Subject Guides

Anti-Racism Research & Resource Guide

An Introduction to this Guide

Welcome. This guide provides a curated selection of resources and materials on topics related to anti-racism, racial justice, and systemic racism. This guide seeks to provide support to those that are interested in learning more about these topics and provide a launching point for those interested in conducting research on these subjects. In addition, this guide can also serve as a resource for instructors who are interested in diversifying or decolonizing their course readings and resources. The guide is a living document, and will change, adapt, and evolve based on feedback and community input.

Note: This guide includes materials and resources that either freely available online or are provided by the Binghamton University Libraries to the Binghamton community. Some books, databases, and articles may require you to login using your Binghamton University credentials to get access.

Explore the Anti-Racism Research & Resource Guide

To explore all of the resources included in this guide, click on the tabs located on the left-hand side of this page or see below for a table of contents.

Anti-Racism Resources: Getting Started

Anti-Racism Resources: Where to Start.This page provides a featured list of books, articles, a/v, and additional resources that provide information on issues such as white supremacy, systemic racism, racial oppression, and anti-racism.

Resources By Subject

Resources by Subject. This section provides a variety of resources that address issues of racism, systemic racism, and racial justice as it pertains to different subject areas. See the subject areas covered below:

Arts & Culture
Resources that focus on issues related to race and racism in the fields of arts and cultural studies. Topics include racism and anti-racism in film, TV, art, photography, dance and more.
The Environment
Resources that focus on issues related to race and racism and the environment. Topics include industrial pollution, population mobility, indigenous rights, and more.
Food, Food Justice, & Food Insecurity
Resources that focus on issues related to race and racism in the fields of food and food justice. Topics include food insecurity, food accessibility, and food sustainability.
Gender & Sexuality
Resources that focus on issues related to race and racism in relation to feminism and gender studies. Topics include Black feminism, anti-racism feminism, sexual politics, violence against women of color and LGBT+ communities, and more.
Healthcare
Resources that focus on issues related to race and racism in the healthcare field. Topics include COVID-19 and racism, patient care, and more.
Housing
Resources that focus on issues related to race and racism in regards to topics on housing. Topics include segregation by design, gentrification, and more.
Policing & The Justice System
Resources that focus on issues related to race and racism in connection with policing & the justice system. Topics include police brutality, biased sentencing, and more.
Politics & Voter Suppression
Resources that focus on issues related to race and racism on topics related to politics & voter suppression. Topics include Voter ID laws, gerrymandering, and more.
Technology & AI
Resources that focus on issues related to race and racism in the fields of technology and AI. Topics include facial recognition, biased algorithms, and more.

Special Topics

Special Topics. This section provides resources on more specific/specialized topics, issues, or events related to racism, anti-racism, systemic racism, and racial justice. See a list of special topics below:

Covid-19 and Anti-Asian Racism
A list of resources that focus on the rise of anti-Asian sentiment and racism in the United States.
Voter Suppression Efforts Post-2020 Election
A list of resources that discuss voter suppression efforts that have arisen after the 2020 election.

Celebrating Black Voices

Celebrating Black Voices. This page highlights books, articles, videos, podcasts, and additional resources that celebrate Black literature, art, and culture.

Resources on Decolonizing Curricula

Resources on Decolonizing Curricula. This page provides resources that can help support instructors that are interested in learning more about decolonizing their curricula and incorporating anti-racism into their pedagogy.

Anti-Racism Resources for Higher Education

Anti-Racism Resources for Higher Education. This page provides resources that can help support faculty, staff, and students operating within the higher education system engage in anti-racism efforts.

Comprehensive List of Resources

Comprehensive List of Resources (Click Here for Access): There are hundreds of resources that are included on this guide across several different pages. We understand it may be hard to search and find resources across all of these different pages, and so we have created a searchable Comprehensive List of Resources that includes all of the resources referenced in this guide.

Note: The guide is updated periodically during the year with new resources. We do our best to reflect these changes in the Comprehensive List in a timely manner, but there may be resources listed on the guide that are not yet incorporated into this list. If you notice any resources missing from this list, please feel free to let us know by filling out our feedback form here and we will do our best to add those resources as soon as we are able.