Subject Guides
The Sustainability Hub
Sustainability Book Collection
The Sustainability Hub now has a broad selection of books centered around the environment and sustainability! Our book collection ranges from books on sustainable living tips to environmental fiction & climate research!
Books from the Sustainability Book Collection will be available for loan for up to 6 weeks. Visit the Science Library now and check out any books at the front desk!
Browse Our Collection Online!
Click on the images above to browse our latest print and ebooks in the Sustainability Book Collection!
Examples of our books, all of which will help you gain sustainable skills and knowledge, are listed below.
Articles
Popular/News Articles
-
The Atlantic - Planet: A Series of Articles
"Your guide to life on a warming planet." -
ProPublica - Environment Series
Articles include topics on California wildfires, coal ash in Georgia, disappearing beaches, climate migration, and more. -
New York Times - Climate and Environment Section
Articles include all topics related to climate and the environment by the New York Times -
NPR - Environment
Articles include all topics related to climate, environment, and energy by NPR. -
Wired - Clean Tech Collection
Articles include all topics related to clean and sustainable technology.
The New England Journal of Medicine has a Climate Change specialty "collection of articles and other resources is freely available to support physicians and other health care professionals."
Scholarly/Academic Articles
-
Can big data and predictive analytics improve social and environmental sustainability?
Written by Rameshwar Dubey et al. | Technological Forecasting and Social Change | 2019 -
Relationship between food waste, diet quality, and environmental sustainability
Written by Meredith T. Niles et al. | PloS one | 2018 -
The impacts of higher education institutions on sustainable development: A review and conceptualization
Written by Florian Findler et al. | International Journal of Sustainability in Higher Education | 2019 - Strategic leadership for sustainability by higher education: the American College & University Presidents' Climate Commitment
Written by Georges Dyer and Michelle Dyer | Journal of Cleaner Production | 2017
Additional Resources
- Learn About Sustainable Living in 10 Short Videos | UC Berkeley"If you’re in need of crash courses to learn all about the basics of sustainable living, I’ve got you covered. The 10 topics listed will give you an introduction to a portion of the many subjects that make up the sustainability movement. Click the links in the video headings to watch, enjoy, and learn!"
- Environmental Videos for Students and Educators | EPA"Looking for videos about EPA's work or about environmental issues? See highlights from recent events with the EPA Administrator, view profiles of scientists working at EPA, and learn more about environmental issues like climate change."
- Sustainability Video Collection - UCSFFeatured sustainability videos curated by the University of California - San Francisco's Office of Sustainability of the best sustainability talks from GreenBiz.com, TED conferences and other online content of interest.
- Our Changing Menu"The site includes a searchable database of food ingredients being affected by climate change. With each food ingredient there is information about how droughts, heat waves, or sea level rise are bring about change, some benign, some ominous. There is also a parallel database focused on plant-based products such as perfumes, pharmaceuticals, paints, pet food, and clothing (e.g. cotton) that are also undergoing change."
- Project DrawdownMission is to help the world reach “Drawdown”— the point in the future when levels of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere stop climbing and start to steadily decline, thereby stopping catastrophic climate change — as quickly, safely, and equitably as possible.
