Spanish

Finding Images

 

You can find all of the image databases Binghamton University subscribes to and those that are open access at the Art & Architectural History Subject Guide, Image Databases Page.

 

Image sources are not just onlinedon’t forget about print! Not everything is digitized, so be sure to look in:

  • Books, journals, maps, and other print material in the library
  • The archival holdings in Special Collections (they will help you scan images if it is safe to do so)
  • If it is something that you can photograph yourself (such as a historic site or building) this may be a good option.

 

Search Strategies for Finding Images

Searching subjects and keywords will help you locate an image; if you are having trouble locating the desired image, make sure to include as much information as you know about it. You can also generate synonyms and look at the Art & Architecture Thesaurus and Union List of Artist Names if you are not sure what something is called.

Suggested Binghamton University Libraries Databases for Spanish Language, Literature and Culture

Web Gateways

University of Texas's Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) also links to sites by topic, and then by country.

Europeana enables the exploration of digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where useres can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage. Objects include Images (paintings, maps, pictures of museum objects);  Texts (books, newspapers, diaries); Sounds (music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, radio broadcasts); Videos (films, newsreels, tv)

CIA-The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map. Includes Spain  as well as many Spanish-speaking nations.

Citation Searching with Web of Science

This is a great way to find more articles that are related to the article you found!

Citation searching is the process of going both backward and forward in time to learn about the works that influenced an author (by looking at who they cited) and who the author themselves influenced (by looking at who cited them). It is a great way to see more publications related to your article of interest.

Web of Science (WoS) is still recognized as the first place to go when you are looking for citation information for most scientific disciplines. After doing a search, you will be able to see the number of times each article has been cited to the right of each listing. The number is a link that will take you to the actual articles (if they are in WoS). 

 

Once you go into a record (click on the article title) you will have access to more information, including citation information. On the right you will see the number of times cited as well and the number of citations in the article you are currently looking at. Both of these numbers are links to the actual articles. 

Citation Searching with Google Scholar

Google Scholar (GS) also provides citation information and has recently paired up with Web of Science (WoS) to show their citation information as well. GS's cited numbers include duplicates of what is provided in WoS as well as some book chapters, conference proceedings, and other documents which aren't included in WoS. GS also sometimes duplicates citations leading to inaccurate numbers. For both these reasons, the number of times cited in GS is often larger than that in WoS. It is still a good way to find similar articles and to get a general idea of citation numbers, especially for items not in WoS.

Screenshot of Google Scholar search showing cited by numbers.

(Note that the WoS numbers and links only show up if you are on campus or logged in by vpn - ssl.binghamton.edu)

For more information and tips on using Google Scholar see the box on the front page of this guide.

Archive of Hispanic Literature From the Library of Congress