Subject Guides

Chinese Studies

Guide Contents

Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Includes such topics as world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955; and 350 of them in full text.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. Through the 1991 printed version, the BAS included citations to western-language periodical articles.

China Biographical Database (CBDB)
The China Biographical Database (CBDB) is project database with biographical information about approximately 128,923 individuals as of July 8th, 2013, primarily from the 7th through 19th centuries (mainly for Tang, Five Dynasties, Liao, Song, Jin, Yuan, Ming and Qing). The data is meant to be useful for statistical, social network, and spatial analysis as well as serving as a kind of biographical reference. The data can be searched both in English and Chinese.

JSTOR
Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
WorldCat
Millions of records cataloged by libraries around the world.
Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century. Materials also include books, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspaper titles, journal and magazine titles, sound recordings, videotapes, and more.

Encyclopedia of Modern China by David Pong
ISBN: 9780684315669
Publication Date: 2009

jwang@binghamton.edu

Contact:

LN 2301

607-777-2190

Subjects: Asian & Asian American Studies

Subjects: Asian & Asian American Studies