Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Course Pages
- Engineering Design Division
- Project 1: Portable Aquarium
Engineering Design Division
Guide Contents
Subject Librarian
Aleshia Huber
she/her
Contact:
102F Science Library
hubera@binghamton.edu
hubera@binghamton.edu
(607) 777-4902
Subjects: Engineering & Applied Science
Feedback
The above form is optional to fill out and serves as a way for Aleshia to work to improve the guide. The form is anonymous, and NOT a way to reach out for help. If you need assistance, contact Aleshia directly.
Books
Below is a list of recommended books that relate to your project.
As you research more and expand the scope of your project idea, you may wish to consult books on another topic. You can search the Library Catalog to find more books. See this tutorial on finding and using ebooks for guidance.
Mini-Aquariums by ISBN: 9781620080085Publication Date: 2012-07-01Jay F. Hemdal’s introduction to miniature aquariums (essentially home aquariums that contain 8 gallons, or 30 liters, of water or less) begins with choosing a mini-aquarium from the many options available today and getting started with the right equipment (lighting, filters, heaters, decorations, and so forth). The author offers step-by-step instructions for installing the mini-aquarium and establishing the biological filtration system as well as maintaining the tank.
Dynamic Aquaria by ISBN: 9780123706416Publication Date: 2007-03-12This book presents the science behind an aquatic ecosystem. There's a lot covered and ranges from aquariums to natural bodies of water ecosystems. Chapter 2 has some information on the physical environment, including information on materials used for aquariums.
Materials for Design by ISBN: 9781780673448Publication Date: 2014-06-03Over the last 10 years there has been a huge growth in the area of materials and design, but most books on the subject deal with advanced, semi-formed materials (that is, materials sold as sheet, rod, tube, etc.). This new book provides much-needed information on the raw materials, and the 'low-down' on what these materials can be used for. The information provided in the book allows professional designers and students from a range of disciplines - but focusing on product design - to understand in simple, exciting, thought-provoking, visual terms different qualities and features of materials
Standards
- UL 1018--Electric Aquarium EquipmentThe Underwriter's Laboratory creates electrical standards. UL standards are free to view online. You need to create a free UL account in order to view them. The "digital view" button will open the standard's online viewer. The online viewer only allows you to click page-by-page; there is no search function or download available. Search UL's catalog for more electrical standards.
Recommended Journals and Magazines
The recommended journals and magazines below publish in areas related to your topic and may be useful to search individually or browse through. However, all of the databases listed below provide results of thousands of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other sources and will provide more results.
- Tropical Fish Hobbyist MagazineMagazine: publishes articles on fishkeeping hobby, including care of specific breeds, expert advice, and latest developments.
- Advanced AquaristMagazine: Hobbyist magazine for fishkeeping with information similar to above
- Zoo BiologyPeer-reviewed journal published by the American Zoo and Aquarium Association. Zoo Biology is concerned with reproduction, demographics, genetics, behavior, medicine, husbandry, nutrition, conservation and all empirical aspects of the exhibition and maintenance of wild animals in wildlife parks, zoos, and aquariums.
Animal Science Databases
- Zoological RecordCovers all aspects of modern animal research, including such topics as behavior, genetics, ecology and more. Coverage: 1864 - present.
- AGRICOLAAGRICOLA contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library.
- PubMedFrom the National Library of Medicine. Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
General Engineering & Applied Science Databases
- Applied Science & Technology Source UltimateTopics include artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics, as well as the business and social implications of new technologies. Includes full-text articles.
- ASME DatabaseProvides full-text access to journals and recent conference proceedings by the American Society for Mechanical Engineers.
- Engineering Village (Compendex)A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database referencing engineering journals and conference materials. Coverage: 1884-present.
- Science DirectFull-text access to Elsevier journals subscribed to by SUNY institutions. To view journals choose "Browse Journals" under Licensed users.
- IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryProvides full-text access to IEEE and IET transactions, journals, and magazines, select conference proceedings, and current standards. IEEE content published since 1988, plus select content from multiple publishers dating back to 1872, is available. Includes IEEE Journal Archive (1884-1999) and IEEE Conference Proceedings Archive (1936-1999).
- Web of ScienceCovers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
- Google ScholarFinds scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. If you use this Google Scholar link, you will be able to use the Get it link to take advantage of the Libraries' full text and InterLibrary Loan services.
- JSTORPrimarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
