Subject Guides
Guide Contents
Where are Chinese books located in the Libraries?
Chinese books, like English books, are organized on the shelves according to the Library of Congress Classification system, which separates all knowledge into 21 classes. A letter of the alphabet identifies each class (for instance, B for philosophy, D for history ), subclasses by combinations of letter ( for instance, BL for religion, DS for history of Asia) then subtopics within classes and subclasses by a numerical notation (for instance, BL1830 for Confucianism, DS701 – 799.9 for Chinese History).
The following chart indicates locations for Chinese studies subject areas that are the collection focus of the Libraries. For detailed information, please refer to the Chinese Print Resources Location Guide.
| LC Classification | Subject | Location in Libraries |
|
AC |
General works, encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc. 百科全書，叢書，類書 |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
BL1800- 1825 |
Special religions in China |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
BL1830- 1883 |
Confucianism / 儒家哲學 |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
BL1899- 1942 |
Taoism / 道家哲學 |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
BL1975 |
Asian religion -- Taiwan |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
BQ1-9800 |
Buddhism / 佛教 |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
BR- BX |
Christianity 基督教 |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
D |
History (general) 歷史 （綜合類） |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS701 – 799.9 |
History of China 中國歷史 |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS730 - 732 |
Ethnography, Chinese in foreign countries (general) 民俗學 |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS733 - 740.63 |
History of China , dictionaries, biographies, general works, etc. 中國歷史字典，人物傳記 |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS741 - 747.23 |
Early to 221 BC, incl. the legendary Xia, ca. 2205-1766 BC, Shang, 1766-1122 BC, Zhou, 1122-221 BC [incl. Spring & Autumn, 722-481 BC, Warring States, 403-221 BC] 夏、商、週、春秋、戰國時期 |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS747.28 - 747.48 |
221BC - 960 AD 公元前221-公元960年 |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS747.5 - 747.9 |
Qin 秦朝, 221-207 BC |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS747.9 - 748.164 |
Han 漢朝, 202 BC - 220 AD |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS748.17 - 748.76 |
Wei, Jin, Southern & Northern Dynasties (or Six Dynasties) 魏晉南北朝 220-589 AD, incl. Three Kingdoms, 220-265 AD, Five Hu and Sixteen Kingdoms, 304-439 AD |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS749.2 - 749.76 |
Sui, Tang, Five Dynasties 隋唐五代, 581-979 AD |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS751 - 751.98 |
Song, Liao, Xi Xia, Jin 宋、遼、西、夏、金, 960-1234 AD |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS752 - 752.6 |
Yuan 元, 1260-1368 AD |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS753 - 753.6 |
Ming 明, 1368-1644 AD |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS753.82 - 773.6 |
Qing 清, 1644-1912 AD |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS773.83-777.544 |
Republic 中華民國, 1912-1949. 20th century |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS777.545*-778.7 |
People's Republic 中華人民共和國, 1949-1976 |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
*DS778.M3 |
Works of Mao Zedong |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS779.15 - 779.32 |
People's Republic 中華人民共和國, 1976 - |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS781 - 784.2 |
Manchuria 滿洲 |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS785 - 786 |
Tibet 西藏 |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS793 - 796 |
Other provinces, dependencies, regions, etc., A-Z |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS796.H7 |
Hong Kong 香港 |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS796.M2 |
Macao 澳門 |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
DS798.92-799.9 |
Taiwan 臺灣 |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
G - GC |
Geography (general), atlases, maps 地圖 |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
HA |
Statistics |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
HB - HD |
Economic theory. Demography. Economic history and conditions |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
HF, HG, HJ |
Commerce, finance, and public finance |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
HM, HN |
Social history and conditions. Social Problems |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
HQ |
The Family. Marriage. Women |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
HX |
Socialism. Communism. Anarchism. |
Main Library, 4th Floor |
|
JA, JC |
Political Science (general) and political theory |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
JQ1499 |
Political institutions and public administration -- East Asia (general) |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
JQ1500-1519 |
China 中國政府機構 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
JQ1519.5 |
Macao 澳門政府機構 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
JQ1520-1539 |
Taiwan 臺灣政府機構 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
JQ1539.5 |
Hong Kong 香港政府機構 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
JQ1730 |
Mongolia. Outer Mongolia. 蒙古，外蒙古 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
JV |
Colonies and colonization. Emigration and immigration. International migration. |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
JX, JZ |
International law and international relation |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
K |
Law in general. Comparative and uniform law. Jurisprudence. 法律， 比較法 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
