Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Subject Guides
- Chinese Studies
- Chinese Society and Sociology
Chinese Studies
Guide Contents
Digital Resources
- Duxiu (读秀)Duxiu, known as Chinese Google Scholar, is a platform for literature search and information discovery.
- China Online Journals （万方期刊在线）BU doesn't have a subscription for full-text access. It's an index search only.
- China Knowledge Resource Integrated Database , CNKI (中国知网)China academic journal database, index only.
- Da Cheng Archival Database (大成故纸堆)Comprehensive archival materials database related to Chinese history, literature, political science & etc. Includes Chinese rare books, books published during Republic period; periodicals published during Republic period, local gazetteers and history of Chinese Communist Party. Off campus access is available temporarily though ssl.binghamton.edu.
- Chinese Film and Newsreel Scripts from the Cultural Revolution OnlineTranscripts of documentary films, newsreels and some feature films, mostly created during the Cultural Revolution (1966-1976). Visual media was a primary propaganda tool for the government.
- 臺灣大學數位人文研究中心資料庫 （Research Center of Digital Humanities at National Taiwan University） Over the past decade, we have achieved significant progress in the development of research methods, tools, and digital content for digital humanities. We have established a methodological framework for contextual analysis retrieval, creating 40 context analysis-oriented databases, primarily consisting of first-hand historical materials and Chinese classics related to Taiwan.
- Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese NewspapersAn open-source from CRL. The collection, ultimately comprising 500,000 pages from hundreds of titles published in China between 1912 and 1949. Thirteen newspapers are included so far.
Encyclopedias and dictionaries
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences by Call Number: Ref. H40.A2 I5 2008 v.1-9ISBN: 9780028659657
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral SciencesCall Number: Ref. H41 .I58 2001 v.1-26ISBN: 0080430767- 中国大百科全书. 社会学Call Number: AE17 .Z46 1991ISBN: 9787500050421
Cambridge Encyclopedia of ChinaISBN: 052135594XPublication Date: Ref. DS705 .C35 1991
Useful subject headings
Sociology -- China
Local government – China; Community life – China –by provinces, i.e. Beijing
Social change – China – by period, i.e. 21st century; Social control -- China
China – Social conditions – by period, i.e. 1949-; Social security – China;
Public welfare -- China; Labor – China; Working class -- China
Culture and globalization – China; Popular culture -- China
Social influence; China – Social life and customs
China – Social policy; China – Population policy; Public opinion – China
Civil society – China; Socialism and society
Find books by call number
You may browse the libraries’ Online Catalog through Call # starting with H and find books on 3rd floor of the Bartle Libraries.
For instance:
HB3654 Demography. Population. Vital events
20世纪90年代中国各民族人口的变动 / 黄荣清, 赵显人等著 (HB3654 .A3 A155 2004
中国人口与发展 : 问题与反思 / 陈友华著 ( HB3654 .A3 C436 2012)
China’s population : problems, thoughts and policies / Gabe T. Wang. (HB3654 .A3 W346 1999)
中国人口问题与人口学发展 : 21世纪初十年的回眸与展望/宋健主编 (HB3654 .A3 Z4674 2012)
HD7230 Social insurance. Social security. Pension
天大的事 : 中国农民社会保障制度硏究 / 刘翠霄著. (HD7230 .L58 2006)
Social security reform: options for China / edited by Jason Z. Yin (HD7230 .S63 2000)
中国社会保障发展报告 = China Social security system development report (HD 7230 .Z47 2001-2004)
HD8731 – HD8740 Industrial sociology. Social conditions of labor
中国劳动和社会保障年鉴 (Oversize HD8731 .Z46 1999)
Labor and empire : the Chinese labor movement in the Canton delta, 1895-1927 /
by Ming Kou Chan (HD8736 .C5)
HN732 - HN733 Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform.
中国古代社会史论 / 候外庐 (HN733 .H665 1963)
家族与社会(HN733 .J525 2005 )
民国时期社会调查从编 / 李文海主编 (HN733 .M56 2004)
中国社会/ 李培林主编 （HN733.5 . Z4915 2011）
Managing social change and social policy in greater China : welfare regimes in transition / edited by
Ka Ho Mok and Maggie K. W. Lau (HN733.5 .M353 2014)
