Subject Guides

Spanish

Databases, web resources and printed materials of use in the field of Spanish language and literatures.

Guide Contents

Finding Images including Manuscripts

ARTstor
Digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. For assistance, contact Emily Creo.
Note: This resource will return the number of hits if it is fewer than 200. Otherwise, it will report 'Hits were found'. In either case, a link to results is provided.
Europeana Collections
European is a collection of millions of types of digital resources from Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections, including books, images, sound and video. See Find and Using Streaming Video for information.

Gallica
Gallica est la bibliothèque numérique de la Bibliothèque nationale de France et de ses partenaires. En ligne depuis 1997, elle s’enrichit chaque semaine de milliers de nouveautés et offre aujourd’hui accès à plusieurs millions de documents. It currently includes digitized versions of over 633,000 books and many more thousand maps, videos, manuscripts and other documents.

You can find all of the image databases Binghamton University subscribes to and those that are open access at the Art & Architectural History Subject Guide, Image Databases Page.

Image sources are not just online—don’t forget about print! Not everything is digitized, so be sure to look in:

Books, journals, maps, and other print material in the library
The archival holdings in Special Collections (they will help you scan images if it is safe to do so)
If it is something that you can photograph yourself (such as a historic site or building) this may be a good option.

Search Strategies for Finding Images

Searching subjects and keywords will help you locate an image; if you are having trouble locating the desired image, make sure to include as much information as you know about it. You can also generate synonyms and look at the Art & Architecture Thesaurus and Union List of Artist Names if you are not sure what something is called.

Suggested Binghamton University Libraries Databases for Spanish Language, Literature and Culture

Digitalia Hispanica
The most complete database of electronic books and journals in the Spanish language. Covers over 40,000 e-book and journal titles from countries such as Spain, Colombia, Chile, Argentina, Mexico, Peru, Dominican Republic.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
Indexes over 500,000 articles from academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, Treasures from the Film Archives, silent film holdings archives and International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
This film studies database was created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF). Coverage: 1972 - present.
Informe Academico
Full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Informe Académico provides quality reference material-not simply translations of English-language materials.
JSTOR
Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Literature Resource Center
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.Includes fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
Includes: Contemporary Authors Online, offering biographical coverage of more than 113,000 writers; Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, featuring entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95; Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, containing more than 10,000 bio-critical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars; Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, featuring 10,000 entries for authors, works, literary landmarks, literary and critical terms, mythological and folkloric figures, fictional characters, literary movements and prizes.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 6,500 sources published worldwide. Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation.
Project Muse
Humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals from several university presses.
Coverage: Varies by title; earliest from 1990.
Theatre in Video (Volume I)
Live video of the original productions of some of the most important theatre performances of the 20th century.
Theater
From the most important productions of Shakespeare to rare in-depth footage focusing on the work of Samuel Beckett, Theatre in Video, when complete, will offer more than 500 hours of online streaming video, available electronically for the first time. With live television broadcasts of New York productions from the 50s, revivals of classic works and experimental performances from the 60s and 70s, as well as important contemporary performances, Theatre in Video covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Unlike Hollywood adaptations, these are the actual original productions, captured and recorded while performed for a live theatre audience.

More databases
In addition to the main databases, there are additional resources that can also provide material related to language and literature

Web Gateways

University of Texas's Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) also links to sites by topic, and then by country.

Europeana enables the exploration of digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where useres can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage. Objects include Images (paintings, maps, pictures of museum objects); Texts (books, newspapers, diaries); Sounds (music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, radio broadcasts); Videos (films, newsreels, tv)

CIA-The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map. Includes Spain as well as many Spanish-speaking nations.

Citation Searching with Web of Science

This is a great way to find more articles that are related to the article you found!

Citation searching is the process of going both backward and forward in time to learn about the works that influenced an author (by looking at who they cited) and who the author themselves influenced (by looking at who cited them). It is a great way to see more publications related to your article of interest.

Web of Science (WoS) is still recognized as the first place to go when you are looking for citation information for most scientific disciplines. After doing a search, you will be able to see the number of times each article has been cited to the right of each listing. The number is a link that will take you to the actual articles (if they are in WoS).

Once you go into a record (click on the article title) you will have access to more information, including citation information. On the right you will see the number of times cited as well and the number of citations in the article you are currently looking at. Both of these numbers are links to the actual articles.

Citation Searching with Google Scholar

Google Scholar (GS) also provides citation information and has recently paired up with Web of Science (WoS) to show their citation information as well. GS's cited numbers include duplicates of what is provided in WoS as well as some book chapters, conference proceedings, and other documents which aren't included in WoS. GS also sometimes duplicates citations leading to inaccurate numbers. For both these reasons, the number of times cited in GS is often larger than that in WoS. It is still a good way to find similar articles and to get a general idea of citation numbers, especially for items not in WoS.

(Note that the WoS numbers and links only show up if you are on campus or logged in by vpn - ssl.binghamton.edu).

For more information and tips on using Google Scholar see the box on the front page of this guide.

Subject Librarian

Emily Creo

Contact:

Bartle Library LN-2302
ecreo@binghamton.edu

Subjects: Art & Architectural History, Art & Design, French, Italian, Music, Spanish, Theater

Anti-Racist Resources and Materials

Anti-Racism Research & Resource Guide
by Jen Embree Last Updated Jul 17, 2024 854 recent views

Archive of Hispanic Literature From the Library of Congress

Archive of Hispanic Literature on Tape
Listen to audio recordings of prominent Hispanic writers including Nobel Laureates Gabriel García Márquez, Juan Ramón Jiménez, Gabriela Mistral, Pablo Neruda, and Octavio Paz, and renowned writers Jorge Amado, Jorge Luis Borges, and Julio Cortázar reading from their works at the Library of Congress.

The Archive of Hispanic Literature on Tape at the Library of Congress dates back to 1943. It contains nearly seven-hundred recordings of poets and prose writers participating in sessions at the Library’s Recording Laboratory and at other locations around Spain and Latin America. To date, writers from thirty-two countries are represented in this collection which includes readings in Spanish, Portuguese, Catalan, French, Náhuatl, Zapotec, Aymara, English and Dutch.
Hispanic Reading Room at the Library of Congress
Includes online exhibits and digital collections on literature, government and military, and history and culture. The reading room, named after the Hispanic Society in New York, was dedicated in 1939 to serve as a focal point to orient and assist readers interested in the Luso-Hispanic materials available throughout the Library of Congress. The Hispanic Reading Room is the primary access point for research related to Iberia, Latin America, and the Caribbean; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinos in the U.S., and peoples of Portuguese or Spanish heritage in Africa, Asia, and Oceania.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Contains scholarly assessments of publications related to Latin America, from the 1930s to the present, including books, articles, maps, e-resources, and more. This database contains bibliographic records found in the Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) from the 1970s to the present. HLAS includes annotated citations for books, journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, maps and atlases, and e-resources.

The Tables of Contents page provides links to bibliographic review essays that contextualize scholarly trends and publications.

Last Updated: Sep 25, 2024 3:40 PM
URL: https://libraryguides.binghamton.edu/spanish
Print Page

Subjects: Comparative Literature, Spanish