Subject Guides
Guide Contents
Reference/Tertiary Sources
- Britannica Online
Encyclopedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Year in Review, World Atlas and an Internet Guide.
- Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyBiographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the 4th century BC to the 21st century.
Secondary Sources
- China Online Journals （万方期刊在线）Provides indexing coverage of over 6,000 journals from China and full text to the Arts/Humanities subset. This subset has 587 journal titles with coverage from 1997 onwards. Language: Chinese
- Historical Abstracts with Full TextCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- HRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windoweHraf is an unique cross-cultural database containing more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Includes the full text of ethnographic books, journal articles and other materials that are indexed by culture and subject.
- Women Studies InternationalCovers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Covers 1972 - present.
Primary Sources
- AM Explorer
Access millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
- China and the Modern WorldDigital archive collections consisting of monographs, manuscripts, periodicals, correspondence and letters, historical photos, ephemera, and other kinds of historical documents published in or about China from 1817 until 1950.
- South China Morning Post, 1903-2001 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Full text of the paper; for more current contest, search using our Journal Titles search.
- Chinese Film and Newsreel Scripts from the Cultural Revolution OnlineTranscripts of documentary films, newsreels and some feature films, mostly created during the Cultural Revolution (1966-1976). Visual media was a primary propaganda tool for the government.
- Japan Year Books OnlinePublished from the beginning of the war with China right up to the outbreak of the Korean War (1931-1952), the Japan Year Books present Japan’s news and statistics throughout the period. Language: Chinese
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
A digital collection of books, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, ephemera, and maps that cover politics and society, literature, spirituality, technology and more.
- Proquest History Vault
Documents that cover the Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle. Southern Life, Slavery and the Civil War, Women's Studies and Rights, American Politics (1960-1975), and the Vietnam War. All with a U.S. focus.
- Church Missionary Society ArchiveA rich repository of source materials on the work of this globally influential organisation, founded in 1799 as an Anglican evangelical movement and still active today. Records from the Angelican evangelical missions, spanning the globe, dating back to 1799. Includes the first mission to Japan and womens' education missions.
- Refugees and Relief: Forced Migration and World War II Digital ArchiveChronicles the plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950, bringing together over 590,000 pages of pamphlets, ephemera, government documents, relief organization publications, and refugee reports that recount the causes, effects and responses to refugee crises before, during and shortly after World War II.
- Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 182075,000 pages of documents pertaining to women in the global history of empires and post-colonial societies since 1820.
- Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 182075,000 pages of documents pertaining to women in the global history of empires and post-colonial societies since 1820.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and CulturePrimary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century,you can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
- North American Immigrant Diaries, Letters and Oral HistoriesLetters, diaries and transcripts of oral histories that provide an unique view of immigration to the United States and Canada between 1800-1950.
- Wiley Digital Archive Environmental Science and HistoryPrimary sources enable the impacts of human activity on the natural world to be traced, researched, and analyzed through documents, images, data, maps, and photographs. WDA: ENV provides new insights into the natural world, the ways anthropogenic activity has impacted climates, biodiversity, and ecological systems, and describes early efforts to understand and mitigate or remediate the negative effects of human activities on the natural world.
- Archives UnboundIncludes dozens of rare primary source documents organized by topic/ focus which span European colonialism, 1960s social movements, womens' rights, African-American civil rights, the Holocaust, and the Tiananmen Square protest.
- Avalon ProjectFull text documents relating to politics, history, law, diplomacy and government. International in scope, ranging from 400BC to current times. Contains treaties, speeches, constitutions, letters, etc. Links to supporting documents included.
- World Development IndicatorsContains statistical data for over 800 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for over 220 countries and country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. See the Data Manual for information on what is covered.
- International Historical Statistics, 1750-2010This database provides key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years gathered from a multitude of statistical sources.
