Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Subject Guides
- *Asian Studies
- Asian Emigration and Immigration
*Asian Studies
Guide Contents
Useful subject headings
Immigrants -- Government policy -- United States
Asians -- Government policy -- United States -- History
Immigrants -- Government policy -- United States -- History
Asians -- Government policy -- United States -- History
United States -- Emigration and immigration -- Government policy – History
Asia -- Emigration and immigration
Emigration and immigration -- Government policy
Reference
Contemporary Immigration in America: a state-by-state encyclopedia by
State and local immigration issues and policies for all 50 states are thoroughly examined in this unique, up-to-date, and accessibly written encyclopedia. * Offers topical essays on all 50 U.S. states, covering the history of immigration, state and local policies, and the contributions of various ethnic groups * Provides readers with a big-picture understanding of immigration activity for each state over the past 50 years * Includes chronologies, historical overviews, and topical essays that provide important background and place major events and legislation in context * Offers a "notable figures/groups" section with biographical and group profiles highlighting the contributions made by particular individuals and organizations in relation to immigration
Call Number: JV6465 .C745 2015ISBN: 9780313399176
Encyclopedia of Asian American Issues Today by
Encyclopedia of Asian American Issues Today is the first major reference work focused on the full expanse of contemporary Asian American experiences in the United States. Drawing on over two decades of research, it takes an unprecedented look at the major issues confronting the Asian American community as a whole, and the specific ethnic identities within that communityaefrom established groups such as Chinese, Japanese, and Korean Americans to newer groups such as Cambodian and Hmong Americans.Across two volumes, Encyclopedia of Asian American Issues Today offers 110 entries on the current state of affairs, controversies, successes, and outlooks for future for Asian Americans. The set is divided into 11 thematic sections including diversity and demographics; education; health; identity; immigrants, refugees, and citizenship; law; media; politics; war; work and economy; youth, family, and the aged. Contributors include leading experts in the fields of Asian American studies, education, public health, political science, law, economics, and psychology."
ISBN: 9780313347504- The History and Immigration of Asian Americans byCall Number: E184.O6 H58 1998ISBN: 0815326904
Oriental Bodies by
Oriental Bodies charts the discursive transformations of U.S. immigration policy between 1875 and 1942. Author James Tyner concentrates on the confluence of eugenics, geopolitics, and Orientalism as these intersect in the debates surrounding the exclusion of immigrants from China, Japan, and the Philippines. This unique work argues that United States immigration policy was founded on a particular discourse of eugenics and geopolitics and that this concentration was informed by a greater Orientalist discourse. Drawing from American foreign policy, identity politics, post-structuralism, post-colonialism, and feminist theory, this fascinating study seeks to examine the construction of "Oriental bodies" within the emergence of U.S. immigration policy and explores how these constructions served political, social, and economic interests.
Call Number: JV6483 .T95 2006ISBN: 0739112961
Related Dissertation and Theses
- Reconstruction's labor: The Asian worker in narratives of United States culture and history, 1890--1930 /by Yang, Caroline Building on W.E.B. Du Bois's argument in Black Reconstruction in America (1935) that the representations of the black worker in dominant Reconstruction historiography shaped the discourse of "the color-line" in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century United States, this dissertation argues that the historical, literary, and legal narratives of this period constructed and deployed the "Asiatic" as an ambiguous figure of racialized labor that could be cast to narrate the history of the United States as a history of immigration and assimilation, even as it simultaneously revealed that history to be one of slavery and imperialism founded on racialized notions of freedom and labor. I contend that reading the Asian worker as a category of critique situated in the context of emancipation and Reconstruction exposes the contradictions in liberalism and capitalism rooted in U.S. slavery, which was reworked into a system of global exploitation and empire during Reconstruction. The very notion of a black-white racial binary in the United States, I argue, was produced against the racial formation and exclusion of the non-white Asiatic. As such, in the anti-racist fiction of Charles Chesnutt and Sui Sin Far, representations of the Asiatic reveal the ways in which the discourse of race in the post-Reconstruction United States has worked to produce and naturalize knowledge on American citizenship as a stratified category of privilege based on a binary notion of race. By tracing the shifts in the definition of the "Asian worker"--effected through not only fragmentation, incorporation, and elision of the figure but also the spatialization of the "Asiatic Question" as a problem of the West divorced from the spatialization of the "Negro Problem" in the South--this dissertation calls for a practice of reading that challenges narratives of assimilation that reproduce American exceptionalism and the abstraction of labor, and seeks possible ways of envisioning a politics of emancipation within Asian American studies.
- Migrants between empires and nations: The Chinese in Cuba, 1874--1959 / by Lopez, Kathleen This dissertation examines the transition of Chinese from indentured to free laborers in the late nineteenth century, and the formation of transnational communities in the early twentieth century. Between 1847 and 1874 tens of thousands of men from southeastern Guangdong Province went to Cuba as indentured labor for sugar plantations, providing labor prior to and during the period of gradual abolition of slavery. Restricted during the U.S. occupations (1899-1902 and 1906-1909) and in the early years of the first and second Cuban republics, Chinese immigration was re-initiated in response to a demand for agricultural workers to boost sugar production during World War I. This dissertation examines how racist ideology (in the Spanish colony, the U.S.-occupied island, or the Cuban republics), a multiethnic society, class stratification among Chinese immigrants, kinship and commercial networks, and the gender imbalance converged to shape Chinese experiences in Cuba. While extensive scholarship exists on Asian indentured labor in the Americas, less is known about the subsequent transition of Asians to free agricultural wage earners and small entrepreneurs. Chinese made this transition through various mechanisms, including engagement with the legal system, property acquisition, marriage, interracial alliances, and Chinese networks and associations. Unlike the majority of indentured laborers, many free Chinese migrants in the early twentieth century were able to sustain robust transnational ties to their home villages through remittances and return trips. This dissertation investigates the nature of these relations, including the maintenance of families, education of children, and philanthropic activities. By demonstrating how integration and transnationalism may coexist, this study replaces notions of the Chinese diaspora that define migrants as either "sojourners" or "settlers" with a portrait of an early and interactive "globalization" of labor, politics, and commerce. Through archival and ethnographic fieldwork and a microhistorical approach, this dissertation investigates several villages in the sending regions of China and the Cuban port city of Cienfuegos and its sugar-producing hinterland. It utilizes plantation records, notarial, judicial, merchant, association, and civil records, remittance data, newspapers, and memoirs, drawing upon Chinese-, Spanish-, and English-language sources to trace life histories as well as collective experiences.
Primary sources
- American Memory ProjectPrimary source materials from the Library of Congress. There are 6 collections on the topic of Immigration, American Expansion.
- Japanese Emigration to Brazil (NDL of Japan)The year 2008 marked 100 years since emigration of Japanese to Brazil started in 1908. We have taken this opportunity to present a digital exhibition on Japanese emigration to Brazil. The materials include such documents as handwritten diaries, letters and notes, photos and printed materials, as well such publications as books, newspapers and magazines in Japanese published in Brazil, Peru, Hawaii and other countries.
Video clip from Youtube
Across land, across sea.
Wheeling, IL : Film Ideas c2013] bing aleph
Newcomb Reading Room (DVD) (HN730.6.A8 A257 2013 )
