Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Sustainability Hub

Past Events

Events that were recorded have the recording linked with their description. You can also find most recordings in the Sustainability Hub section of the Binghamton University institutional repository, the ORB.

 

Clothing Swap with SELF and the Sustainability Hub!

September 30th, 2022 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM @ the Science Library

Hosted By: The Sustainability Hub & SELF

Bring one or more clothing items to participate in our Clothing Swap! 

Stress-Free@ Science Library with Paint-a-Pot!

May 12, 2022 2pm - 4pm @ the Science Library

Hosted By: Sustainability Hub

Destress at the Sustainability Hub! Paint a terracotta pot, get your hands in some soil, and plant some seeds from the Seed Library! 

The Equitable Sustainability Literacy Guide Panel Session

April 21, 2022 12pm - 1pm @ the Science Library

Hosted By: Sustainability Hub

Join us from 12-1pm for an exciting student panel session with presenters Jacqueline Jergensen, Haley Arnold, and Sage Block, as they discuss the creation of a new and amazing resource guide called: The Equitable Sustainability Literacy Guide. The presenters will discuss the creation of this guide and give a walkthrough of all of the different content, categories, and resources that make it so unique. Refreshments will be served. We look forward to seeing you there! And don't forget to enjoy the rest of the Earth Day Celebrations happening at the Science Library this day (see below)!


A Very Earth Day Celebration!

April 21, 2022 11am - 2pm @ the Science Library

Hosted By: Sustainability Hub

Celebrate Earth Day a little early this week at the Science Library’s Sustainability Hub on Thursday, April 21st from 11am-2pm! Stop by and create your very own seed pots using recycled paper from old books and then plant seeds that are provided from our seed library on-site! Choose from a variety of vegetable, herb, and flower seeds and create an amazing starter garden. And don’t forget to stop by our sustainable coloring table to color fun pictures of nature while you’re at it! 

 

And that’s not all! Our Earth Day celebration also includes an amazing student-run panel session from 12-1pm, introducing an incredible new resource called the Equitable Sustainability Literacy Guide. The panel session will feature the students who helped create the guide: Jackie Jergensen, Haley Arnold, and Sage Block. Refreshments and snacks will be served during the panel, so don’t miss out!

   


Health & Wellness Poster Session

November 30, 2021 1:45pm - 3:45pm

Hosted By: Sustainability Hub & Course-based Undergraduate Research Experience (CURE)

The Health and Wellness Studies department  is holding its annual poster presentation of research on diet, exercise, substance abuse and mental health conducted by undergraduate students in Course-based Undergraduate Research Experience (CURE). 

Posters will be divided into two different sessions! The first is 1:45 - 2:45 and the second is from 2:45 - 3:45. Come by multiple times to see them all and talk with the students about their research. 

The Science in Scientific Collecting: A Discussion w/ Dr. Anne Clark

November 12, 2021 3:30pm - 5:00pm

Hosted By: Sustainability Hub & Special Collections @ Binghamton University Libraries

Join us in-person on Friday, November 12th from 3:30-5pm in the Zurack Center (LN1302C) for an interactive talk given by Dr. Anne B. Clark from the Biological Sciences department. The talk will attempt to shed light on the question of "why we should care" about scientific collections, with Dr. Clark providing real examples of the important insights that can be gathered from these science collections and how they grow more, not less important as scientific advances allow us to get new, richer information that can have big implications for predicting our future.

Dr. Clark will be introduced by Jeremy Dibbell, Special Collections Librarian within the University Libraries. 

AND DON'T FORGET to visit Special Collections on the second floor of Bartle Library before the talk from 2:30-3:15pm for the launch of a new exhibit, "(Re)presenting the Birds of America." This exhibit will feature the newly-acquired 1859 third octavo edition of John James Audubon's Birds of America, as well as other ornithological illustrations from Special Collections!

See flyer below for more details!

 


 

Migration and displacement in a changing climate

October 15, 2021 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Hosted By: Binghamton University Libraries

Binghamton University Libraries is excited to host a Zoom talk with Robert McLeman, Geography and Environmental Studies Professor at Wilfrid Laurier University. Dr. McLeman is a Coordinating Lead Author for the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change’s (IPCC) working group on impacts, vulnerability and adaptation. He will join us for an October 15th lunchtime talk on:

  • current trends in displacements and migration due to hurricanes, floods, droughts, fires, etc
  • projected future risks (including sea level rise)
  • implications for the US (including displacements of people within the US, displacements of people in other countries who then migrate to the US)
  • possible responses (policies and practices)

 

Clothing Swap with S.E.L.F

September 24, 2021 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Hosted By: S.E.L.F. & Binghamton University Libraries

Family Weekend celebration! Join Students for Ethical Living and Food (S.E.L.F.) and the Libraries in the Sustainability Hub for a clothing swap. Bring at least two items of clothing and leave with as much as you want!
The Sustainability Hub is in the Science Library foyer.


 

Seed Saving in the Fall with Lisa Bloodnick

September 1, 2021

Hosted By: VINES & Binghamton University Libraries

Local farmer and seed saver Lisa Bloodnick will take us on a virtual tour of her seed-saving operation at Bloodnick Family farm. In this third workshop in our partnership with VINES, participants will learn how to select, collect, and properly store seeds from your favorite vegetables to plant next year.


 

Bearcat Food Drive

February 1st - March 15, 2021

Hosted By: Multicultural Resource Center & Binghamton University Libraries

The Multicultural Resource Center & Binghamton University Libraries co-hosted the Bearcat Food Drive from February 1st - March 15th, 2021 to increase awareness of climate change’s effects on food security and collect food donations for the campus Food Pantry!

