Subject Guides

General Science

General Science databases and other information

Guide Contents

Find Articles by Discipline

Individual disciplines will have additional databases that are more specific to their researchers' needs.

General Purpose Science Databases

These databases are multidisciplinary and generally cover most (if not all) areas of science rather comprehensively. Their results are strongest when it comes to primary and scholarly literature (ie. scientific research published within journal articles).

Web of Science
Covers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
Also includes BIOSIS Citation Index, Data Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Derwent Innovation Index. Medline (1950-present), Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and Zoological Records.
Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate
Topics include artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics, as well as the business and social implications of new technologies. Includes full-text articles.
Google Scholar
Finds scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. If you use this Google Scholar link, you will be able to use the Get it link to take advantage of the Libraries' full text and InterLibrary Loan services.

For the Non-specialist

These databases are multi-disciplinary and contain both scholarly sources like journal articles and non-scholarly like news and popular magazines. The non-scholarly sources are typically written for a more general audience.

Academic Search Ultimate
Covers over 11,000 journals in all fields of study.
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Academic OneFile
Covers all subjects, searching 13,000 journals, with over 7300 peer-reviewed titles.
Made available by the NOVELNY program, which makes resources available to everyone in NYS. For NYS residents outside of NYS, please see the website for more detail. For links to all NOVELNY databases, please see the NOVELNY webpage.

Subject Librarian

Aleshia Huber

she/her

Contact:

102F Science Library
hubera@binghamton.edu

(607) 777-4902

Subjects: Engineering & Applied Science