Suggested Databases for Language and Literature Research
Artemis Literary SourcesThis link opens in a new windowProvides full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews. Provides term frequency and standardized subject searching across multiple Gale databases.
Dictionary of Literary BiographyThis link opens in a new windowAccess to the Dictionary of Literary Biography series, the Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series and the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook.
Providing information about more than 12,000 authors from all time periods and from all parts of the world.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)This link opens in a new windowThis database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences and covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Coverage: 1973 - current
Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Linguistics DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowFull-text database with scholarly journal articles and other sources covering linguistics
Literary Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowCollection of author biographies, plot summaries and work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books and monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines and journals, book reviews from the most prestigious publications, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more.
Also includes includes Merriam Webster’s Encyclopedia of Literature, Beacham’s Research Guide to Biography and Criticism, The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, and all of Magill On Literature Plus.
Literature Criticism OnlineThis link opens in a new windowCovers a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
Literature Online (LION)This link opens in a new windowOver a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library.
Literature Resource CenterThis link opens in a new windowAccess biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.Includes fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
Includes: Contemporary Authors Online, offering biographical coverage of more than 113,000 writers; Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, featuring entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95; Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, containing more than 10,000 bio-critical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars; Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, featuring 10,000 entries for authors, works, literary landmarks, literary and critical terms, mythological and folkloric figures, fictional characters, literary movements and prizes.
LitFinderThis link opens in a new windowCovering world literature and authors throughout history, LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
LitFinder also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.
Masterplots IV EditionThis link opens in a new windowProvides reference data, plot synopses where applicable, and critical evaluations of a comprehensive selection of English-language and world literature that has been translated into English.
MLA International Bibliography with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts. Citations of journal articles, books and dissertations are included.
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Academic Video Online AVONThis link opens in a new windowMore than 66,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, film, history, music, and more. Content includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.
ACLS Humanities E-BookThis link opens in a new windowCollection of over 1400 full-text, cross searchable books covering topics of interest to historians and humanities scholars.
A collection selected by historians for their continuing importance to students and scholars. Areas include: African, American, Asian, Latin American, European (Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance, and Modern), Middle Eastern, World/Comparative, Byzantine/Mediterranean and Australasian/Oceanian history, plus history of the Native Peoples of the Americas and of Science and Technology.
Archives UnboundThis link opens in a new windowIncludes dozens of rare primary source documents organized by topic/ focus which span European colonialism, 1960s social movements, womens' rights, African-American civil rights, the Holocaust, and the Tiananmen Square protest.
*America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations, The Vietnam Veterans Against the War
*American Indian Movement (AIM) and Native American Radicalism
*Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League
*Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle
*Black Nationalism and the Revolutionary Action Movement: The Papers of Muhammad Ahmad (Max Stanford)
*British Mandate in Palestine, Arab-Jewish Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Jerusalem, 1920-1944
*Bush Presidency And Development And Debate Over Civil Rights Policy And Legislation
*Changing Men Collection Digital Archive
*Civil Rights & Social Activism in AL: Papers of John LeFlore, 1926-76 and the Records of the Non-Partisan Voters League, 1956-87
*Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
*County and Regional Histories & Atlases: New York, 1804-1966
*European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century (French Colonialism in Africa: 1910-1930, German Colonies, 1930-1939; Italian Colonies, 1930-1939; Political and Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies in Africa, 1910-1929)
*Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman
