Subject Guides
South Asia Studies
Guide Contents
See related subject guides
Reference Materials
|
Bhutan
|
Asia is the birthplace of all the world’s major religions and hundreds of minor ones. Like all forms of culture, Asian religions may be considered geographically in terms of both their places of origin and their distribution ..... "Asia." Britannica Academic. Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc., 1 Mar. 2016 |
- Historical Atlas of South Asia by Originally published in 1978, A Historical Atlas of South Asia was received with enormous critical acclaim, variously characterized as "a landmark" and "a tour de force." This invaluable resource is welcomed back in a newly updated form, no longer depriving scholars of this outstanding achievement. The fruit of sixteen years of research, the Atlas consists of over 650 beautifully rendered original maps, most in color, detailing the ethnographic, political, and cultural changes on the Subcontinent from prehistoric times to the present. The maps are supplemented by several hundred additional charts, tables, chronologies, photographs, and line drawings, arrayed side-by-side with the maps on 149 large photographic plates. Following and complementing the plates are some 150 pages of text, keyed to the maps, outlining the history of the region--from politics to religion--in formidable detail. For this second impression, Schwartzberg and his collaborators have contributed twenty pages of additional text and bibliography, bringing the volume up-to-date through the regional census of 1991. A bibliography of over six thousand sources, a comprehensive index, and five end-pocket inserts are included to make this a classic resource. A virtual encyclopedia of South Asian history, the republication of the Atlas offers students of Asian history, geography, religion, anthropology, archaeology, and politics access to a book that has been sorely missed and unlikely to be superseded in the foreseeable future.Call Number: Bartle Library Reference (Atlases) (G2261.S1 H5 1992 )ISBN: 0195068696
An Atlas and Survey of South Asian History by
This historical atlas is devoted primarily to India, Bangladesh and Pakistan, while also covering Napal, Bhutan and Ceylon/Sri Lanka. The maps are accompanied by text which illuminates recent political, economic, social and cultural developments.
Call Number: Bartle Library Reference (Atlases) (G2261.S1 S3 1995 )ISBN: 1563243334- Global Studies: India and South Asia byCall Number: Bartle Library Reference (D414.G56 I53 1995 )ISBN: 156134379X
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan and the Maldives by Call Number: Bartle Library Reference (DS334.9 .C36 1989 )ISBN: 0521334519- Historical Dictionary of India by While building a modern economy and a democratic, secular society, India has inherited a rich civilization with an unparalleled diversity of ethnic, linguistic and religious groups going back many thousands of years. The Historical Dictionary is a rCall Number: Bartle Library Reference (DS405 .M27 1996)ISBN: 0810830787
- The Encyclopedia of World Cultures by Contents: v. 1. North America / Timothy J. O'Leary, David Levinson, volume editors. -- v. 2. Oceania. -- v. 3. South Asia / Paul Hockings. -- v. 4. Europe (central, western, and southeastern Europe) / Linda A. Bennett--v. 5. East and southeast Asia / Paul Hockings. -- v. 6. Russia snd Eurasia / China. -- v. 7. South America / Johannes Wilbert. -- v. 8. Middle America and the Caribbean / James W. Dow. -- v. 9. Africa and the Middle East / John Middleton and Amal Rassam. -- v. 10. Indexes / David Levinson. Features coverage of every Native American culture that exists today in the United States and Canada. In addition, there is full coverage of such diverse groups as Cajuns, African Americans, Amish, Mormons and Latinos.Call Number: Bartle Library Reference (GN550 .E53 1991 ) v. 3. South AsiaISBN: 0816118086
The Cambridge World Prehistory by
Vol. 1. Africa, South and Southeast Asia, and the Pacific -- vol. 2. East Asia and the Americas -- vol. 3. Western and Central Asia ; Europe and the Mediterranean.
The Cambridge World Prehistory provides a systematic and authoritative examination of the prehistory of every region around the world from the early days of human origins in Africa two million years ago to the beginnings of written history, which in some areas started only two centuries ago. Written by a team of leading international scholars, the volumes include both traditional topics and cutting-edge approaches, such as archaeolinguistics and molecular genetics, and examine the essential questions of human development around the world. The volumes are organised geographically, exploring the evolution of hominins and their expansion from Africa, as well as the formation of states and development in each region of different technologies such as seafaring, metallurgy and food production. The Cambridge World Prehistory reveals a rich and complex history of the world. It will be an invaluable resource for any student or scholar of archaeology and related disciplines looking to research a particular topic, tradition, region or period within prehistory.