KNN |
China 中國法律 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
KNP |
China (Republic, 1949 -). Taiwan 臺灣法律 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
KNQ |
China (People's Republic, 1949 - ) 中華人民共和國 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
KNR |
Hong Kong 香港 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
KPF |
Macao 澳門 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
L |
Education (general) 教育 （綜合性） |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
LG51-53 |
China 中國教育 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
LG55-57 |
Taiwan 臺灣教育 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
M |
Music 音樂 |
Fine Arts Collection |
|
N |
Visual Arts 視覺藝術 |
Fine Arts Collection |
|
NA |
Architecture 建築 |
Fine Arts Collection |
|
NB to NK |
Sculpture, drawing, design, illustration, painting, print media, decorative arts, applied arts, decoration and ornament 雕塑，繪畫，印刷媒體，裝飾藝術 |
Fine Arts Collection |
|
NX |
Arts in general 藝術 （綜合著作） |
Fine Arts Collection |
|
P |
Philology. Linguistics 語言學 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL1001 - 2245 |
Chinese language 漢語 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2250 - 2443 |
Chinese literature -- History and criticism 中國文學史與理論 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2450 - 2452 |
Chinese literature -- Collections -- General 中國文學-- 總集 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2455 |
Chinese literature -- Selection 中國文學 -- 選集 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2456 - 2457 |
Chinese literature -- Earliest inscriptions 中國文學-早期金石拓片 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2458 - 2515.5 |
Chinese literature -- Confucian Canon. The Chinese Classics 中國文學-儒家經典 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2517 - 2565.8 |
Chinese literature -- pecial forms -- Poetry, including Ci, Qu 中國文學- 詩、詞、曲、 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2566 - 2603 |
Chinese literature -- Drama, including Bian Wen, Tan Ci, etc. 中國文學- 戲劇，包括駢文、彈詞 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2606 - 2623 |
Chinese literature -- Essays 中國文學- 散文 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2625 - 2653 |
Chinese literature -- Fiction 中國文學- 小說 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2661 - 2662 |
Chinese literature -- Individual authors and works -- Early to 221 BC 中國文學- 個人作家及作品 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2663 |
Chinese literature -- Qin and Han dynasties, 221 BC - 220 AD 中國文學--秦、漢時期 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2664 |
Chinese literature -- The Three Kingdoms, 220-265 中國文學--三國時期 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2665 |
Chinese literature -- Jin Dynasty, 265-419 晉朝 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2665.5 |
Chinese literature -- Five Hu and Sixteen Kingdoms, 304-439 中國文學--五胡與十六國時期 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2666 - 2668.5 |
Chinese literature -- Northern and Southern Dynasties, 386-589 中國文學-- 南北朝 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2669 |
Chinese literature -- Sui Dynasty, 581-618 隋朝 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2670 - 2677 |
Chinese literature -- Tang Dynasty, 618-907 唐朝 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2678 |
Chinese literature -- Five Dynasties and Ten Kingdoms, 907-979 五代十六國 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2679 - 2687 |
Chinese literature -- Song Dynasty, 960-1279, Liao Dynasty, 947-1125, Xi Xia Dynasty, 1038-1227, Jin Dynasty, 1115-1234 宋、遼、西夏 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2688 - 2694 |
Chinese literature -- Yuan Dynasty, 1260-1368 元朝 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2694.5 - 2698 |
Chinese literature -- Ming Dynasty, 1368-1644 明朝 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2699 - 2735 |
Qing Dynasty, 1644-1912 清朝 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2735.5 - 2832.3 |
Chinese literature -- Republic of China, 1912-1949 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL2832.5 - 2929.5 |
Chinese literature -- People's Republic of China, 1949 - |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL3032.T34 |
Chinese literature -- Taiwan |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL3119.H6 |
Chinese literature -- Hong Kong |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
PL3301 - 3311 |
Non-Chinese languages of China |
Main Library, 3rd Floor East |
|
Z1001 - 1121 |
Bibliography 書目 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor West |
|
Z3101 - 3109 |
National Bibliography - China 國家書目 --中國 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor West |
|
Z3111 - 3119 |
National Bibliography - Taiwan 國家書目 --臺灣 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor West |
|
Z5051 - 7999 |
Subject Bibliography 學科分類書目 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor West |
|
Z8001 - 8999 |
Personal Bibliography 個人書目 |
Main Library, 3rd Floor West |
NOTE: The above chart is for books that can be circulated for regular loan. There are three exceptions:
- Books marked with * or ** before their call number are OVERSIZE and are shelved separately from other books with similar call numbers. Oversize books are shelved on 2nd floor SOUTH in Main Library and on the ground floor in the Science Library.
- Reference books are usually located at the Reference Collection on the 1 st floor of the Main Library or the 1st Floor of the Science Library, and the call numbers begin with REF.
- Books in Special Collection are usually non-circulating materials, but patrons can check with staff in Special Collection for special permissions. Special Collection is located on the Main Library, 2nd Floor North.
