Subject Guides
*Asian Studies
Guide Contents
Books in the Libraries' Collection
Women's Roles Through History by ISBN: 9780313397493Publication Date: 2013This insightful book examines women's lives across Asia, challenging typical stereotypes and providing a fresh look at the changing role of women in various regions of the vast continent.
Women's Working Lives in East Asia by Call Number: HD6196 .W66 2001ISBN: 0804741492Publication Date: 2002One of the most dramatic economic changes of the past century has been the increase in married women working outside the home. This volume examines the nature of married women' s participation in the economies of three East Asian countries;Japan, Taiwan, and South Korea.
Women and Confucian Cultures in Premodern China, Korea, and Japan by Call Number: HQ1767 .W64 2003ISBN: 0520231384Publication Date: 2003The authors discuss the absence of women in the Confucian canonical tradition and examine the presence of women in politics, family, education, and art in premodern China, Korea, and Japan.
Visualizing Beauty by Call Number: HQ1220.E18 V57 2012ISBN: 9789888083893Publication Date: 2012Eight essays present a broad range of visual products that informed concepts of beauty and womanhood, including fashion, interior design magazines, newspaper illustrations, and paintings of and by women.
Democracy and the Status of Women in East Asia by ISBN: 1555878881Publication Date: 2000This collection examines how the processes of modernization and democratization have affected women in East Asia.
Primary Souces
Women Workers in Industrialising Asia by Call Number: HD6181.85 .W6535 2004ISBN: 0333962931This collection is an important comparative study that covers the major East, South and Southeast Asian countries. It explores the diversity of women's work in factory and small-batch production and home-based work.- Women workers of the Orient. byPublication Date: 1918Library has mircrofilm version, can also access online version From Open Library
- Eastern women today and tomorrow byPublication Date: 1933Subjects: Missions -- East Asia; Women -- East Asia;
- As we were journeying: the Hawaiian Islands, Japan, China, Siam, Java and India, as seen from a girl's point of view byChicago: Blakely Printing Co. 1900 HathiTrust
Subjects: East Asia--Description And Travel--1800-1900 ; Hawaii--Description And Travel--1800-1900
- Archives UnboundOne of the collections entitled: International Women’s Movement: The Pan Pacific Southeast Asia Women’s Association of the USA, 1950-1985.
Date Range: 1938-2006
Content: 9,921 images
Source Library: Sophia Smith Collection, Smith College - Women and Social Movements, International, 1840 to PresentOnline archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century.
《列女傳 》- Lie Nü Zhuan = The biographies of Chinese women
- 古列女傳 劉向, 77 B. C-6? B.C.Subjects: Women -- China -- Biography; China -- Social life and customs
Related Titles: Series: 四部叢刊初編 ; 15; 四部叢刊初編縮本; 四部叢刊初編. 史部
Bartle, AC149 .S84 1975 v.15 - Ko Retsujoden. Onna shisho 古列女傳. 女四書Subjects: Women--China--Biography ; Women--China--Conduct Of Life ; China--Social Life And Customs
Text in Japanese, with Chinese original - Exemplary women of early China : the Lienü zhuan of Liu XiangTranslated by Anne Behnke Kinney
Bartle Library Stacks (CT3710 .L5813 2014 ) - Typical women of China : translated from a popular native work on the virtues, words, deportment, and employment of the women of ChinaShanghai : Kelly & Walsh 1899. Translation
Newcomb Reading Room (Bartle) Microfiche (Microfiche 683 ) - 《列女傳》西漢 (公元前206年 - 9年) 劉向著From "The Chinese Text Project", a web based digitization project. It made ancient Chinese classic books, particularly Chinese philosophy related books available in both classic and text format.
Digital Collections
Freer Gallery of Art / Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Smithsonian Institution
The gallery houses a world-renowned collection of art from China, Japan, Korea, South and Southeast Asia, and the Near East.
Asia and the Pacific Rim in Early Prints and Photographs
Over 1,000 prints and photographs (mostly albumen, hand-colored albumen and gelatin silver prints) of East, Southeast and South Asia from the 18th century to the early 20th century, drawn from portfolios, photographic albums, photographically illustrated books and archival collections. Subjects include architecture, scenes of daily life, portraits of major political, religious and artistic figures of the time, "exotica," staged photographs for the tourist trade and travel postcards.
American Memory(Library of Congress) --Women
The Library's digital collection of historical documents includes sections on women's history.
Discovering American Women's History Online
Access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement - Special Collections Library, Duke University
Online archival collection documents the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States during the late 1960's and early 1970s.
Emma Goldman Papers - University of University of California Berkeley
Major figure in the history of American radicalism and feminism (1869-1940).
Margaret Sanger Papers Project
This historical editing project located, arranged, edited, researched and published the papers of the noted birth control pioneer.
National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection, 1848-1921
Votes for Women--Part of the Library of Congress' American Memory digital collection of historical documents; includes books, pamphlets & artifacts documenting the U. S. suffrage movement.
Provides biographical information on prominent women; & information about events celebrating the 150th Anniversary of the Birth of Women's Rights to be held in Seneca Falls, New York, during the summer of 1998.
Schlesinger Library
Foremost library on the history of women in America; includes books, manuscripts, periodicals, photographs, oral histories and audiovisual materials primarily during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Sophia Smith Collection: Women's History Manuscripts at Smith College
Internationally recognized repository of manuscripts, photographs, periodicals, and other primary sources in women's history.
Swarthmore College Peace Collection
Research archives devoted to collecting, preserving and making accessible, materials on non-governmental efforts towards peace.
Women, Enterprise & Society: A Guide to Resources in the Business Manuscripts Collection at Baker Library
Materials from the Harvard Business School library that document women's participation in American business and culture from the eighteenth through twentieth century.
