Subject Guides

*Asian Studies

Guide Contents

Modern East Asia by Conrad Schirokauer; Clark This compelling text explores the development of China, Japan, Korea, and Vietnam from their traditions and commonalties in 1600, through industrialization and state building, to each country's response to modernization in a global environment. This author team combines strong research with extensive classroom teaching experience to offer a clear, consistent, and highly readable text that is accessible to students with no previous knowledge of the history of East Asia.
Call Number: DS514 .S35 2008
ISBN: 9780618920709

China and Modern World
Digital archive collections consisting of monographs, manuscripts, periodicals, correspondence and letters, historical photos, ephemera, and other kinds of historical documents published in or about China from 1817 until 1950.
Japan Year Books Online
Published from the beginning of the war with China right up to the outbreak of the Korean War (1931 - 1952), the Japan Year Books present Japan’s news and statistics throughout the period.
Archives Unbound
Includes dozens of rare primary source documents organized by topic:
*International Women’s Movement: The Pan Pacific Southeast Asia Women’s Association of the USA, 1950-1985
*Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives On Day-To-Day Life
* the Tiananmen Square protest and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers, and scholars with online, easily searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time.
Coverage: 1851 - 2020