The Drive included weekly, themed Instagram posts about food, food insecurity, and climate change that will run throughout the food drive. Topics will include food waste, COVID & food, growing your own food, and more.

You can still make monetary donations online at http://bit.ly/bearcatfood. Learn more about them including how to make additional donations online at their website. Thanks for your support!

For more info on the Bearcat Food Drive, including seeing the social media posts, visit http://bit.ly/bearcatfooddrive.


 

Simply Sustainable: Resources & Strategies for Living a More Sustainable Life, One Step at a Time

Panel Session: Wednesday, March 10, 2021 • 5:30-6:30pm

Hosted By: Binghamton University Libraries

The Binghamton University Libraries is hosting a panel discussion on sustainability-related steps that individuals can make in their own lives. We'll be joined by the Broome County Public Library Director who will talk about relevant library resources available to the community, as well as by representatives from VINES, Network for a Sustainable Tomorrow (NEST), and the Binghamton University Zero Hour chapter. Join us for this virtual discussion from 5:30-6:30pm on March 10th.

Learn more about our panelists here, and see below for a recording of the session!

 


 

Biodiversity and Climate Change: The Impact of the Climate Crisis on Natural Ecosystems, and What We Can Do About It

Thursday, April 22, 2021 • 3:00-4:00pm

As the effects of climate change continue to ravage ecosystems across the globe, it has become increasingly essential to engage in discussions that recognize how climate change has impacted biodiversity on our planet. In this panel session, we welcome a diverse group of ecologists, conservationists, researchers, students, and teachers to discuss how climate change is affecting biodiversity and how we all can help to mitigate our own impact on our surrounding environments.

Our Panelists include:

Learn more about our panelists at: https://libcal.binghamton.edu/calendar/14536/earthday. See the recording of the session below!

During the session, the panelists had some great suggestions for resources. You can see that list here.  

Fire & Flood: Queer Resilience in the Era of Climate Change

Monday, April 19, 2021 • 5:00-8:00pm

Join us on Monday, April 19th for a virtual film screening & discussion of the documentary Fire & Flood: Queer Resilience in the Era of Climate Change

Film discussion was with Luz Cruz of Cuir Kitchen Brigade.

See the Fire & Flood page of this guide for more information and recordings. 


 

Seed Saving for Beginners: A Hands-On Workshop with Lisa Bloodnick

Wednesday, April 7, 2021 • 6:00-7:30pm

Co-Hosted By: Volunteers Improving Neighborhood Environments (VINES) & Binghamton University Libraries

Interested in seed-saving and looking for an opportunity to learn more? Then join VINES & Binghamton University Libraries for an exciting workshop featuring local seed-saving expert, Lisa Bloodnick! Lisa will guide us through an online, hands-on experience perfect for beginner seed-savers that will include helpful seed-saving information, such as how to plant your garden in the spring so you have viable seeds to save in the fall.


 

Amplify Environmental Justice: A Citizen Science Wikipedia Edit-a-thon!

Thursday, April 1, 2021 • 6:00-8:00pm

Celebrate Citizen Science Month with Binghamton University Libraries, Broome County Public Library, and the Student Chapter of Zero Hour! Join us for a Wikipedia Edit-a-thon focused on adding much needed edits to environmental justice-related pages, with a particular emphasis on amplifying BIPOC leaders and efforts in environmental and climate justice movements. Click here for more details. 

Prepare a cozy drink, get comfy, and drop into this virtual Edit-a-thon to engage in some thoughtful editing! Instruction, tutorials, and relaxing background music will be provided. 

To prepare for editing on Wikipedia before the event, we asked people to follow the directions at bit.ly/bingedit41 to make a Wikipedia account and sign up on the event dashboard.

 

Why I Save Seeds: The Cultural, Environmental, and Global Impact of Seed Saving

Panel Session: Wednesday, February 24, 2021 • 6:00-7:30pm

Co-Hosted By: Volunteers Improving Neighborhood Environments (VINES) & Binghamton University Libraries

As awareness about the human impact on the environment continues to grow, many have highlighted the long-practiced tradition of seed saving. Seed saving provides both individuals and communities with a method of continuing cultural traditions, preparing for climate-related stressors, and cultivating biodiversity.

In this workshop four panelists will discuss their experiences with seed saving and share their expertise on its importance and impacts on culture and the environment both globally and locally. Topics that will be discussed include creating a heirloom seed bank in Fondwa, sharing seeds as a way to save culture and biodiversity, and community food systems.

For more information & to read the panelists bios, visit: https://libcal.binghamton.edu/event/7508059.

See below for the recording of this workshop:

 

 


50 Years of Earth Day: A Virtual Panel Exploring the Evolution of Sustainability Education Since 1970

April 22, 2020

Hosted By: Binghamton University Libraries

In celebration of the 50th anniversary of Earth Day, Binghamton University Libraries hosted a virtual panel discussion that explored the evolution of sustainability education over the past 50 years. A panel of experts, researchers, and students from Binghamton University answered questions on topics such as shifting pedagogical styles, diverse approaches to sustainability research, changes that the field has experienced to date, and the challenges it may face in the future in the field of sustainability education. Panelists that participated: Miranda Kearney, Julian Shepherd, Elias Miller, and Dylan Horvath.

 

To watch the recording of the panel, visit https://orb.binghamton.edu/library_resources/2/.