Subject Guides

*Asian Studies

The libraries collections and other online resources related to Asia.

Guide Contents

eBooks about Asia

Brill's Publications
To access Brill’s new publications with over 3000 on Asian Studies.

ACLS Humanities E-Book
Collection of over 1400 full-text, cross searchable books covering topics of interest to historians and humanities scholars.
A collection selected by historians for their continuing importance to students and scholars. Areas include: African, American, Asian, Latin American, European (Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance, and Modern), Middle Eastern, World/Comparative, Byzantine/Mediterranean and Australasian/Oceanian history, plus history of the Native Peoples of the Americas and of Science and Technology.

Open sources

Asia-Studies Full-Text Online
Asia-Studies Full-Text Online is the premier database for the study of modern Asia Pacific. As the exclusive licensee for many of the region's most prestigious research institutions, Asia-Studies.com brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 55 countries* on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues.
CrossAsia
Google Books
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and more.
Chinamaxx Digital Libraries / Zhong wen ji xian
Free ebooks in Chinese. Client required to download and read.
California Digital Newspaper Collection
This collection contains over 1 million pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846 - present.

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
Covers over 11,000 journals in all fields of study.
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Alternative Press Index
Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Includes selected abstracts from research journals. With the ability to change the search language as needed.
The API was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change.
Gale Primary Sources
Searches the Archives Unbound Collections plus the following collections...
18th Century Collections Online
19th Century Collections Online
Archives of Sexuality & Gender
Crime, Punishment and Popular Culture, 1790-1920
Economist Historical Archive
Indigenous Peoples: North America
Political Extremism in the Twentieth Century
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection
The (London) Times Digital Archive
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Women's Studies Archive
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. Through the 1991 printed version, the BAS included citations to western-language periodical articles.
Center for Research Libraries
CRL has numerous research materials in addition to those found in their catalog. Searchable Special Collection Databases include Foreign Newspapers, U.S. Ethnic Newspapers, Current Serial Titles from the States of the Former Soviet Union, Civilian Conservation Corps Camp Papers, Foreign Doctoral Dissertations, and Current Science Serials.
Collection Highlights provides descriptions of major microform sets of special interest. Digital Collections are online image and full-text CRL collections. The CRL Handbook provides a subject listing and description of the uncatalogued CRL collections. Subject brochures of the collections are also available. Binghamton University students, faculty, and staff can borrow materials found in CRL collections through Interlibrary Loan
Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Topics covered include news, arts, business, culture, education, the environment, history, journalism, political science, sociology. Spanish language search options available.
HRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHraf is an unique cross-cultural database containing more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Includes the full text of ethnographic books, journal articles and other materials that are indexed by culture and subject.
The full-text materials are subject-indexed at the paragraph-level for precise retrieval of information on all aspects of cultural and social life. These materials are relevant to the various social science disciplines as well as the humanities and health sciences.
Humanities Source Ultimate
The database provides full-text of hundreds of journals ( i.e. Korean studies), books and other published sources from around the world.
Humanities Source provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more. Includes full-text. Coverage: 1910 - present.
JSTOR
Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Nexis Uni
NexisUni provides access to 15,000+ news, business and legal sources. If a sign-in button appears, click the button for access.
Includes full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; articles and data on businesses, corporations, industries and markets in the U.S. and abroad; magazines and trade journals; biographical information and special directories; legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
The subset of "Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange" will enable students and scholars to examine a selection of records that constitute a political and social history of Western interaction with a number of Asian countries during the nineteenth century. Most of the manuscript collections in this archive consist of the British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic records. These records were generally maintained in the local consular or diplomatic posts and reflect the day-to-day accounting of the activities of the indigenous populations and their national governments, the expansion of trade, and the exercise of extraterritorial rights and treaty provisions.
*Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
*Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
*British Politics and Society
*British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
*Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
*European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
*Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
*19th Century US Newspapers
*Photography: The World through the Lens
*Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I & II
*Women: Transnational Networks
U.S. Declassified Documents Online Many documents on the Korean War, the Vietnam War, U.S. relations with non-aligned states in the 1960s, the communist China & etc.
WorldCat
Millions of records cataloged by libraries around the world.
Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century. Materials also include books, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspaper titles, journal and magazine titles, sound recordings, videotapes, and more.
America's Historical Newspapers
Fully searchable collection of founding newspapers, documenting America's past. The Libraries subscribes to Early American Newspapers Series 1: From Colonies to Nations and Early American Newspapers Series 10: Regional Pioneers.
Academic Video Online AVON
One of the Collections in the Alexader Street is called Asian Film Online. It offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection of over 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries and more.
See Find and Using Streaming Video for information.

New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. For more recent coverage, use our Journal Title search.

Asian & Asian American Studies Librarian

Julie Wang

jwang@binghamton.edu

Email Me

Contact:

LN 2301

607-777-2190

Subjects: Asian & Asian American Studies

Asian Studies @SUNY and beyond

Related Subject Guides & Course Guides

Chinese Studies
by Julie Wang Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 855 views this year
Japanese Studies
by Julie Wang Last Updated Sep 26, 2024 14801 views this year
Korean Studies
by Julie Wang Last Updated Jan 9, 2024 7939 views this year
South Asia Studies
by Julie Wang Last Updated Jan 25, 2024 160 views this year

Last Updated: Sep 11, 2024 12:58 PM
URL: https://libraryguides.binghamton.edu/asian
Print Page

Subjects: Asian & Asian American Studies

Tags: area_studies, asian_studies, global