Resources for the study World History excluding the U.S. and Canada.
Last Updated: Mar 25, 2014
Voice of the Shuttle World History page (Univ of Calif Santa Barbara). A comprehensive index to academic, scholarly websites in World History. The full Voice of the Shuttle websites has separate pages for all humanities disciplines.
WWW-Virtual Library History page is another collection of links relating to History. Subcategories include History by Continent/County, Era/Epoch, Topic, and Methods.
- Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1955 to present.
- Periodicals Index Online
PIO is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 3935 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages. Currently indexes around 13 million articles since the seventeenth century and every article in each journal is indexed.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
A comprehensive index to more than 10 million biographical sketches from biographical dictionaries, encyclopedias, and literary criticisms. Sources cover both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world. Once you find citations from this index, you will need to search the Libraries' catalog to see if BU Libraries own the titles cited.
- Center for Research Libraries
CRL, a non-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries, has numerous research materials in addition to those found in their catalog. Searchable Special Collection Databases include Foreign Newspapers, U.S. Ethnic Newspapers, Current Serial Titles from the States of the Former Soviet Union, Civilian Conservation Corps Camp Papers, Foreign Doctoral Dissertations, and Current Science Serials.