Indexes over 500,000 articles from academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, Treasures from the Film Archives, silent film holdings archives and International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
This film studies database was created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF). Coverage: 1972 - present.
The Historical Dictionary of Spanish Cinema provides a better understanding of the role Spanish cinema has played in film history through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on producers, directors, film companies, actors, and films.
Performance and Spanish film is the first book to provide a detailed study of screen acting in Spanish film. With fifteen original essays by leading scholars of Spanish film, the book casts light on the manifold meanings, methods and influences of Spanish screen performance, from the silent era to the present day. The fine-grained study of acting in each chapter also provides a means of exploring broader questions surrounding Spanish film practices, culture and society.
Spanish Cinema by Rob Stone
Call Number: Fine Arts Stacks PN1993.5.S7 S76 2002
Publication Date: 2001-11-14
The book aims to provide a broad introduction to Spanish Cinema, the nine chapters divided into four types: chapters on Spanish Cinema during the Dictatorship and following the transition to democracy survey current debate and opinion while tracing the development of themes and film movements throughout those periods.
Contemporary Spanish Cinema and Genre by Jay Beck (Editor); Vicente Rodríguez Ortega (Editor)
Call Number: Fine Arts Stacks PN1993.5.S7 C66 2008
Publication Date: 2008-12-01
This volume is the first English-language collection exclusively dedicated to the study of genre in relation to Spanish cinema. This collection provides a thorough investigation of contemporary Spanish cinema within a transnational framework, by positing cinematic genres as the meeting spaces between a variety of diverse forces that necessarily operate within but also across territorial spaces. Paying close attention to the specifics of the Spanish cinematic and social panorama, the essays investigate the transnational economic, cultural and aesthetic forces at play in shaping Spanish film genres today.