The United States Census is the primary source for demographic and social data collection across the United States. In addition to conducting the Census every 10 years, the U.S. Census Bureau gathers data on a wide variety of topics that provides information on the nation's population and economy.
- U.S. Census Bureau | Subjects A-Z
- American FactFinder
Primary source for recent decennial census data (2010, 2000), the American Community Survey, Population Estimates, and annual Economic Surveys.
- PL 94-171 Data - Use American Factfinder for most recent
Redistricting data: Age by Race and Hispanic Origin
- Neighborhood Change Database
Provides selected variables from the 1970 - 2010 decennial censuses at the nation, state, county, or census tract levels. Where available, normalized time-series data can be accessed in Census 2010 tract boundaries.
CD-ROM located on Data Workstation in Govrenment Documents Room.
- County and City Data Book (Bartle Reference HA206 .S865, 1952 - )
Provides in-depth data sets for areas of 100,000 people or more.
- State and County Quick Facts
provides quick access to population, business and geography information
- New York Quick Facts (Census Bureau)
Broad population, housing, business, and geographic data. Contains the most recent data available from the Census, American Community Survey, Country Business Facts and more. Can limit by county or place subdivision as well.
- Census 2000 (New York State Data Center) -provides information about Census 2000 in New York State and access to data files
- 2000 Census of Population and Housing, New York (Bartle Library Gov. Docs. C 3.223/23:2000 PHC-2-34)
The 2000 census data for New York State including one volume on Broome County. Much of this information is also available via the American FactFinder.
- Population changes: Southern Tier East Region, 1940-1990: Final Report. (Bartle Reference HA545 .P6 1991)
Federal health statistics
Central index for federally produced statistics. You can search or browse by topic. Generally, searching for broader topics works best.
- Center for Disease Control and Prevention
For information about CDC publications, select Publications. For statistical information select Data & Statistics.
- National Center for Health Statistics
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (Bartle Ref Desk HA 206 .S8, older issues kept in Reference)
This is the primary source for summaries of U.S statistics on all topics, released annually. The print version is the most user-friendly.
- Current Population Reports (Bartle Library Gov Docs. C 3.186/2 through 27 and Docs. C 3.186:P)
Published on a periodic or irregular basis by the Census Bureau. These reports contain up-to-date statistics on population counts, characteristics and other special studies. Use the Subject Index below to identify reports on groups or topics of interest, e.g., Children & Youth, Older Population, Health & Disability.
- Subject Index to Current Population Reports and Other Population Reports (Bartle Library Gov. Docs. C 3.186:P-23/192)
indexes the series up to 1996. More recent reports are indexed on the CPS Index of Topics page.
- Health United States (Bartle Reference RA 407.3 .H43, older issues Gov Docs HE 20.7042/6:)
National trends in health statistics on such topics as birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory care and inpatient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance and managed care, and other health topics. Data compiled by the National Center for Health Statistics.
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (Bartle Reference Gov Docs. HE 20.7009:)
Select Publications for back issues. Weekly listing of all deaths for 121 selected surveillance cities, notifiable diseases for the nation and states, and an annual summary. (Binghamton is not a surveillance city)
- SAMHSA's Center for Mental Health Services
Povides guidance and technical assistance to decision makers at all levels of government on the design, structure, content, and use of mental health information systems, with the ultimate goal of improving the quality of mental health programs and services delivery.
Federal and state reports and statistics, including the annual report, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Children's Well-Being.
- State Heath Facts (Kaiser Family Foundation)
Provides a variety of statistical snapshots of each state by topic, such as Medicaid figures, heath costs and budges, figures concerning women's heath, and more.
- Vital and Health Statistics Series (Bartle Reference Government Documents HE 20.6209:)
Contains information on diseases, demographics, health care utilization, health resources, mortality, marriage, and divorce gathered from the irregular National Health Interview Survey
- The Universal Healthcare Almanac (Science Library Reference RA407.3 .U6)
Loose-leaf binder updated periodically. Statistics on health care facilities, medical care, etc.
