways anthropogenic activity has impacted climates, biodiversity, and ecological systems, and describes early efforts to understand and mitigate or remediate the negative effects of human activities on the natural world.
- North American Immigrant Diaries, Letters and Oral HistoriesLetters, diaries and transcripts of oral histories that provide an unique view of immigration to the United States and Canada between 1800-1950.
- Royal Geographical Society (with IBG)Primary source maps and charts dating back to the 1400s. Contains more than 150,000 maps, charts and atlases complemented by manuscripts, field notes, expedition reports, scrapbooks, correspondence, diaries, illustrations, and sketches.
- Daily Worker OnlineProvides the full text of the The Worker (1922-1924) and The Daily Worker (1924-1958), the official mouthpiece of the Communist Party of the USA.
- Gerritsen Collection - Women's History OnlineMonographs, journals, and pamphlets reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and women's rights up through the mid-twentieth century. Coverage: 1543-1945.
- Women and Social Movements, International, 1840 to PresentOnline archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century.
- International Historical Statistics, 1750-2010This database provides key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years gathered from a multitude of statistical sources.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsBrowse the vast digitized collections of the Library of Congress, covering many time periods, locations, and themes.
- Internet Modern History SourcebookThe Internet Modern History Sourcebook is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts produced by Fordham University. See especially the sections on Colonial Latin America, 19th Century Latin America, Age of Anxiety, and 20th Century Latin America.
- SALALM Latin American & Caribbean Digital Primary ResourcesThis site hosts a database of links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean. Currently, the listings may be searched by country, genre/format, hosting institution, and collection title.
- Avalon ProjectFull text documents relating to politics, history, law, diplomacy and government. International in scope, ranging from 400BC to current times. Contains treaties, speeches, constitutions, letters, etc. Links to supporting documents included.
