Subject Guides
Guide Contents
About China
Tools
Databases
- ACLS Humanities E-BookCollection of over 1400 full-text, cross searchable books covering topics of interest to historians and humanities scholars.
- Alternative Press IndexIndexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Includes selected abstracts from research journals. With the ability to search in Chinese.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesContains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.
- Britannica Online
Encyclopedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Year in Review, World Atlas and an Internet Guide.
- China and the Modern WorldDigital archive collections consisting of monographs, manuscripts, periodicals, correspondence and letters, historical photos, ephemera, and other kinds of historical documents published in or about China from 1817 until 1950.
- JSTORPrimarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well. For Asian studies related search, use "Advanced Search" and limit your search to Discipline(s), i.e. "Asian Studies" (26).
- Nexis Uni
NexisUni provides access to 15,000+ news, business and legal sources. If a sign-in button appears, click the button for access.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online"Asia and the West", a sub-collection, features primary sources related to international relations between Asian countries and the West during the nineteenth century. It includes government reports, diplomatic correspondences, periodicals, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, NGO papers, and more. The resource allows scholars to explore in great detail the history of British and U.S. foreign policy and diplomacy; Asian political, economic, and social affairs; the Philippine Insurrection; the Opium Wars; the Boxer Rebellion; missionary activity in Asia; and many other topics.
- Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993This collection contains unique primary source documents relating to the demonstrations which occurred throughout China from mid-April through June 1989, focusing particularly on Tiananmen Square These essential primary source materials include public mail, memoranda, reports, cables, meeting notes, and news clippings. They provide a day-by-day account of events across China during this time.
Asian & Asian American Studies Librarian
Julie Wang
jwang@binghamton.edu
Contact:
LN 2301
607-777-2190
Subjects: Asian & Asian American Studies
See also
- Digital Collections for Chinese StudiesThe open-access tool helps researchers locate digital collections for Chinese studies and easily navigate resources such as archival materials, oral history, rare books, images and datasets. You can click the Advanced Search and Browse Function above to search collections by insitution name, subject area, language, keyword, format and etc.
