Subject Guides

Translation Studies

Welcome!

Welcome to the Translation Studies subject guide! The purpose of this guide is to provide a comprehensive list of resources that will be relevant and useful for anyone studying in the field of translation & translation research. The tabs on the left-hand side will help you navigate through this guide. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to contact the TRIP subject librarian. Happy researching!

New Books

Recommended Databases for Starting Your Research

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences and covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Coverage: 1973 - current
Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
JSTOR
Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Anthropology Plus
Indexed materials focus on topics of anthropology, archaeology, and related disciplines.
Anthropology Plus joins the databases Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index to index more than 5,870 sources and contains over one million records ranging back from the early 19th century to present. Articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries cover a variety of anthropological studies including cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic.
Linguistics Database
Full-text database with scholarly journal articles and other sources covering linguistics
Academic Search Ultimate
Covers over 11,000 journals in all fields of study.
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Subjects covered include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts. Citations of journal articles, books and dissertations are included.
Project Muse
Humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals from several university presses.
Coverage: Varies by title; earliest from 1990.

John Benjamin's Translation Studies Bibliography
In recent years, Translation Studies has demonstrated that it has established itself as a mature academic discipline. This database welcomes you to explore the broad range of publications in this field. The database is continuously updated and now contains approx. 40,000 annotated records.