Subject Guides

Translation Studies

Databases

Below are a list of databases that all contain content relevant to research in translation studies. For tips on how to begin your database searching, visit the "Database Search Tips" page here.

Anthropology Plus
Indexed materials focus on topics of anthropology, archaeology, and related disciplines.
Anthropology Plus joins the databases Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index to index more than 5,870 sources and contains over one million records ranging back from the early 19th century to present. Articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries cover a variety of anthropological studies including cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic.
JSTOR
Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Literature Resource Center
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.Includes fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
Includes: Contemporary Authors Online, offering biographical coverage of more than 113,000 writers; Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, featuring entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95; Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, containing more than 10,000 bio-critical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars; Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, featuring 10,000 entries for authors, works, literary landmarks, literary and critical terms, mythological and folkloric figures, fictional characters, literary movements and prizes.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences and covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Coverage: 1973 - current
Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Subjects covered include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts. Citations of journal articles, books and dissertations are included.
Linguistics Database
Full-text database with scholarly journal articles and other sources covering linguistics
Academic Search Ultimate
Covers over 11,000 journals in all fields of study.
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
Indexes over 500,000 articles from academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, Treasures from the Film Archives, silent film holdings archives and International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
This film studies database was created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF). Coverage: 1972 - present.
Project Muse
Humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals from several university presses.
Coverage: Varies by title; earliest from 1990.

Select Journals

Across languages & cultures
Babel: revue internationale de la traduction - international journal of translation
International journal of translation and interpreting research
Interpreter and translator trainer
Language and Linguistics
Focuses on theoretical language and linguistic study of East Asia and Pacific regions, thus compassing (inter alia) Sino-Tibetan, Austronesian, Austroasiatic and Altaic.
Linguistica Antverpiensia
Linguistica Antverpiensia, New Series – Themes in Translation Studies (LANS – TTS) is the journal of the Department of Translators and Interpreters, Antwerp University. It is a peer-reviewed, annual open-access A1 publication devoted to the study of language, translation and culture, with a special focus on translation in its many oral and written manifestations.
Meta (Montreal)
Meta : journal des traducteurs / Meta: Translators' Journal
Target : international journal of translation studies
Translator (Manchester, England)
Click Here for Full List of Journals in Translation Studies

Translation Studies

Copyright, Permissions & Publishers

Relevant Subject Guides

Databases

Select Journals