It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Binghamton University Libraries would like to acknowledge with respect the Onondaga Nation, firekeepers of the Haudenosaunee, the indigenous peoples on whose ancestral lands Binghamton University currently stands.
Are We Missing Anything?
If you have additional resources you'd like to recommend or would like to provide us with any feedback about the guide, please feel free to fill out this feedback form.
"What's CODE SWITCH? It's the fearless conversations about race that you've been waiting for! Hosted by journalists of color, our podcast tackles the subject of race head-on." (From Code Switch Website)
Scene on Radio is a podcast that tells stories exploring human experience and American society. Produced and hosted by John Biewen, Scene on Radio comes from the Center for Documentary Studies (CDS) at Duke University and is distributed by PRX.
" Join host Rebecca Carroll for 15 essential conversations about race in a pivotal moment for America. She talks to great thinkers, writers, and artists about faith, representation, white fragility, and how it’s all playing out in 2020." (From WNYC Studios)
Professor Ibram X. Kendi, author of How to Be an Antiracist and Director of the Antiracist Research and Policy Center at American University, talks with Brene Brown about racial disparities, policy, and equality.
Historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Materials includes newspapers, dissertations, abolitionist papers, and oral interviews. See the Binghamton University Libraries Center for the 1960s.
Comprised of several cross-searchable, component databases: Schomburg studies on the Black experience, International index of Black periodicals (IIBP), the Chicago defender, ProQuest dissertations for Black studies, Black literature index, ProQuest Black newspapers, Black abolitionist papers, and the HistoryMakers® archive of filmed oral history interviews of 20th century African Americans
A landmark electronic collection of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders covering nearly three centuries of history. It showcases the writings of teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures.
In addition to the most familiar works, the collection shares previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.
Includes dozens of rare primary source documents organized by topic/ focus which span European colonialism, 1960s social movements, womens' rights, African-American civil rights, the Holocaust, and the Tiananmen Square protest.
*America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations, The Vietnam Veterans Against the War
*American Indian Movement (AIM) and Native American Radicalism
*Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League
*Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle
*Black Nationalism and the Revolutionary Action Movement: The Papers of Muhammad Ahmad (Max Stanford)
*British Mandate in Palestine, Arab-Jewish Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Jerusalem, 1920-1944
*Bush Presidency And Development And Debate Over Civil Rights Policy And Legislation
*Changing Men Collection Digital Archive
*Civil Rights & Social Activism in AL: Papers of John LeFlore, 1926-76 and the Records of the Non-Partisan Voters League, 1956-87
*Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
*County and Regional Histories & Atlases: New York, 1804-1966
*European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century (French Colonialism in Africa: 1910-1930, German Colonies, 1930-1939; Italian Colonies, 1930-1939; Political and Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies in Africa, 1910-1929)
*Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman
*FBI Files: Assassination of Martin Luther King, JR.; American POWs/MIAs in Southeast Asia; Hollywood and J. Edgar Hoover: * *Communists in the Motion Picture Industry; War on Poverty: Office of Civil Rights, 1965-1968; Watergate; We We Prepared for the Possibility of Death, Freedom Riders in the South, 1961-1962
*FBI Surveillance of James Forman and SNCC
*FDR/New Deal & Race Relations 1933-1945
*Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s
*Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
*Federal Surveillance of the Partido Independentista Puertorriqueño (P.R. Independence Party)
*Fight For Racial Justice And The Civil Rights Congress
*Final Accountability Rosters Of Evacuees: Japanese-American Relocation Centers/1944-1946
*German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941
*Grassroots Civil Rights and Social Action: Council for Social Action, 1934-1956
*Holocaust And Records Of Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution Of Nazi War Crimes
*Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968
*Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West’s Response to Jewish Emigration
*Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military, 1963
*International Women’s Movement: The Pan Pacific Southeast Asia Women’s Association of the USA, 1950-1985
*Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives On Day-To-Day Life
*James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
