Subject Guides

Italian

Databases, web resources and printed materials of use in the field of Italian language and literature.

Guide Contents

Organizing Your Research

Research Project Calculator
The Research Project Calculator is an online tool that helps you set a schedule for your paper. Enter the day you will start it, the day it's due, and you will get a suggested timeframe for each step. Click on each step (Selecting Your Topic, or Find Articles) and you'll get great tips for using the Binghamton University Libraries to help you write your paper.
Citation Managers Guide
Citation managers help you manage citations and insert bibliographies into your papers. This guide will help you get started with choosing and using the citation manager that works best for you among Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote Basic.

Databases for Italian Language, Literature and Culture

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
Indexes over 500,000 articles from academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, Treasures from the Film Archives, silent film holdings archives and International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
This film studies database was created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF). Coverage: 1972 - present.
JSTOR
Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Literature Resource Center
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.Includes fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
Includes: Contemporary Authors Online, offering biographical coverage of more than 113,000 writers; Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, featuring entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95; Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, containing more than 10,000 bio-critical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars; Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, featuring 10,000 entries for authors, works, literary landmarks, literary and critical terms, mythological and folkloric figures, fictional characters, literary movements and prizes.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Subjects covered include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts. Citations of journal articles, books and dissertations are included.
Project Muse
Humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals from several university presses.
Coverage: Varies by title; earliest from 1990.
Theatre in Video (Volume I)
Live video of the original productions of some of the most important theatre performances of the 20th century.
Theater
From the most important productions of Shakespeare to rare in-depth footage focusing on the work of Samuel Beckett, Theatre in Video, when complete, will offer more than 500 hours of online streaming video, available electronically for the first time. With live television broadcasts of New York productions from the 50s, revivals of classic works and experimental performances from the 60s and 70s, as well as important contemporary performances, Theatre in Video covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Unlike Hollywood adaptations, these are the actual original productions, captured and recorded while performed for a live theatre audience.

More databases
In addition to the main databases, there are additional resources that can also provide material related to language and literature

Subject Librarian

Emily Creo

Contact:

Bartle Library LN-2302
ecreo@binghamton.edu

Subjects: Art & Architectural History, Art & Design, French, Italian, Music, Spanish, Theater

Anti-Racist Resources and Materials

Anti-Racism Research & Resource Guide
by Jen Embree Last Updated Jul 17, 2024 984 recent views

Citation Help

When you cite your sources, whether they are books, journal articles, a web site, speeches, television transcripts, etc., you will be expected to use a specific format with regard to order and punctuation. There are a number of style manuals, but most literary papers will tend to follow the Modern Language Association's recommended style. A copy of the MLA handbook for writers of research papers is kept at the Reference Desk.

Citation Help & Academic Honesty
How to cite using MLA, APA, & Chicago, plus links to other citation styles. Information on how to avoid problems with plagiarism.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
The official style manual.
Citing Sources: APA Style

Last Updated: Nov 6, 2024 12:52 PM
URL: https://libraryguides.binghamton.edu/Italian
Print Page

Subjects: Italian