Subject Guides

Materials Science

Mendeley Reference Management

Mendeley
Manage and format article information for bibliographies, footnotes, etc.

1. Create an account on Mendeley.

2. Download Mendeley Desktop
Allows you to store citations on your desktop.

3. Download Mendeley Citation Plug-in (if you can)
(Word, LibreOffice)
Allows you to insert citations into Word Documents.

4. Install the Mendeley Web Importer Chrome extension
Allows you to import articles and references.

More Help: Getting Started with Mendeley
Short video of features and ways to use Mendeley.

Search for Materials Science Journal Articles, Preprints, and Standards

Note: Scifinder Scholar-n requires registration. Please email ebrown@binghamton.edu for the URL.

arXiv.org
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics.
The contents of arXiv conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation.
Dissertations & Theses Global
International in scope, this database offers indexing and text for dissertations and thesis spanning from 1743 to the present day. Full text for some dissertations prior to 1997, full text for most works added since 1997.
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Dissertations & Theses @ Binghamton University
Full text of all BU dissertations from 1997 to the present. Citations and abstracts of all BU dissertations published by UMI.
For earlier dissertations and thesis, the Libraries might have copies available in print.
Engineering Village (Compendex)
A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database referencing engineering journals and conference materials. Coverage: 1884-present.
Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.
Google Scholar
Finds scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. If you use this Google Scholar link, you will be able to use the Get it link to take advantage of the Libraries' full text and InterLibrary Loan services.
CAS SciFinder-n
CAS SciFinder-n provides reference, substance, reaction and supplier content and relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more.
Users need to create an account using Binghamton email address. Users of the previous interface can use their existing accounts.
Web of Science
Covers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
Also includes BIOSIS Citation Index, Data Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Derwent Innovation Index. Medline (1950-present), Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and Zoological Records.

Materials Science Journal Publisher Websites

AccessScience (Encyclopedia of Science and Technology)
Online version of online edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Includes research updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News® headlines, biographies, and more.
American Chemical Society Publications (Web Editions)
Provides full text articles from journals published by the American Chemical Society and to which we have print subscriptions. Coverage: varies by title; earliest from 1896.
E-mail alerts for journal tables of contents are also available in both PDF and HTML formats
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals (1841-Current)
Provides full text of journals from the Royal Society of Chemistry, including the RSC Journal Archive for select titles (1841-2007)
ScienceDirect
Full-text access to Elsevier journals subscribed to by SUNY institutions. To view journals choose "Browse Journals" under Licensed users.
ScienceDirect
SpringerLink
Full text access to subscribed journals, and select ebooks and reference works.
Available titles by subject: Behavioral Science & Psychology, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Education, Engineering, Geology, Intelligent Technologies & Robotics, Management, Math, Mechanical Engineering, Political Science & International Studies, Physics, Social Sciences, and Systems Engineering.
Wiley Online Library
Search across all Wiley published journals and works.
WorldCat
Millions of records cataloged by libraries around the world.
Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century. Materials also include books, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspaper titles, journal and magazine titles, sound recordings, videotapes, and more.