Subject Guides
Guide Contents
Reference/Tertiary Sources
- Oxford Classical DictionaryThe new Oxford Classical Dictionary consists of a continuously growing collection of over 6,500 entries with new and revised entries published online on a monthly basis. OCD has a broader chronological, geographical, and cultural reach than the fourth edition, featuring new articles on gender studies, Late Antiquity, Christianity, Jewish studies, Near East, Bronze Age, linguistics, and reception.
- Brill's New Pauly OnlineUnrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world, covering more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.
- Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyBiographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the 4th century BC to the 21st century.
Secondary Sources
- Annee PhilologiqueAn exhaustive index of periodicals, books and festschriften in classics and classical studies. Coverage: 1969 - 2 years ago.
- ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1Provides religious and theological literature from the late 13th century to 1893. Vital for scholars seeking to understand religious thought and practice.
Primary Sources
- Loeb Classical LibraryA fully searchable, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature with English translations. Includes epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)Comprehensive digital collection that includes all extant works of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. You must login to use the Full Corpus.
- Internet Ancient History SourcebookA collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts organized topically and geographically. Contains many primary sources and translations.
- Avalon ProjectFull text documents relating to politics, history, law, diplomacy and government. International in scope, ranging from 400BC to current times. Contains treaties, speeches, constitutions, letters, etc. Links to supporting documents included.
- Oxford Text Archive This link opens in a new windowIncludes several thousand electronic texts and linguistic corpora, in a variety of languages. Its holdings include electronic editions of works by individual authors, standard reference works such as the Bible and mono-/bilingual dictionaries, and a range of language corpora.
- Perseus Classics CollectionFeatures several hundred works of classical Greek and Roman authors, both in the original language and in translation (mostly older but standard editions such as the Loeb). It also includes the Latin Vulgate, the Greek New Testament, and an English Bible text. From Tufts University.
- Translated Texts for Historians E-LibraryContains major historic texts dating from from 300 to 800 A.D. translated into English. The collection is organized into topical volumes.
- Brepols Publishers OnlineProvides access to the International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (IBHR), Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale (BCM), Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MCH), Library of Latin Texts (Series A and B), Database of Latin Dictionaries, Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources, and the International Directory of Medievalists. Can search these alone or across titles.
