Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Subject Guides
- *Asian Studies
- Reference materials
*Asian Studies
Guide Contents
Reference
Encyclopedia of Asian History by Call Number: Ref. DS31 .E53 1988 v.1-4ISBN: 0684186195
Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy by
Incorporating cultural and religious contexts, this unique Encyclopedia provides a vital guide to the main concepts and thinkers in Asian philosophy - starting with Abhidharma and ending with Zurvan. The main philosophical trends and thinkers in each geographical area are featured, with an emphasis on endtemporary developments and movements. The A-Z structured encyclopedia emphasizes that Asian philosophy is not merely an ancient form of thought but that it is a living philosophy, with roots in the past, and also a potent and animate presence today. This translates into the reciprocal exchange of theories between Eastern and Western thinking, for example of new schools of thought such as orientalism. Requiring no prior knowledge of philosophy, religion or Asian cultures, this book is essential reading for students, teachers and the interested individual who wishes to gain an understanding of the philosophical basis to Asian cultural systems.
Call Number: Ref. B121 .E53 2001ISBN: 0415172810Publication Date: 2001
A Dictionary of Asian Mythology by
Meet the elephant-headed Hindu god Ganesa, and Chang O, the Lunar Toad who is Chinese goddess of the Moon. In handy A-to-Z format, here are the stories of the revered deities, sacred places, key events and epics, and recurring themes and traditions that make up the rich and varied fabric of Asian mythology. Entries address the key mythologies of India, China, Tibet, Central Asia, Southeast Asia, and Japan.
Call Number: Ref. BL1005 .L46 2001ISBN: 0195120523Publication Date: 2001
International historical statistics, 1750-2010ISBN: 9781137305688
Asia Inside Out by
The first of three volumes surveying the historical, spatial, and human dimensions of inter-Asian connections, Asia Inside Out: Changing Times brings into focus the diverse networks and dynamic developments that have linked peoples from Japan to Yemen over the past five centuries. Each author examines an unnoticed moment-a single year or decade-that redefined Asia in some important way. Heidi Walcher explores the founding of the Safavid dynasty in the crucial battle of 1501, while Peter C. Perdue investigates New World silver's role in Sino-Portuguese and Sino-Mongolian relations after 1557. Victor Lieberman synthesizes imperial changes in Russia, Burma, Japan, and North India in the seventeenth century, Charles Wheeler focuses on Zen Buddhism in Vietnam to 1683, and Kerry Ward looks at trade in Pondicherry, India, in 1745. Nancy Um traces coffee exports from Yemen in 1636 and 1726, and Robert Hellyer follows tea exports from Japan to global markets in 1874. Anand Yang analyzes the diary of an Indian soldier who fought in China in 1900, and Eric Tagliacozzo portrays the fragility of Dutch colonialism in 1910. Andrew Willford delineates the erosion of cosmopolitan Bangalore in the mid-twentieth century, and Naomi Hosoda relates the problems faced by Filipino workers in Dubai in the twenty-first. Moving beyond traditional demarcations such as West, East, South, and Southeast Asia, this interdisciplinary study underscores the fluidity and contingency of trans-Asian social, cultural, economic, and political interactions. It also provides an analytically nuanced and empirically rich understanding of the legacies of Asian globalization.
ISBN: 0674598504Publication Date: 2015
Dictionaries of Asian Languages (selected)
Arabic-English/English-Arabic Practical Dictionary by
An essential resource for students of Arabic and English alike, this dictionary contains the most up-to- date vocabulary in handy reference form! With more than 18,000 entries, it is especially useful in navigating the growing terminology of politics, telecommunications, technology, the internet, tourism, business and travel. Ideal for students, scholars, businesspeople, journalists, aid workers, and the military in both English-speaking and Arabic-speaking countries. Features include: : More than 18,000 total entries Clear language, pronunciation, and grammar for both sides Easy-to-read format and practical arrangement of Arabic and English entries Arabic provided with Romanized transliterations English provided with phonetic transliterations
Call Number: Ref. PJ6640 .A934 2004ISBN: 0781810450Publication Date: 2004
The Oxford Hindi-English Dictionary by
The first new Hindi-English dictionary in over a century, The Oxford Hindi-English Dictionary is the comprehensive reference to modern standardized language, both spoken and literary. Students of Hindi and South Asian studies of all kinds will find extensive coverage of historical Hindi, together with the most up-to-date colloquial and literary vocabulary. In addition, the Urdu vocabulary of Hindi is well represented.
Call Number: Ref. PK1936 .M34 1993ISBN: 0198643179Publication Date: 1994- Dictionary of Urdu, Classical Hindi and English byCall Number: Ref. PK1986 .P4ISBN: 0198643098
- Practical Sanskrit-English dictionary byCall Number: Ref. PK933 .A65 v.1-3
- Oxford Turkish Dictionary byCall Number: Ref. PL190 .I9 1992ISBN: 0198641907
- New model English-Thai dictionary byCall Number: Ref. PL4187 .S4 v.1-2
- Vietnamese-English, English Vietnamese Dictionary byCall Number: Ref. PL4376 .L48 1975ISBN: 0804403104
- Concise English-Tagalog dictionary byCall Number: Ref. PL6056 .P3
