Subject Guides
Chemistry Resources
Chemistry web and print resources for labs, papers, and proposals
Guide Contents
University Links
Citing Sources - ACS Style
ACS Style Quick Guide
(ACS Publications):
Sample formatting for common types of materials.
ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication (online ebook)
This ebook has a wealth of information on how to cite materials and evaluate the chemical literature.
Mendeley
Manage and format article information for bibliographies, footnotes, etc.
1. Create an account on Mendeley. You can allow link your Mendeley account directly to your Binghamton Univ. username and password if you like.
2. Mendeley Cite (Microsoft App) is available via our campus Microsoft 365 license.
You can see it in the Reference Tab within Word.
This tool allows you to insert citations directly into Word Documents.
3. The Mendeley Web Importer is a Chrome extension that allows you to import articles and references from publisher websites.
4. The Mendeley Desktop Reference Manager can also be downloaded and used as a standalone tool. The Reference Manager is the database of references that you create and will also appear in Mendeley Cite.
More Help: How to use Mendeley Reference Manager (Tip Tip Bio).
How to Use Mendeley Desktop, Web Importer, and MS Word Plug-in (GradCoach).
Chemistry Literature and Structure Searching
Here are a list of sources to start searching the chemical literature or search using chemical structures.
NOTE: CAS Scifinder-n requires registration prior to searching. Please contact ebrown@binghamton.edu to obtain registration details.
- CAS SciFinder-nCAS SciFinder-n provides reference, substance, reaction and supplier content and relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more.
- ReaxysAn authoritative reference source on chemical properties and reactions which aims to be the synthesis resource for organic and inorganic chemistry.
- Web of ScienceCovers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
- Google ScholarFinds scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. If you use this Google Scholar link, you will be able to use the Get it link to take advantage of the Libraries' full text and InterLibrary Loan services.
Freely available chemical structure database with over 100 million structures, properties, and associated information from hundreds of high-quality data sources. (Owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry)
- Dissertations & Theses @ Binghamton UniversityFull text of all BU dissertations from 1997 to the present. Citations and abstracts of all BU dissertations published by UMI.
- Dissertations & Theses GlobalInternational in scope, this database offers indexing and text for dissertations and thesis spanning from 1743 to the present day. Full text for some dissertations prior to 1997, full text for most works added since 1997.
Chemistry Journal Publisher Websites
Major publishers covering Chemistry and related areas such as Materials Science and Physics. All sources contain full-text journal articles, ebooks, and supplemental journal data.
- American Chemical Society Publications (Web Editions)
Provides full text articles from journals published by the American Chemical Society and to which we have print subscriptions. Coverage: varies by title; earliest from 1896.
- Royal Society of Chemistry Journals (1841-Current)Provides full text of journals from the Royal Society of Chemistry, including the RSC Journal Archive for select titles (1841-2007)
- ScienceDirectFull-text access to Elsevier journals subscribed to by SUNY institutions. To view journals choose "Browse Journals" under Licensed users.
Subject LIbrarian
Chemistry Instructional Videos and Problem Sets
There are lots of classroom materials of chemistry lectures, problem sets and exams on the web:
Khan Academy has introductory chemistry lecture videos. Some problem set solutions may be locked.
CrashCourse has videos on Chemistry course topics.
MIT OpenCourseWare has lectures, problem sets and exams online.
UCI Open has lectures, problems and solutions in individual lectures.
Open Stax has a freely available General Chemistry textbook in both Engilsh and Spanish.
The Organic Chemistry Tutor covers many topics in Chemistry as well as Math and Physics.
Periodic Table of Videos covers many chemical topics.