Call Number: Bartle Library Reference (GN710 .C36 2014 ) Volume 1. Africa, South and Southeast Asia, and the PacificISBN: 9780521119931
South Asian Folklore by
With 600 signed, alphabetically organized articles covering the entirety of folklore in South Asia, this new resource includes countries and regions, ethnic groups, religious concepts and practices, artistic genres, holidays and traditions, and many other concepts. A preface introduces the material, while a comprehensive index, cross-references, and black and white illustrations round out the work. The focus on south Asia includes Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, with short survey articles on Tibet, Bhutan, Sikkim, and various diaspora communities. This unique reference will be invaluable for collections serving students, scholars, and the general public.
Call Number: Bartle Library Reference (GR302 .S68 2002)ISBN: 0415939194- South Asia: A bibliography for undergraduate libraries byCall Number: Bartle Library Stacks, Oversize (*) -- Z1009 .N54 no.11ISBN: 0872720160
The Routledge Atlas of South Asian Affairs by
South Asia has developed from a group of newly independent post-Colonial states of at most secondary importance to the wider world to its current position as a region of central strategic importance to both global economic development and world peace and stability. This Atlas highlights the global significance of South Asia in relation to economic, geopolitical and strategic interests. It provides a coherent descriptive and analytical account of the key elements of the complex societies that make up the region and its component countries. Illustrated with more than 100 original maps and offering concise entries on key issues, the book is structured thematically in these sections: Global Context Geographical Environments Historical Evolution of South Asia Key Issues in modern South Asia Economy and Security Designed for use in teaching undergraduate and graduate classes and seminars in geography, history, economics, anthropology, international relations, political science and the environment as well as regional courses on the South Asia, this book is also a comprehensive reference source for libraries and decision makers focusing on South Asia.
Call Number: Bartle Library Stacks -- G2261.G1 B7 2016ISBN: 9780415545129- Digital Dictionaries of South Asia The mission of the Digital Dictionaries of South Asia (DDSA) program is to make available the highest quality electronic dictionaries for South Asian languages as free public services via the Internet. DDSA encompasses languages of the current nation-states of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. A panel of language experts involved in the program has identified key dictionaries and selected at least one multilingual dictionary for each of the twenty-six modern literary languages of South Asia. For the more frequently taught languages, panelists also chose at least one monolingual dictionary for digitization.
- The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture by The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture is the most comprehensive reference work in this complex and diverse area of art history. Built on the acclaimed scholarship of the Grove Dictionary of Art, this work offers over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history. Recent changes in Islamic art in areas such as Afghanistan, Iran and Iraq are elucidated here by distinguished scholars. Entries provide in-depth art historical and cultural information about dynasties, art forms, artists, architecture, rulers, monuments, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. In addition, over 500 illustrations of sculpture, mosaic, painting, ceramics, architecture, metalwork and calligraphy illuminate the rich artistic tradition of the Islamic world. With the fundamental understanding that Islamic art is not limited to a particular region, or to a defined period of time, the Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture offers pathways into Islamic culture through its art.
- Fieldwork in South Asia memories, moments, and experiences by Fieldwork in South Asia is a valuable attempt to listen and learn from the memories and significant moments of fieldwork done by anthropologists, sociologists, and even historians from South Asia. The essays lead towards a deeper understanding of concerns of fieldwork located in various field sites across South Asia without assuming or applying fixed normative rules for the whole region. In the process, the volume allows the reader to have an option to locate or relocate ethnographic or other forms of texts in the context of … Show more
Asian & Asian American Studies Librarian
Julie Wang
jwang@binghamton.edu
Contact:
LN 2301
607-777-2190
Subjects: Asian & Asian American Studies
South Asia Studies at Binghamton University offers students the opportunity to study the social, cultural and intellectual history of the nations of South Asia, a region often defined to include India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nepal and Sri Lanka.
