Subject Guides

Biology

Guide Contents

Tools for Browsing Journals & Finding Full-Text

BrowZine
A platform that allows you to browse for journals by subject. Easy to also browse by a journal issue and provides links to full-text.
LibKey Nomad
Browser extension that provides library full-text links directly on most journal or publisher websites.
LibKey DOI Search
Have a DOI from a citation? Search by the DOI here to bring up full-text or interlibrary loan request options.
Need More Help on BrowZine or LibKey?
Guide that provides further detail on using all of the tools listed above.
Adding Get It! to Google Scholar
Directions on adding the Libraries' Get It! link to Google Scholar

Additional Resources

Selected Databases

BIOSIS Citation Index
The world's most comprehensive database on life science research. Includes cited references to primary journal literate, research reports and reviews.
Web of Science
Covers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
Also includes BIOSIS Citation Index, Data Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Derwent Innovation Index. Medline (1950-present), Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and Zoological Records.
PubMed
From the National Library of Medicine. Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
BioOne
Access to research journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences provided by scientific societies in collaboration with libraries, academe and the commercial sector. BioOne is working to help transform the scholarly communication process by providing expanded access to scientific research results.
Provided by scientific societies in collaboration with libraries, academe and the commercial sector. BioOne is working to help transform the scholarly communication process by providing expanded access to scientific research results. Coverage: 2000-present.
Environment Complete
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Contains more than 2,183,500 records from more than 1,900 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including over 1,100 active core titles) as well as more than 130 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 750 journals.
Academic Search Ultimate
Covers over 11,000 journals in all fields of study.
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.

National Center for Biotechnology Information
The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
More databases
For a full list of databases relevant to Biology, please see the Biology database page.

Journals and articles

Resources to help you locate specific journals or find an article.

Biology Journals
Browse the Libraries' collection of online biology journals. You can also browse or search a complete list of the Libraries' electronic and print journal subscriptions.