*FBI Files: Assassination of Martin Luther King, JR.; American POWs/MIAs in Southeast Asia; Hollywood and J. Edgar Hoover: * *Communists in the Motion Picture Industry; War on Poverty: Office of Civil Rights, 1965-1968; Watergate; We We Prepared for the Possibility of Death, Freedom Riders in the South, 1961-1962
*FBI Surveillance of James Forman and SNCC
*FDR/New Deal & Race Relations 1933-1945
*Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s
*Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
*Federal Surveillance of the Partido Independentista Puertorriqueño (P.R. Independence Party)
*Fight For Racial Justice And The Civil Rights Congress
*Final Accountability Rosters Of Evacuees: Japanese-American Relocation Centers/1944-1946
*German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941
*Grassroots Civil Rights and Social Action: Council for Social Action, 1934-1956
*Holocaust And Records Of Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution Of Nazi War Crimes
*Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968
*Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West’s Response to Jewish Emigration
*Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military, 1963
*International Women’s Movement: The Pan Pacific Southeast Asia Women’s Association of the USA, 1950-1985
*Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives On Day-To-Day Life
*James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
*Jewish Question: Records from the Berlin Document Center
*Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection
*JFK’s Foreign Affairs and International Crises, 1961-1963
*Johnson Administration and Foreign Affairs
*Legal Battle for Civil Rights in AL: Vernon Z. Crawford Records, 1958-78 Civil Rights Cases
*Liberation Movement in Africa and African America
*Liberia and the US: Nation-Building in Africa, 1864-1935
*Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers’ Project
*Minutemen, 1963-1969: Evolution of the Militia Movement in America, Part I
*National Farm Worker Ministry: Mobilizing Support for Migrant Workers, 1939-1985
*Nazi Bank and Financial Institutions: U.S. Military Government Investigation Reports 1945-1949
*Nazism In Poland: The Diary Of Governor-General Hans Frank
*Nixon Administration and Foreign Affairs
*Nuremburg Laws And Nazi Annulment Of Jewish German Nationality
*Observer: News for the American Soldier in Vietnam, 1962-1973
*Palestine and Israel: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1959
*Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement
*Papers of the Nixon Administration: The President’s Confidential and Subject Special Files, 1969-1974
*Politics, Social Activism and Community Support: Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newsletters
*Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950
*Psychological Warfare and Propaganda in World War II: Air Dropped and Shelled Leaflets and Periodicals
*Quest For Labor Equality In Household Work: National Domestic Workers Union/1965-1979
*Rastafari Ephemeral Publications from the Written Rastafari Archives Project
*Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement
*Safehaven Reports On Nazi Looting Of Occupied Countries And Assets In Neutral Countries
*Sunday School Movement and Its Curriculum
*Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2006
*Testaments to the Holocaust Digital Archive
*Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993
*Transcripts of the Malcolm X Assassination Trial
*U.S. Military Activities & Civil Rights: Integration of University of MS Use of Military Force, 1961-63
*U.S. Military Activities and Civil Rights: The Little Rock Integration Crisis, 1957-1958
*U.S. Military Activities and Civil Rights: Military Response to March on Washington, 1963
*Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1945
*Women's Issues and Their Advocacy Within The White House, 1974-1977
*Women, War and Society, 1914-1918
*Women Organizing Transnationally: The Committee of Correspondence, 1952-1969
Europeana CollectionsThis link opens in a new windowEuropean is a collection of millions of types of digital resources from Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections, including books, images, sound and video. See Find and Using Streaming Video for information.
Gale Primary SourcesThis link opens in a new windowSearches the Archives Unbound Collections plus the following collections...
18th Century Collections Online
19th Century Collections Online
Archives of Sexuality & Gender
Crime, Punishment and Popular Culture, 1790-1920
Economist Historical Archive
Indigenous Peoples: North America
Political Extremism in the Twentieth Century
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection
The (London) Times Digital Archive
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Women's Studies Archive
HathiTrustThis link opens in a new windowDigitized materials from member institutions and libraries are freely available to the public for items not under copyright restrictions (generally pre-1923 and most government documents). Downloading and other functions may be limited.
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.
Humanities Source UltimateThis link opens in a new windowFull text for many of the most important academic sources in the humanities. .
Humanities Source provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more. Includes full-text. Coverage: 1910 - present.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowPrimarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineThis link opens in a new windowA digital collection of books, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, ephemera, and maps that cover politics and society, literature, spirituality, technology and more.
*Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
*Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
*British Politics and Society
*British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
*Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
*European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
*Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
*19th Century US Newspapers
*Photography: The World through the Lens
*Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I & II
*Women: Transnational Networks
Project MuseThis link opens in a new windowHumanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals from several university presses.
Coverage: Varies by title; earliest from 1990.
WorldCatThis link opens in a new windowMillions of records cataloged by libraries around the world.
Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century. Materials also include books, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspaper titles, journal and magazine titles, sound recordings, videotapes, and more.
Alternative Press IndexThis link opens in a new windowA database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Coverage: 1969-present (includes archives)
The API was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change.
Center for Research LibrariesThis link opens in a new windowCRL has numerous research materials in addition to those found in their catalog. Searchable Special Collection Databases include Foreign Newspapers, U.S. Ethnic Newspapers, Current Serial Titles from the States of the Former Soviet Union, Civilian Conservation Corps Camp Papers, Foreign Doctoral Dissertations, and Current Science Serials.
Collection Highlights provides descriptions of major microform sets of special interest. Digital Collections are online image and full-text CRL collections. The CRL Handbook provides a subject listing and description of the uncatalogued CRL collections. Subject brochures of the collections are also available. Binghamton University students, faculty, and staff can borrow materials found in CRL collections through Interlibrary Loan
Global NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowIncludes national papers such as the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. Also local and regional papers including the Press and Sun from Binghamton, the Ithaca Journal, and other Gannett publications. Coverage: 1980 - current
Replaces Newstand and Gannett Newstream.
Keesing's World News ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowAn authoritative monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic and economic affairs.
Newspaper Source PlusThis link opens in a new windowFull text coverage of selected international and regional newspapers, newswires and other news sources.
Includes The Christian Science Monitor, The Los Angeles Times, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, and The Australian; as well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. All together there is selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.
World News Connection ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowTranslations of international news sources, including newspapers, radio and television broadcasts, etc that were compiled from the CIA's JPRS and and FBIS programs. Covers 1995-2013.
Searchable by keyword, region of the world, topic and date.
The Arts : Art, Film, Music, Theatre
Art & Architecture SourceThis link opens in a new windowSingle search of all the EBSCO art databases including including Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, and Art Retrospective. Includes limited full text.
Art & Architecture Source (formerly Art Source) offers over 640 full-text journals -- as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch.
Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984This link opens in a new windowIndexing of periodicals devoted to Art, Art History and Architecture. Especially helpful for locating contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, tracing the historical development of art criticism and commentary, and finding artists' interviews and illustrations of their works.
Supplements the coverage provided by Art Abstracts and includes leading European publications. features coverage English-language periodicals, yearbooks and museum bulletins published in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. Coverage: 1929-1984.
Film Literature IndexThis link opens in a new windowContains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.
The print version of FLI is available in the Film/Theater Index area of Bartle Reference. The online version is no longer being updated.
Fine Arts and Music OneFileThis link opens in a new windowScholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and film-making. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
KanopyThis link opens in a new windowIncludes films from suppliers including California Newsreel, Green Planet Films, PBS, New Day Films, HBO Documentaries, First Run, FilmRise, and others. Faculty and Instructors: read Requesting a title in Kanopy before assigning a film to your class.
National Theatre CollectionThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. See Find and Using Streaming Video for information
Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, this collection offers a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.
Naxos Music LibraryThis link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive collection of classical music available online. Whilst listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database. Tracks in NML are *NOT* downloadable to any device.
Oxford Music OnlineThis link opens in a new windowAccess and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location, searching more than 8000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works. Includes Grove Music Online.
Also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002) and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition.
RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureThis link opens in a new windowOver 275,000 citations on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature.
Contains records in over 100 languages; entries include original-language titles, title translations in English, full bibliographic information, and abstracts in English, as well as author, journal, and in-depth subject indexes.