Subject Guides
Chinese Studies
Guide Contents
eBooks
Chinese history: a manual by Endymion Wikinson
| Bartle Library | DS735 .W695 2000 |
An Introduction to Chinese History and Culture by
This book breaks with convention and provides an overview of Chinese history in the form of special topics. These topics include the major issues of "A Scientific Approach to the Origins of Chinese Civilization," "Ancient Chinese Society and the Change of Dynasties," "The Golden Ages of the Han, Tang and Qing Dynasties: a Comparative Analysis," "Transportation Systems and Cultural Communication in Ancient China," "Ethnic Relations in Chinese History," "The Systems of Politics, Law and Selecting Officials in Ancient China," "Agriculture, Handicraft and Commerce in Ancient China," "The Military Thought and Military Systems of Ancient China," "The Rich and Colorful Social Life in Ancient China," "The Evolution of Ancient Chinese Thought," "The Treasure House of Ancient Chinese Literature and Art," "The Emergence and Progress of Ancient Chinese Historiography," "Reflection on Ancient Chinese Science and Technology," "New Issues in the Modern History of China," and "A General Progression to the Socialist Modernization of the People's Republic of China." The book is based on current literature and research by university students. The modern history section is relatively concise, while the topics related to ancient Chinese history are longer, reflecting the country's rich history and corresponding wealth of materials. There is also an in-depth discussion on the socialist modernization of the People's Republic of China. The book provides insights into Chinese history, allowing readers "to see the value of civilization through history; to see the preciseness of history through civilization." It focuses on the social background, lifestyle and development processes to illustrate ideologies and ideas.
ISBN: 3662464829Publication Date: 2015
Online tools
- Song Research ToolSong Research Tools is a guide to bibliographies, indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases and chronologies of use to those interested in all aspects of Chinese society during the Song Dynasty (960-1279). Peter Bol, Harvard College Professor and Charles H. Carswell Professor of East Asian Languages and Civilizations at Harvard University, published the first edition of Sung Research Tools in 1990. With the publication of the online guide in 2003 Song Research Tools went into its third edition. The online edition, last updated in November 2006, contains more than 200 new titles.
中文资料工具书
《十三經注疏 : 附校勘記》 / [阮元審定.] Special Collections Stacks PL2461.Z6 S56
*《十三經索引》 欒貴明, 田奕主編。Bartle Stacks, Oversize PL2461.Z5 S52
《二十四史》中華書局, 1997. Bartle, Oversize DS735 .E7 1997 v.1-20
《二十四史人名索引》Bartle Stacks, Oversize (*) DS735.A2 E67 1998
諸子集成 / [原輯著國學整理社] 中華書局 Bartle B126 .Z485 1954 v.1-8
宋元學案 : 100卷 / 黄宗羲原本 ; 黄百家纂輯 ; 全祖望修定 Special Collections AC149 .S78
明儒學案 / 黃宗羲著 ; 沈芝盈點校. Bartle Stacks AZ791 .H798 2008 v.1-2
