Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Course Pages
- Engineering Design Division
- Project 3: College Sensory Room Element
Engineering Design Division
Guide Contents
Subject Librarian
Aleshia Huber
she/her
Contact:
102F Science Library
hubera@binghamton.edu
hubera@binghamton.edu
(607) 777-4902
Subjects: Engineering & Applied Science
Feedback
The above form is optional to fill out and serves as a way for Aleshia to work to improve the guide. The form is anonymous, and NOT a way to reach out for help. If you need assistance, contact Aleshia directly.
Ebooks
Below is a list of recommended ebooks that relate to your project.
As you research more and expand the scope of your project idea, you may wish to consult books on another topic. You can search the Library Catalog to find more books. See this tutorial on finding and using ebooks for guidance.
Multiple Multisensory Rooms: Myth Busting the Magic by ISBN: 9781000691993Publication Date: 2019-09-30This crucial book explores the use of multisensory rooms and supporting the reader to reflect and make the most out of their space. Key features include: Guidance on creating sensory spaces on any budget, to suit any level of need. An overview of the history of multisensory rooms, and a detailed exploration of the actual way in which the rooms are used today.
Multisensory Rooms and Environments: Controlled Sensory Experiences for People with Profound and Multiple Disabilities by ISBN: 1283904942Publication Date: 2008-01-01Designed use with people with multiple disabilities, this photocopiable resource explains the theory underlying multisensory environments. It outlines the practicalities of planning, setting up and equipping a multisensory space, and features useful checklists and tools for creating multisensory experiences in both designed and everyday settings.
The Multisensory Handbook by ISBN: 9780203117385Publication Date: 2012-06-14For people with challenging sensory and cognitive conditions, everyday life can become so unpredictable and chaotic that over time, lack of engagement can often lead to a state of learned helplessness. In this insightful text, Paul Pagliano shows how 'learned helplessness' can be transformed into learned optimism through multisensory stimulation, and explains how a program of support can be designed and modulated to match the person's needs, interests and abilities.
Supporting Student Mental Health in Higher Education by ISBN: 9781912508778Publication Date: 2019-04-05Student mental health is a key consideration in higher education at the moment with recent reports identifying a major gap in provision by universities and how ill-equipped academics feel to support students. This book addresses these concerns, providing comprehensive guidance and workable evidence-informed strategies and interventions to help those working with students to support them effectively. Ch. 3 summarizes common mental health needs of college students.
Websites
- Snoezelen Multi-Sensory RoomsCompany website
Recommended Journals and Magazines
The recommended journals and magazines below publish in areas related to your topic and may be useful to search individually or browse through. However, all of the databases listed beneath this section provide results of thousands of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other sources and will provide more results.
- Multisensory ResearchPeer-reviewed journal: Multisensory Research is an interdisciplinary archival journal covering all aspects of multisensory processing including the control of action, cognition and attention.
- Research In Developmental DisabilitiesPeer-reviewed journal: international journal aimed at publishing original research of an interdisciplinary nature that has a direct bearing on the understanding or remediation of problems associated with developmental disabilities.
Psychology & Education Databases
- PsycINFO (APA)Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. Coverage: 1887-current.
- PsycARTICLES (APA)
Full-text articles in general and specialized psychology from over 100 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage: 1988 - present.
- PubMedFrom the National Library of Medicine. Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- ERIC (EBSCO)Gain immediate access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index with ERIC. Coverage: 1966-present.
- Education Source UltimateFull text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
General Engineering & Applied Science Databases
- Applied Science & Technology Source UltimateTopics include artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics, as well as the business and social implications of new technologies. Includes full-text articles.
- ASME DatabaseProvides full-text access to journals and recent conference proceedings by the American Society for Mechanical Engineers.
- Engineering Village (Compendex)A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database referencing engineering journals and conference materials. Coverage: 1884-present.
- Science DirectFull-text access to Elsevier journals subscribed to by SUNY institutions. To view journals choose "Browse Journals" under Licensed users.
- IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryProvides full-text access to IEEE and IET transactions, journals, and magazines, select conference proceedings, and current standards. IEEE content published since 1988, plus select content from multiple publishers dating back to 1872, is available. Includes IEEE Journal Archive (1884-1999) and IEEE Conference Proceedings Archive (1936-1999).
- Web of ScienceCovers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
- Google ScholarFinds scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. If you use this Google Scholar link, you will be able to use the Get it link to take advantage of the Libraries' full text and InterLibrary Loan services.
- JSTORPrimarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
