Subject Guides
Anti-Racism Research & Resource Guide
Books
Articles
Popular / News Articles
- A Civil Rights Expert Explains the Social Science of Police RacismBy Lydia Denworth | Scientific American | 2020
- How racist policing took over American cities, explained by a historianBy Anna North | Vox | 2020
- More cops. Is it the answer to fighting crime?Simone Weichselbaum and Wendi C. Thomas, The Marshall Project | USA Today | 2019
- The Black Family in the Age of Mass IncarcerationBy Ta-Nehisi Coates | The Atlantic | 2015
- What does 'defund the police' mean and why some say 'reform' is not enoughBy Ryan W. Miller | USA Today | 2020
Scholarly / Academic Articles
- Big Data Surveillance: The Case of PolicingBy Sarah Brayne | American Sociological Review | 2017
- Critical Prison Studies: Review of a FieldBy Micol Seigel | American Quarterly | 2018
- The geographies of policing byBy Richard Yarwood | Progress in Human Geography | 2016
- Policing a Negotiated World: A Partial Test of Klinger’s Ecological Theory of PolicingBy Travis A Taniguchi & Christopher Salvatore | Journal of Quantitative Criminology | 2018
- Policing CritiqueBy Isabel Roele | The Modern Law Review | 2018
Podcasts and Videos
Podcasts
- 6 podcasts to help you better understand racism, policing and criminal justice problems in America | NCPRWritten by: Julia Ritchey from North Country Public Radio.
- The Code Switch Guide To Race And Policing | NPR"To help explain how the United States got to this point, we looked back at some of our coverage of race and policing, both from the podcast and the blog. (We also compiled all those episodes in a handy Spotify playlist, if that's your podcast streaming method of choice!)"
- Graham | Radiolab - WYNC Studios | 60 min."In this episode, we explore the origin of the reasonable officer standard, with the case that sent two Charlotte lawyers on a quest for true objectivity, and changed the face of policing in the US."
- Race, Police, & The Pandemic | FRONTLINE: Film Audio Track, PBS | 30 min.As streets across America erupt into clashes over racism during the coronavirus pandemic, Jelani Cobb of The New Yorker examines a connection between George Floyd’s death and the disproportionate impact of COVID-19 deaths among African Americans..."
- Race and Policing: Parts 1 and 2 | American Law Institute | 45 & 35 min.In this two-part episode Sherrilyn Ifill of the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc., Barry Friedman, New York University Law professor and director of NYU’s Policing Project, and John Malcolm of the Heritage Foundation explore the intersection of race and policing in the United States."
- American Police | Throughline - NPR | 64 min.This episode covers, "the origins of American policing and how those origins put violent control of Black Americans at the heart of the system."
- Mass Incarceration | Throughline - NPR | 48 min."The United States imprisons more people than any other country in the world, and a disproportionate number of those prisoners are Black. What are the origins of the U.S. criminal justice system and how did racism shape it?"
Videos
13th | Ava DuVernay | Youtbe/Netflix | 100 min.
History of Policing in America | Throughline | NPR | 5 min.
Policing the Black Man: A Conversation with Angela J. Davis and Sherrilyn Ifill | Open Society Foundations | 93 min.
Resources for Research
Databases
- HeinOnline Criminal Justice & CriminologyAn overview of crime, criminology and justice overview in American and English law.
Contains statistics, diaries, congressional hearings, government documents and ephemera. - HeinOnline Government, Politics and LawExtensive coverage of legal journals, treatises, legislative histories, federal laws (1925-), federal regulations (1938-), presidential documents, all U.S. treaties, and world constitutions. Also includes special law collections on slavery, women, religion and the Gun Regulation and Legislation in America database. Additional federal materials are included. Contains 80 million+ pages of content across 80,000 titles and 195,000 volumes.
- Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new windowCollection of Homeland Security policy and strategy documents from across the U.S. Government, international governments and organizations, think tanks, and research institutes. Also allows searching across 50 different government databases.
- Opposing Viewpoints
Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
- ProQuest CongressionalAccess to legislative publications including Congressional Hearings (parts A-D), U.S. Bills and Resolutions (2014-2018), laws, reports, documents, prints, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and member and committee information.
- WestlawExtensive coverage of legal materials including case law, statutes, and regulations for the U.S. government and the states. Includes Supreme Court briefs and petitions, United States Code Annotated and secondary legal sources such as American Jurisprudence 2d, American Law Reports, and law reviews.
Other Resources
- New Era of Public Safety: New Era of Public Safety: An Advocacy Toolkit for Fair, Safe, and Effective Community PolicingToolkit for fair, safe, and effective community policing.
- Innocence ProjectThe Innocence Project, founded in 1992 by Peter Neufeld and Barry Scheck at Cardozo School of Law, exonerates the wrongly convicted through DNA testing and reforms the criminal justice system to prevent future injustice.
- The Sentencing ProjectThe Sentencing Project works for a fair and effective U.S. criminal justice system by producing groundbreaking research to promote reforms in sentencing policy, address unjust racial disparities and practices, and to advocate for alternatives to incarceration.
- How to Teach Kids About What's Happening in FergusonThe Atlantic | 2014
A crowdsourced syllabus about race, African American history, civil rights, and policing
