Subject Guides

Chinese Studies

Guide Contents

Duxiu (读秀)
Duxiu, known as Chinese Google Scholar, is a platform for literature search and information discovery.
This one-stop retrieval model achieved a unified search and access to books, scholarly articles and variety of resources which including over 900 million fulltext pages, video clips, photos and documents. It can be used as a reference tool for discovering bibliographic information and getting a preview of fulltext.
China Online Journals （万方期刊在线）
BU doesn't have a subscription for full-text access. It's an index search only.
The COJ provides indexing coverage of over 6,000 journals from China and full text to the Arts/Humanities subset. This subset has 587 journal titles with coverage from 1997 onwards.

Da Cheng Archival Database (大成故纸堆)
Comprehensive archival materials database related to Chinese history, literature, political science & etc. Includes Chinese rare books, books published during Republic period; periodicals published during Republic period, local gazetteers and history of Chinese Communist Party. Off campus access is available temporarily though ssl.binghamton.edu.
Chinese Film and Newsreel Scripts from the Cultural Revolution Online
Transcripts of documentary films, newsreels and some feature films, mostly created during the Cultural Revolution (1966-1976). Visual media was a primary propaganda tool for the government.

臺灣大學數位人文研究中心資料庫（Research Center of Digital Humanities at National Taiwan University） Over the past decade, we have achieved significant progress in the development of research methods, tools, and digital content for digital humanities. We have established a methodological framework for contextual analysis retrieval, creating 40 context analysis-oriented databases, primarily consisting of first-hand historical materials and Chinese classics related to Taiwan.
Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers
An open-source from CRL. The collection, ultimately comprising 500,000 pages from hundreds of titles published in China between 1912 and 1949. Thirteen newspapers are included so far.

National Library of China 中国国家图书馆
English Interface also available
China Academic Library and Information System 聯機公共數據庫
A union catalog of Chinese research libraries.
more...less...
CALIS higher education union catalog
National Bibliographic Information Network (NBINet) 全國圖書書目資訊網 (臺灣)
A union catalog of Taiwan libraries.
more...less...
The National Bibliographic Information Network (NBINet) is a consortium of 77 libraries in Taiwan. It's a union catalog that provides access to bibliographic records of 6.8 millions print materials and 0.4 million in other formats. Among them, 3.9 millions records are in Chinese.

Subjects: Asian & Asian American Studies