*Jewish Question: Records from the Berlin Document Center
*Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection
*JFK’s Foreign Affairs and International Crises, 1961-1963
*Johnson Administration and Foreign Affairs
*Legal Battle for Civil Rights in AL: Vernon Z. Crawford Records, 1958-78 Civil Rights Cases
*Liberation Movement in Africa and African America
*Liberia and the US: Nation-Building in Africa, 1864-1935
*Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers’ Project
*Minutemen, 1963-1969: Evolution of the Militia Movement in America, Part I
*National Farm Worker Ministry: Mobilizing Support for Migrant Workers, 1939-1985
*Nazi Bank and Financial Institutions: U.S. Military Government Investigation Reports 1945-1949
*Nazism In Poland: The Diary Of Governor-General Hans Frank
*Nixon Administration and Foreign Affairs
*Nuremburg Laws And Nazi Annulment Of Jewish German Nationality
*Observer: News for the American Soldier in Vietnam, 1962-1973
*Palestine and Israel: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1959
*Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement
*Papers of the Nixon Administration: The President’s Confidential and Subject Special Files, 1969-1974
*Politics, Social Activism and Community Support: Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newsletters
*Psychological Warfare and Propaganda in World War II: Air Dropped and Shelled Leaflets and Periodicals
*Quest For Labor Equality In Household Work: National Domestic Workers Union/1965-1979
*Rastafari Ephemeral Publications from the Written Rastafari Archives Project
*Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement
*Safehaven Reports On Nazi Looting Of Occupied Countries And Assets In Neutral Countries
*Sunday School Movement and Its Curriculum
*Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2006
*Testaments to the Holocaust Digital Archive
*Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993
*Transcripts of the Malcolm X Assassination Trial
*U.S. Military Activities & Civil Rights: Integration of University of MS Use of Military Force, 1961-63
*U.S. Military Activities and Civil Rights: The Little Rock Integration Crisis, 1957-1958
*U.S. Military Activities and Civil Rights: Military Response to March on Washington, 1963
*Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1945
*Women's Issues and Their Advocacy Within The White House, 1974-1977
*Women Organizing Transnationally: The Committee of Correspondence, 1952-1969
Documents the ACLU’s legal battle to enforce the Civil Rights Act of 1964 in thirteen Southern states. Consists of case files, correspondence, newspaper clippings, manuscripts, etc. and offers a primary source perspective on civil rights issues from voting rights to the dismantling of the Jim Crow system.
The papers of the ACLU's Southern Regional Office offer researchers a unique view of the inner workings of the ACLU's regional offices and the organizations with which the ACLU collaborated such as the NAACP.
The collection currently includes 130 document projects and document archives with 5,200 documents and more than 185,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by more than 2,700 primary authors. The database also contains numerous collections of primary sources, including the Writings of Black Women Suffragists and Publications of State and Local Commissions on the Status of Women.
Accompanying lesson plans and related material present new ways to study American History. The Libraries subscribe to the Scholar's Edition which includes a database of publications of local, state, and federal commissions on the status of women between 1963 and 2005. The women's commissions database currently hasabout 1,900 publications, 90,000 pages of primary sources, and 8 scholarly essays.
"California Newsreel has produced and distributed cutting-edge social issue films for activists and educators since 1968. Today it is the oldest, independent non-profit documentary center in the country and the first systematically to integrate media production and distribution with the media needs of contemporary social change movements." For a complete list of California Newsreel films, go to http://newsreel.org/videos-alphabetical
"The #SchomburgSyllabus archives Black-authored and Black-related online educational resources to document Black studies, movements, and experiences in the 21st century. In connecting these web-archived resources to the Schomburg Center’s own unique materials, the project honors and recognizes the source and strength of Black self-education practices, collective study, and librarianship. The #SchomburgSyllabus is curated by Schomburg Center staff and organized into 27 themes to foster a greater understanding of the Black experience."
"Talking about race, although hard, is necessary. We are here to provide tools and guidance to empower your journey and inspire conversation." -Smithsonian's National Museum of African American History & Culture
"Taking the model from the American Alliance of Museums’ guides for transgender inclusion, these toolkits provide a common framework for analysis, a shared vocabulary, and best practices to address racial disparities specific to the scholarly publishing community." -From Website