Subject Guides
Chinese Studies
Guide Contents
KANOPY Streaming Videos
Open Resources
- Chinese Film ClassicsThe website offers free resources for educators and students of cinema, history, culture, and language.
Motion pictures -- History
Historical Dictionary of Chinese Cinema by
Motion pictures were first introduced to China in 1896 and today China has become a major player in the film industry. However, the story of how Chinese cinema became what it is today is an exceptionally turbulent one. It encompasses incursions by foreign powers, warfare among contending rulers, the collapse of the Chinese empire, and the massive setback of the Cultural Revolution. The Historical Dictionary of Chinese Cinema covers the history of Chinese cinema from its very beginning in 1896 to the present. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section contains several hundred cross-referenced dictionary entries on films, directors, and historical figures. This book is an excellent access point for anyone interested in Chinese cinema and for scholars interested in investigating ideas for future research."
Call Number: Bartle Library Reference PN1993.5.C4 Y43 2012ISBN: 9780810867796
Historical Dictionary of Hong Kong Cinema by
Although some entries cover individual films, genres, character types, production companies, and the like, the vast majority of entries presented by Stokes (humanities and film, Seminole Community College) in this historical dictionary of the prolific world of Hong Kong cinema consist of biographical information on important actors, directors, and
Call Number: Fine Arts Collection Stacks PN1993.5.C4 S885 2007ISBN: 0810855208
Once upon a Time in China: a guide to Hong Kong, Taiwanese, and mainland Chinese cinema by
From Jackie Chan to Ang Lee, from "Supercop" to "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon," Chinese cinema has truly arrived in the U.S. Filled with photos and tidbits, this is the definitive book for anyone who has already fallen in love with Chinese cinema--and all those who are looking to learn more about it.
Call Number: Fine Arts Collection Stacks PN1993.5.C4 Y37 2003ISBN: 9780743448178
Encyclopedia of Chinese Film by
Alphabetically organized, this volume provides entries on directors, genres, themes, and actors and actresses from mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan as well as 300 film synopses. The entries are cross-referenced and followed, where possible, with annotated suggestions for further reading. The entries are preceded by an historical section, incorporating material on the main studios and analyzing the impact of Chinese film abroad as well as at home in recent years.
Call Number: Fine Arts Collection Stacks (PN1993.5.C4 Z53 1998 )ISBN: 0415151686
The Chinese Cinema Book by
The Chinese Cinema Book provides an essential guide to the cinemas of the People’s Republic of China, Hong Kong, Taiwan and the Chinese diaspora, from early cinema to the present day. With contributions from leading international scholars, the book is structured around five thematic sections: Territories, Trajectories, Historiographies; Early Cinema to 1949; The Forgotten Period: 1949–80; The New Waves; and Stars, Auteurs and Genres. This important collection addresses issues of film production and exhibition and places Chinese cinema in its national and transnational contexts. Individual chapters examine major film movements such as the Shanghai cinema of the 1930s, Fifth Generation film-makers and the Hong Kong New Wave, as well as key issues such as stars and auteurs. The book will be an invaluable resource for students and scholars, as well as for anyone wanting to deepen their understanding of the cinemas of Greater China.
Call Number: Fine Arts Collection Stacks -- PN1993.5.C4 C4422 2011ISBN: 9781844573448
Projecting a Nation by
The book analyses the wide variety of conceptions of "Chinese national cinema" between the early years of the 20th century and 1949, and contrasts these to conceptions of national cinema in Europe and China.
Call Number: Fine Arts Collection Stacks -- PN1993.5.C4 H78 2003ISBN: 9622096107- One Hundred Years of Chinese Cinema byCall Number: Fine Arts Collection Stacks -- PN1993.5.C4 O54 2006ISBN: 1891936956
Book in Chinese
中国电影年鉴 北京 : 中国电影出版社 1982
Fine Arts Collection Stacks, Oversize (*)(Non-Circ) (PN1993.5.C4 .C537 )
中国武侠电影史 贾磊磊. ; 北京市 : 文化藝術出版社, 2005.
Fine Arts Collection Stacks (PN1995.9.H3 J5325 2005 )
新中国电影史, 1949-2000 = A history of Chinese cinema, 1949-2000
尹鸿, 长沙市 : 湖南美朮出版社,2002.
Fine Arts Collection Stacks, Oversize (*) (PN1993.5.C4 Y536 2002 )
- 中国电影研究资料 : 1949-1979 byCall Number: Fine Arts Collection Stacks PN1993.5.C4 Z564 2006
Read Online
Envisioning Taiwan by
In discussions of postcolonial nationhood and cultural identity, Taiwan is often overlooked. Yet the island--with its complex history of colonization--presents a particularly fascinating case of the struggle to define a "nation." While the mainland Chinese government has been unequivocal in its resistance to Taiwanese independence, in Taiwan, government control has gradually passed from mainland Chinese immigrants to the Taiwanese themselves. Two decades of democratization and the arrival of consumer culture have made the island a truly global space. Envisioning Taiwan sorts through these complexities, skillfully weaving together history and cultural analysis to give a picture of Taiwanese identity and a lesson on the usefulness and the limits of contemporary cultural theory. Yip traces a distinctly Taiwanese sense of self vis-à-vis China, Japan, and the West through two of the island's most important cultural movements: the hsiang-t'u (or "nativist") literature of the 1960s and 1970s, and the Taiwanese New Cinema of the 1980s and 1990s. At the heart of the book are close readings of the work of the hsiang-t'u writer Hwang Chun-ming and the New Cinema filmmaker Hou Hsiao-hsien. Key figures in Taiwan's assertion of a national identity separate and distinct from China, both artists portray in vibrant detail daily life on the island. Through Hwang's and Hou's work and their respective artistic movements, Yip explores "the imagining of a nation" on the local, national, and global levels. In the process, she exposes a perceptible shift away from traditional models of cultural authenticity toward a more fluid, postmodern hybridity--an evolution that reflects both Taiwan's peculiar multicultural reality and broader trends in global culture.
ISBN: 9780822386391Publication Date: 2004- DV-Made China digital subjects and social transformations after independent film byISBN: 0824854314Publication Date: 2015