- U.S. Department of Labor - Statistics
Statistics related to unemployment, wages, etc.
- Office of Minority Health Data and Statisitcs
Improves and protects the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will eliminate health disparities.
- AgingStats - (Administration on Aging (AOA) U.S.)
Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-related statistics. Provides links to Excel charts, reports, presentations and papers.
- America's Health Rankings - (United Health Foundation)
A yearly assessment of the relative healthiness of the nation, based upon analysis of comprehensive determining factors such as personal behaviors, the environment in which people live and work, the decisions made by public and elected officials and the quality of medical care delivered by health professionals.
- Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) - (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) - State-based system of health surveys that collects information on health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, and health care access primarily related to chronic disease and injury.
New York Information
Also see the Census information.
- New York
State Department of Health
browsable index of reports and information by topic
- County Health
quick statistics covering a range of health-related information
Health Assessment Clearinghouse
some of the resources are duplicates of links of this page, but the page also includes guidelines and information on doing health assessments
- New York State Hospital Profile
service information, ranking and ratings of hospitals across NYS
- Information for Researchers
- County Health Rankings: New York State
Shows that where we live matters to our health. The health of a community depends on many different factors – ranging from individual health behaviors, education and jobs, to quality of health care, to the environment. This collection of 50 reports – one per state – helps community leaders see that where we live, learn, work, and play influences how healthy we are and how long we live. The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation is collaborating with the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute to develop these Rankings for each state’s counties..
- New York
State Statistical Yearbook (Bartle Library Reference HA544
.A2, 1967- present.)
Single most comprehensive source of NYS statistics.
Pennsylvania Health Information
Also see the Census information.
- Pennsylvania Department of Health
- Health Statistics and Research
- Pennsylvania Vital Statistics
Annual report of births, deaths, abortion, pregnancy, and population statistics for the state, counties, and major municipalities. Each report contains over 200 pages of statistics, charts, and maps.
- County Health Profiles
A series of 68 individual statistical reports - one for each county and one for the state. Numerous statistics are shown for various health-related subject areas.
- Health Status Indicators for Pennsylvania Counties and Health Districts
This report, released annually, includes statistics on 17 health status indicators for the United States, Pennsylvania, counties, and Health Districts. Significance testing results are also presented on county-outlined maps.
- Kaiser State Health Facts - Pennsylvania
- Health Statistics and Research
- FastStats Health Stats by State
From the National Center for Health Statistics
- American FactFinder
Community Profiles are predefined profiles that provide community information for the geographic area that you specify. You choose a specific geographic area by selecting it from a list, searching for the area by name (a specific city, county, etc.), or clicking on a map. You then select the profile you want to see. Once you select a profile and a geographic area, you can create and print the profile.
- Vital Statistics of New York State (Bartle Ref HA214 .V584)
Population, live births, fetal deaths, abortions, pregnancies, mortality, marriages and divorces, county profiles, city and village profiles.
- Broome County Health Department
Most county health departments use statistics provided by the Vital Statistics of New York State page.
- Broome Community Health Assessment, 2010-2013. (1999-2004 edition available at the Science Library Reference and University Downtown Center Government Documents RA407.4.N5 B7 1998)
Broome County Health Department's county wide health assessment.
- Community Health Status Report (Bartle and Science Reference RA 445 .C66 2000)
Covering Broome, Tioga, and Chenago counties
- Also look at the County Health Profiles, County Health Rankings and Community Health Indicators.
NOTE: Many online publications mentioned above are pdfs. You can search PDF documents for specific geographic entities using the binocular icon in that displays in your web browser. Sub-state level statistics may be provided for geographic entities or hospitals, so if a search for "Binghamton" fails, try searching on "Wilson."
Other useful sites
- Lourdes Hospital
- United Health Services (includes Wilson and Binghamton General Hospitals)
- American Academy of Asthma, Allergy and Immunologists
- American Lung Association - Asthma
- National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute