Biology

The main collection of enzyme functional data. Free to academic, non-profit users. From the Institute of Biochemistry, University of Cologne.

EMBO is an organization of more than 1700 leading researchers that promotes excellence in the life sciences. The major goals of the organization are to support talented researchers at all stages of their careers, stimulate the exchange of scientific information, and help build a European research environment where scientists can achieve their best work.

This resource is powered by the Protein Data Bank archive-information about the 3D shapes of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies that helps students and researchers understand all aspects of biomedicine and agriculture, from protein synthesis to health and disease.

NCBI's Web site serves an an integrated, one-stop, genomic information infrastructure for biomedical researchers from around the world so that they may use these data in their research efforts.

The MicrobeLibrary (ML) is a peer-reviewed, digital media center for undergraduate microbiology sponsored by the American Society for Microbiology, a professional, life science society with more than 38,000 members in the United States and abroad. The scientific scope of the library covers the microbiological sciences as outlined in the ASM curriculum guidelines updated by the ASM Task Force on Curriculum Guidelines for Undergraduate Microbiology Education in 2011.

PIR was established in 1984 by the National Biomedical Research Foundation (NBRF) as a resource to assist researchers in the identification and interpretation of protein sequence information. Prior to that, the NBRF compiled the first comprehensive collection of macromolecular sequences in the Atlas of Protein Sequence and Structure, published from 1965-1978 under the editorship of Margaret O. Dayhoff. Dr. Dayhoff and her research group pioneered in the development of computer methods for the comparison of protein sequences, for the detection of distantly related sequences and duplications within sequences, and for the inference of evolutionary histories from alignments of protein sequences.

EMBL-EBI provides freely available data from life science experiments, performs basic research in computational biology and offers an extensive user training programme, supporting researchers in academia and industry.

Contains known enzyme structures deposited in the Protein Data Bank (PDB).

National Library of Medicine. Includes GenBank, Entrez, Cancer Genome Database, Human Genome Database, etc.

The Molecular Libraries Program offered public sector biomedical researchers access to the large-scale screening capacity necessary to identify small molecules that could be optimized as chemical probes to study the functions of genes, cells, and biochemical pathways. This led to new ways to explore the functions of genes and signaling pathways in health and disease

The goal of the Common Fund’s Structural Biology program was to develop novel methods to isolate large amounts of membrane proteins and determine their protein structures.